Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Games room, room size.
Cons: No washer and dryer for guests, this is a non-starter when travelling with kids.
Location: Location is horrible. There are bucket of homeless types and I don't want to deal with that when travelling with kids. Not good.
Hotel is under renovation and this is NOT on expedia. No washer and dryer for guests? That is a HUGE no-no for family travel with kids. The hotel is a bit old but ok. We can use the pool because no washer and dryer. Games room is ok, foos ball and air hockey table were a hit with the kids. The City Centre are has LOTS of low-life population. We stayed at the Best Western 2 weeks back and was much better as it was NOT in the city centre so the low-life crowd was no existant. John
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
The hotel was nice and the hotel staff where really good to deal with
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you found your stay satisfying. Our whole team takes pleasure in ensuring that you have the very best “home away from home” experience here at the Thompson Hotel. We wish you all the best and hope to see you sometime in the future. Regards, Summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oliver

Excellent kamloops hotel!

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Very convenient location, wonderful staff, clean comfortable room and a fabulous breakfast! I recommend it to anyone....!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Hi Donna, Thank you for all you lovely comments on our team and facilities. Our staff work hard to create a sense of “home away from home” for guests. We will pass on all your feedback to our team. We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Summer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dawson Creek BC

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Hotel and rooms were dated. Room smelled of old furniture. Very poor renovations, paint ect. Towel racks were falling off wall. Bathtub old and stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear Suzanne, Please accept my apologies on behalf of our hotel for the disappointing room you experienced during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are in the process of upgrading our hotel rooms in order to provide more enjoyable experience for our guests. Again, I am very sorry for this inconvenience, but I do hope there is a chance for us to invite you back to stay with us again during your next stay in Kamloops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great Place and Friendly

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms, well kept.
Cons: Better coffee at breakfast.
Location: Tim Hortons and grocery store near by. Downtown restaurants a 10 minute walk.
Wasn't sure what to expect given that it was an older hotel. Turned out be a great place and really well kept. Rooms, beds and pillows were very comfortable. HVAC system worked well and was quiet. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I used the business center and that worked well. Lots in the hotel such as pool, exercise room and games room. The free breakfast was basic, but I can't really complain. Just a touch outside the main downtown strip, but still very walkable to key locations. Would absolutely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We are so happy that you had a chance to enjoy our facilities and the great downtown area. Yes, we are a well maintained hotel with one of the best locations in town having almost everything within walking distance. And for the service our Thompson staff strive to make memorable experiences for our guests. We appreciate your review and happy travels! Look forward seeing you again in the future. Regards, Summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Prince George

Doctors visit

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It is slightly outdated but very clean.
Location: Restaurants are evrywhere!
Right downtown so it was convenient to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear Robbie, We appreciated your positive feedback on Expedia.com. Yes our convenient location does make most of things easy. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We are in process of upgrading guest rooms to improve guest experience. We look forward having you guys back when you are visiting Kamloops next time. Regards, Summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice hotel, great pool and hot tub area

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Great pool and hot tub High def tv with many channels Clean and comfortable room Large bar fridge
Cons: Breakfast options and choices
Location: Located downtown and tons to do!
Ok I tried to write before but Expedia was having terrible loading troubles. Hope this works this time as dislike wasting time. This hotel is pretty good. Nice staff, a great pool and hot tub area and my room was clean and comfortable, will be back again. Just needing a bit of improvement are the breakfast options as a tad weak and light and bananas were way over ripe. Was quite loud in the am too but not hotel's fault, just other inconsiderate guests present. Even though internet was quit lagging I still give this hotel a nice rating overall. 4/5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to restaurants/pubs

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Location: Location is the best, that is why we stay here. Can easily walk about to eat, drink and be merry :-)
We like the hotel location as it is close to eatery's and pubs, shopping in the area is nice too We come as a layover to Vancouver, particularly like the 'off' season, quieter but still lots of choices for eating and night life See you next time Kamloops
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review us on Expedia.com. As a downtown hotel here in Kamloops we are very proud of our convenient location. We are glad that you found your stay enjoyable. Yes see you guys next time when you are visiting Kamloops. All the best, Summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spruce grove

Great friendly staff.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Would just prefer if there were a microwave in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thanks for your kind review on Expedia.com we are happy to find out that you had a nice time staying with us here in Kamloops. We do have a few microwaves on request. Please do not hesitate to require one next time when you stay with us. We will prepare one for you. Best regards, Summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Good and good Good and good Good and good Good and good Good and good Good and good Good and good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Summer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing us on Expedia.com. We appreciate your business and hope to see you guys soon sometime in the future. Best regards, Summer