Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada.

Lovely hotel with views of the Rhein.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Nice clean room, friendly and helpful staff and a good restaurant and breakfast.
Location: Location is superb.
Everything in the hotel was pretty good. Lovely breakfast with cheeses, meats, freshly cooked eggs, cereal etc. Also the restaurant has beautiful views of the river.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very eccentric. Good for a one night stay. There are no elevators and we had the top floor room (4 flights up). The view was of the Rhine river which was great. It's above a restaurant, which has great food and stays open late. However, it's off street parking which there was only about 6-7 spots. Room was very small and you can't spread out. Towels, sheets and blankets were clean but old. Each room is it's own color and character, ours was all lavender purple. Very, very small shower, hard to move at all. Room gets very warm. The view was great and the staff was very, very friendly. Good for a one night stay. Try the pizza at the restaurant - best we've ever had.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Train in the back yard may be an issue for some.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Family Friendly Hotel along the Rhine

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Everything being simple, clean, and sturdy.
Cons: NA
Location: Many attractions along the Rhine
We stayed here for four nights, and visited nearby cities including Frankfurt, Koblenz, and Nurburg. We got two adjacent rooms given the family size (5), where the rates were reasonable. The rooms looked new and clean. There was a Teutonic simplicity to everything, for example a single thick bed blanket as opposed to multiple thin sheets, one set of water-tight acrylic shower doors as opposed to shower curtains, and a sturdy set of window blinds as opposed to curtains. The breakfast was satisfying without being too heavy, and everyone loved it. Simple and practical, just like the country itself. The hotel had everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Auf Wiedersehen !!
5 out of 5
by Alan from Monpazier

A little disorganised but .......

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived we were told there were no rooms available for the night of our arrival, even though we had booked. We were sent to a hotel a few hundred metres away, who were clearly not expecting us. However it sorted itself out, we returned to "our" hotel for the following two nights and we enjoyed our stay very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Hotel im Rheintal, Hotel Management
Good evening, thanks for the review. The "other Hotel" was our sisterhotel. Due to a missunderstanding they didnt know that you were sent from the other hotel and thought you were from the street asking for a room.
4 out of 5
by Graham from Portsmouth England

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean and large bedroom. Hotel was very clean and tidy throughout. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Evening meal menu, if on half board, a little limited but quality and quantity of food excellent. Good location for visiting places of interest.
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Birmingham

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing location just overlooking the Rhine and the staff were lovely. The only issue during a heatwave is there was no air conditioning and it was very warm in the bedroom!
4 out of 5
by Peter from Raleigh, North Carolina

Pleasant Stop Along the Rhine

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Short walk to town alone the Rhine River to restaurants. The owners have done a lot of work making the hotel quaint, colorful, and ecclectic. Small bathroom. Breakfast was good. Only problem we had was slow internet with interrupted connectivity. Seemed like weak signal. Very limited English spoken.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable beds. Wonderful towels. Great water pressure and hot water. Breakfast was amazing. Convenient to have a restaurant on site. Free parking was convenient. Free wifi!
5 out of 5
by Amanda from DC

Fantastic value.

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Fantastic stay in a large room with a huge bathroom. Convenient to the river promenade, excellent restaurant at the hotel, and very reasonable prices. We were checked in and shown to our room quickly; the hotel restaurant was very understaffed that night, but the proprietors kept a friendly smile and attitude and made it a pleasure regardless. Wi-Fi was very fast. View from top floor was great as well. Comfortable bed and sitting area. Very highly recommended.