Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Hotel within a good neighborhood

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Quietness and food
Cons: Bathroom require better upgrade to complete the class! Room safe should be locked-down.
Location: Wonderful location within a walking distance to the heart of Kampala. Close to Malls and banking. Easy to escape city traffic.
I find Hotel Africana very homely. It has a major uplift since the last time I stayed there. I slept well and enjoyed my nice breakfast. Good staff and quite responsive and responsible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kampala


Posted Sep 5, 2016
4 out of 5
by Klaus Friis from Copenhagen

Excellent service!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was of good standard but the service was exceptional. I have rarely experienced such genuine and timely service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Acceptable hotel near business district.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Members of staff
Cons: Bathrooms
Most of the staff are friendly, helpfull and accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Rejini S, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying in hotel africana
4 out of 5
by NDIAYE from Dakar

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Good Quality service ok Hotel clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive remark. We shall always do our best to ensure that our services are satisfactory to our guests, It will always be a pleasure accommodating you. Best regards, John Makabai Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Morris from Utah, USA

Hotel conditon is ok but hotel ppl, I hesitate

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
I went there to meet a local girl. She would come and stay during the day but then went home before dark. Every day the front desk would give her a hard time about coming up to my room, every day I had to go down and confirm that it was ok for her to come to my room, everyday they copied her ID, it got soooo old and annoying, I felt like they hassled me and her. I complained to the front desk and the girl got grumpy with me, so I complained to managment. The manager was nice and did something about it. I had a reservation for two. And I was the only white man there.
Comment from Hotel Management
by John, Hotel Management
Dear Morris, We thank you for bringing the issue to our attention while you were still in the Hotel. We were able to take the necessary measures and we reassure you that such will never happen again. Thank you for appreciating the Manager who handled the issue. Our Hotel treasures all guests and ensuring guest comfort and satisfaction is our prime duty. Guest feedback is vitally important to us as our main goal is to improve our services to achieve high levels guest satisfaction. We thank you once again for considering our apology and look forward to accommodating you in future, Kind regards, John Makabai On behalf of Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Decor improved; food needs more attention

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Good location.clean. Most staff were polite and helpful
Cons: The food as above
Location: Away from busy hectic central city, easy access to supermarket and restaurants
Following recent refurbishment the reception and restaurant areas are pleasant . Very clean particularly public areas. I've stayed here several times with family and on business trips to Uganda - I like the location and laid back atmosphere. Most of the staff are polite and courteous . The food hasn't changed one bit- rather greasy and not always what the menu says.for instance roasted potatoes and grilled chicken were clearly deep fried, peas stew served instead of carrots and broccoli the menu stated. No fresh tomatoes for breakfast ! Ketchup was provided instead. No rolls served with soup as the menu stated; first time the rolls were served after I complained, unfortunately on my last day I was with friends and after waiting for 40 minutes with no one coming to serve us I approached a waiter near the poolside kitchen . We ordered soup and gues what- no rolls again. I promptly told the waiter after he brought our food and he promised to get the rolls.He never returned and we even had to ask another passing waiter for our bill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Customer care team, Hotel Management
Sorry sir, for it we will improve from now - customer care team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 岐阜県養老町


Posted Feb 22, 2016
このホテルを利用するのは3度目ですが、今回一番驚いたのはロビーやバー、レストランなどのパブリックスペースの改装が終わって見違えるほど立派になったことです。スタッフのユニフォームも変わって星1つアップした感じです。客室は以前と変わりはありませんが、十分に広くて清潔で快適に過ごせました。スタッフも皆親切で感じが良く、何を頼んでもスピーディーに対応してくれました。 欠点を挙げるなら、洗面所に細かい虫がいたことと、朝食ですね。毎日同じメニューなのは許せるとしても、内容が貧弱で、今回の10日間の滞在では、ホントうんざりでした。 ですが、それを差し引いても、80点は出せると思います。余談ですが、ここへ来る前に泊まった「ドルフィン・スイーツ」とは同じ値段ながら格段の違いがあります。