Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Receptionists did not have welcoming faces

Posted May 24, 2017
Horrible experience because i was asked to pay fully without being shown the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid business hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice visit. While the location is somewhat isolated, and walking places is tricky, it was a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to lots of Restaurants and Acacia Mall

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I found this hotel excellent. I can go after work for a walk till Acacia mall. The hotel is surrounded by many good restaurants. One of them is number one in Kampala. Names Meditreano. I think Protea Hotel is the best in his category.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, upholding our commitment to provide exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to create a memorable experience with us again, whenever your travels bring you back to Kampala.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, room, location, security.
Cons: Service at breakfast and dinner.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to Garden City shopping mall.
Nicely located. Excellent breakfast included within room rate. Best I've found in Uganda (even better than Serena). Service at breakfast and dinner not the best. Would come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing a review on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food and staff..

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Mall close by for shopping.
Staff is very helpful and always friendly. Rooms are clean and in great condition
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

recent buiness trip

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
No wifi constantly going off, so internet access was very poor, noise from Frogs during the night kept you awake or waking you if you were lucky enough to sleep. staff at breakfast were slow, sat for 35 minutes no contact at all with the staff, then had to ask for coffee before it was delivered to the table. Poor business lounge and services..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The people were so courteous and considerate. Always checking on me. Management was a bit less than professional, but the staff made up for that.
Location: Excellent location; near malls, shops, downtown and everything needful in Kampala.
This hotel is the epitome of hotel perfection. The room was comfortable, well lit, and luxurious. If it were possible to give a "6" I would!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Nicole Braun Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing a review on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

excellent value and service

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Great staff. very good taxi service available.
Cons: Updating the carpet throughout.
Location: Within walking distances of many restaurants and stores.
Spent 10 days in July/August 2016. Hotel staff was excellent and responsive to needs. Breakfast had a wide variety of fresh food options. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Carpet could use replacing in some common areas in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Nicole Braun Meyer - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing a review on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Wonderful Staff and Location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The staff make this hotel excellent. They are attentive, respond quickly to requests, and help to solve issues. The facilities are still in good condition but the carpet throughout requires updating. Overall, excellent experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Nicole Braun Meyer - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing a review on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!