Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Morris from Utah, USA

Good value for the money.

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed on the fourth floor, no elevator. Breakfast was buffet, limited choices. Staff was very helpful. Door lock had to be repaired and safe lock had to be opened up and sink would not drain, but they fixed all these things soon after I complained. The safe is large enough for my laptop and the swimming pool was quiet, a few children from the hood was in it and the water a little murky but overall I think this hotel is underrated. I will return..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uganda

Great place on the outskirts of Kampala.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the friendly staff, the poolside dining, and the location.
Cons: I would improve the road and signage to the hotel. It is easily missed. Perhaps a sign could be placed on the street level to delineate the hotel bett
Location: Great shopping and coffee at the mall.
A great location on the edge of the big city of Kamapala. There was lots of shopping at the mall across from the hotel, and the room was comfortable, quiet, and clean.
1 out of 5
by Gurmukh

Never going there again!

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
I regret staying at this hotel. The reservation manager and the hotel manager made me sit at the reception for two hours just because they had not received a confirmation email from hotels.com about my booking. I had paid in full by my credit card online and despite of me showing them the payment confirmation I had with me, they didn't believe me. I kept requesting them to at least check me in and if in case they don't receive a confirmation, I can always get in touch with hotels.com and address the issue. But they didn't check me in until they got a confirmation from hotels.com. The staff is rude and lack empathy.
4 out of 5
by Morris from Utah, USA

Not perfect but I intend on staying here again

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Was there two nights. Large room. Clean. Had shampoo, soap, no water in the fridge, no microwave, had a safe large enough for most laptops. Bed was kind size but hard, large bath tube, I had the executive suite. There is a swimming pool that is a little small and a little cloudy with bacteria but I did not get sick from it. The breakfast is ok, nothing great but it will get your through the day. No hidden expenses, no credit card required to be kept on file but they did copy my passport. Service was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about the WIFI

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Nice comfortable hotel hidden up a dirt track 15 minutes by Boda from the centre. Great pool. Good food. Some staff really helpful and kind. Others sleepy and uncaring. WIFI just did not work. If it did, I would probably go back.
4 out of 5
by De Wet Swart from Johannesburg South Africa

Great service

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
Will go their anytime again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels
Should be ranked as a 2 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value for Money. Very kind staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed at City Royal Resort Hotel for two nights in March. It is closer to a budget hotel than a luxury chain. But if your expectations are right, you should be very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is outside of the central district, but it is right across the street from a brand new, and upscale shopping mall that also has a Nakumatt, which can be useful if you need small things. The mall also has a bar and several restaurant - of which the Indian restaurant was particularly good, even if it was set in a food court-like situation. The rooms were a bit ill constructed, as has been my typical experience in Africa. Water pressure is light and there was no shower curtain in my room. But given the rates they charge, I was generally pleased. The room was mosquito free. To top it off, I stayed with City Royal over my birthday (and very far from home and family), and the staff very unexpectedly brought me a cake and sang me happy birthday! There was no way to eat it all on my room so I brought it down to reception and it was gratefully received.
4 out of 5
by MBarton from Utah, USA

For the money its a good deal

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
I am a USA physician, I am a platinum member of Delta Airlines. I fly a lot and all over the world. I stay at a lot of hotels monthly. Compared to USA hotels, this hotel, like most Uganda hotels are substandard but compared to other hotels in Uganda this one is about the average. Average, meaning, the hotel needs fixing up, things dont work that should work, etc.. If you choose to stay here then know that there is no gym, there is no microwave, there is a fridge, the internet works good and is reliable, there is a complimentary small buffet breakfast, the swimming pool is ok but is open to the public, I stayed on the side opposite the pool because they do have parties by the pool that is noisy at night. The beds are hard, almost as hard at the floor. Room service is slow and the food is average. Also, this hotel is used by the locals mostly, if you are white like I am you will be one of only a few there, not many whites stay here, I also add that, although I got a lot of staring at me no one was rude to me concerning my color or race. I paid $150 per day for the best room, I thought it was worth the money. I would stay here again. I fact I have stayed here four times now. However, I don't think I will stay here anymore because I want a gym and a softer bed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scabies

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
Hard beds. Lukewarm staff. DIRTY mosquito nets and blankets. Pretty sure this place is where I picked up scabies. Beware!