Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A real shame.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Beautifully restored old building.
Cons: Staff were bored and unhelpful. Breakfast was horrible. And most importantly, why are most of your air-conditioning units broken or malfunctioning?
Location: Near Haji Lane - good for expat style bars and restaurants.
This is a beautiful hotel, small rooms but very well appointed. Sadly it's being run into the ground. We stayed two nights and had to change after the first night due to interrupted sleep because of a faulty air-conditioner. Reception said many of the air-conditioners were faulty and offered up another room. This had the same problem! So they moved us again. This one stopped working in the middle of the night, so not a lot of sleep on the 2nd night. This is Singapore - pay someone to do a proper maintenance job! The breakfast is embarrassing. Mismatched cups, bowls etc, cheap food and not at all appetising. It's a total disconnect from the decor and quality of the rooms. Avoid breakfast and visit one of the cafes instead,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne aus

Good location. There's mosquitoes faulty ac

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Although I was moved and upgraded 3 times in the first night I checked in. I left with a bad experience. The staff was helpful and emphatic. I really appreciate that. But I the one thing I really needed was a good night sleep before my long flight the next day. And in the three rooms stayed in briefly in one night, 2 had noisy AC that kept me awake, and all had mosquitoes even the cafe and lobby area had mosquitoes. They even allow their staff to smoke very close the the hotel lobby entrance. Which makes it even more annoying. I suffered from severe itching for the next 3 days in USA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Very nice hotel NE of the City Centre

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The Sultan's desk staff always gave me good directions and information. Without them, I wouldn't have had such a great time.
Cons: I'd looked forward to lots of sleep, but was often awakened by late party-goers retrieving their parked cars from the alley outside my room.
Location: Great! Army Market & Golden Mile centre (nearby). Little India (20 min N). City Centre, with all its attractions (20 min West). ANYWHERE by bus/train.
I really enjoyed staying at the Sultan. The desk staff were all very helpful, and the location was good for all my walkabouts. I wouldn't have as much fun without their kind suggestions & directions - and the hotel's free mobile phone with its live mapping & internet kept me from getting lost. I was also very pleased with the high-speed free Wi-Fi in my room, which allowed me to keep up with business & friends, making them all quite jealous! I was just a single older guy wandering around on holiday, but there's so much to see that I would've been glad to stay another week. I've already got a list of things to do & see for my next visit - and I'll stay at the Sultan again.
5 out of 5
by MsRachieboo from Singapore

Great unexpected stay!

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
What a quaint pretty hotel. My husband loved it so much. Bed was super comfortable and the room is charming. However, the room itself had no mirror so I couldn't do my makeup and hair properly in the morning. The toilet was way too dark to do makeup and there was no socket to plug in my hairdryer in the toilet. So that is the only thing which was lacking in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
this is a heritage building. thin walls, small hot water tank, non premium amenities generally. location is fun though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome Staycation place

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Well, overall is good but we got a King Loft which has second level. the step is abit steep and dangerous honestly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK OK though expect more...

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
a good stay.. though should not expect much from it.. just a way to relax. nothing to shout about but still in good condition. serene within the city. staff was 'chill' no attitude. probably will choose a bigger room to see if there is any different to current experience... however area good for food...food...food...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: A charming hotel set in a serious of old buildings that have been lovingly restored. Located on the edge of the Arab quarter it offered a taste of the real Singapore.
Cons: Lifts were a challenge but nothing a seasoned traveller can not handle.
Location: Located on the edge of the Arab quarter and walking distance to Little India this area is a warren of mystical delights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay with the Sultan

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
I love the Sultan! The neighborhood is great, full of great restaurants, bars, sightseeing. I really enjoyed the cats who live in the neighborhood, but that's just me. The street windows let in the traffic noise, but that was the only thing that wasn't terrific.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location and customer service

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Customer service was superb. All my enquiries and requests were answered promptly. Really enjoyed my stay here. Will stay again.