Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel in historic district

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Area and range of restaurants as well as being exposed to an historic area of Singapore.
Location: Fantastic range of restaurants and bars as well as a range of shops and market opportunities.
Great hotel in historic Muslim area of Singapore. After a day exploring it was great to come back to our hotel in an area which provided dozens of interesting and delicious eating options all nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Comfortable and clean room with excellent facilities. The whole hotel had excellent aircon and v friendly helpful staff. Would I go back?....yes....but although bed linen was clean it had some old marks/stains on it and breakfast is only 'ok'. It's possible this is a typical quality of breakfast in Singapore but I'd expect proper orange juice not weak orange squash (yuk!), v limited selection of cereal and fresh fruit, but the coffee was good and staff v friendly and helpful. Of slight concern is that the decking walkway to my room feels like some of the boards are about to collapse! The online booking websites state that the hotel has a jazz bar (one of the main reasons I opted for this hotel). Very disappointed to find out that that isn't true.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Nice location, friendly staff, however inadequate number of staff.
4 out of 5
by Chia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Price and peacefulness

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The Sultan hotel has a nice layout, I believed it is a makeover of an old building. Very unique. The surrounding is quiet but a walk away from the bustling of Arab Street and Haji Lanes where the night life area is. The room is of decent size for Singapore where rooms are typically small. The shower room when checked-in is still wet and there were some stains on the blanket. I believe the linens used are quite old but really soft and comfortable. Overall I love this place and would return for the price and peacefulness.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Oliver

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant staff with good English. Minibar was stocked with complimentary goods. Room was cosy but always clean and cool - especially the modern bathroom. In a trendy but developing area with good transport links (metro station is a 5 minute walk away). Plenty of bars, restaurants, cafes, and massage parlours on your doorstep if you don't feel like going downtown. Modern shopping malls and old colonial buildings close by, interwoven with small local businesses and markets. Most landmarks are easily visited during the day from here. Entrance is located on a main road, but room was not noisy at all. When we checked out the staff offered to call a cab or hold our baggage if our flight was later in the day. Very convenient as we managed to visit a few last places instead of having to go straight to the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Memoriable Stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Place was peaceful and quite. Worth the Staycation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Central location, close to MRT, provides halal foo

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Cons: The washroom would be perfect if it had a hand bidet
Location: Just a few hundred meters away from Nicoll Highway (Circle line) station and Bugis station Lots of cafes nearby with halal options
From its facade, one could tell this place has had a long and rich history. This charming boutique hotel envelopes you in a pleasant aroma the minute you stepped into the concierge. The lady who greeted us (she had a trainee badge - didn't get her name!) had just the right amount of pleasantries and professionalism. Due to the chaotic weekend of Coldplay and a jazz festival in town, the Attic room we booked was full, but we had a fantastic upgrade to the Skylight room (there was only 2 of these available). The walk to the room itself was quite a maze, and we were very thankful that the concierge lady guided us all the way. L2 had a green lush going on with various cabanas for sitting. There were even a few friendly cats loitering around! We found the old elevator (going from L2 to L3) charming - one needed to push the button all the way until the elevator reaches L3. For us Muslim Asian travellers, the place had ample square footage for walking about, luggage and enough space for a prayer mat too. An even better surprise was received when the concierge lady told us that the mini bar is free for the 1st round - and what a well-stocked mini bar it was too: mixed nuts, Pocky, green tea, peach tea, mineral water, Coke, Pepsi, Orangina, and Perrier (that's all I remember). There was even a 4G phone provided for general usage in finding directions, even calls - it saved us from having to purchase a local SIM and a real class touch. All in all, a great experience.