Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We will be back again

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Cons: They are going to start renovations so I think that will be a great improvement.
We like staying at this hotel. It may not be a 5 star hotel but the staff is always accommodating and kind and always there to help. We always have last minute bookings and they always go out of their way to help us. We definitely will stay here again. All of our family always stays here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

easy access to beach

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: price is great, and easy access to everything, quiet environment.
Cons: I guess not much
Location: close to the airport (not Hilo though) and east coast of the big island, but far from the volcano.
it's very comfortable to be there and around, quiet neigborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Dirty room in bad condition

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: upgrade and remodel
The room had bugs and cockroaches! This place has not been updated in at least 20 years! The condition is very poor and no intention of upgrading? I will never stay here again, nor will I recommend this for friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be cleaner

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Orbitz
The bed spread had a funky smell and was stained. The sheets and towels had stains and looked worn. There was no microwave or coffee machine. The walls are paper thin so noisy neighbors are intrusive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap motel, noisy neighbors, staff did nothing

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Neighbors were ridiculously noisy. There was loud talking and laughing past midnight and from 5:00am. We told the staff, but they didn't do anything. Moreover, no one is on staff past 8:00pm and they don't return until 8:00am. Absolutely terrible experience, and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central spot.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our night there. I would have liked another blanket, but was too lazy to ask. Also, the room needed another side lamp, as with only the bedside light, it was fairly dark at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not a great spot.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: My team ran a Ragnar relay race and this hotel was centrally located to 3 of the major exchanges, making this an ideal spot to stay.
Cons: Hotel staff was terrible and mostly not even there. There were no clean towels and the room had cockroaches...
Location: As I mentioned this is a good location for the Ragnar and is located near places to eat, grocery store and a starbucks. It's not a vacation spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waipahu, HI

Convenient hotel located in the heart of Kamuela

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Staff should be aware that we as guests require assistance. They should be available for guests. Poor attitude towards customer service.
Location: There is a restaurant next door which serves okay food. The hotel location makes it close to walk to the nearby strip mall and shopping center.
Traveled to the Big Island due to a death In the family. This hotel is the most convenient for the location. We checked in late...around 8:15 pm which is after hotel staff hours. They posted a sign of contact numbers. Called the first one...no answer. Called the second number...no answer. I left voice messages on both numbers and waited 10 minutes in the dark. I decided to call the numbers again. Called the first one..no answer and left another message. Called the second number and someone picked up. Gave them my name and the person gave me the room number and the door was unlocked and the key was in the nightstand drawer. okay problem solved. Got my room. Went in to a quaint, plain, nothing fancy room. Bathroom tile was cracking away from the bath tub, the must have ran out of bedspreads cause they used a king sized bedspread for a double bed, sheet tucked in on the bed but the blanket was folded away in the entertainment console drawer, dim setting as they only had one night stand lamp to illuminate the entire room. I called the number again as I needed another bath towel and the person said to wait till the morning to get another one. Also, since I didn't do a formal check in, they wanted me to do that first chance I get in the morning. Okay, I went to the office at 8:00 am in the morning when they opened. No one in the office yet as they were closed. I waited around for another 15 minutes and no one showed up to open their office at the specified operating hours. Loser.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
No frills travel lodge. Prepaid and had late check in after front desk closed. Called ahead of time and front desk staff told me she would leave the door unlocked, key in dresser drawer and light on. GREAT, worked out perfect, left a $5 tip for maid in morning and key on dresser and went back to work. Very easy with country people. Yes I would stay again.
2 out of 5
by Gordon from Phoenix

Would be better without the unwanted roommates.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
I grew up in Hawaii and expect a bug or two, especially in an older facility, but this room had a definite roach problem. Many varieties of them too, including the very large one on the inside of the shower curtain with me in the tub! There were also two small dead ones inside the refrigerator. Needs an exterminator visit. The location was great, close to where I was attending a family event. Drug store, supermarkets, and restaurants are close by. 10 miles down the road to the beaches.