Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't count on a good night's sleep!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location in town and walk to restaurant.
No coffee makers and the office coffee machine was out of order. No hair dryer. And don't count on a good night's sleep: at 5:00 am a dumpster just a few feet from the hotel property was picked up. Assuming you could sleep through that, the island's ubiquitous roosters roam the property and start their giggling at dawn, if not a bit earlier!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

CONVENIENT OVERNIGHT STOP

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location & quietness.
Cons: Lack of coffee in morning. Staff showed up at 8.30.
Location: Restaurants and shops within a couple of blocks.
Older motel style. Live chickens at door of room, with chicks & loud rooster.
4 out of 5
by Jay

Great place for a cool night's sleep!

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Which room you have makes a big difference. The first 2-queen bed room that we were in reeked of stale tobacco (we did not try out any other 2-queen bed rooms), but the 1 queen superior room was wonderful. Rooms have a nice medium-sized (about 3 foot high) refrigerator, but no microwave. Wifi, happily, was free, and not the $10/day advertised through hotels.com. Oddly, while both rooms had nice desks, none had a desk chair. There are comfortable cushioned wicker chairs in the room. Everyone was super-nice and accommodating, whenever we had a question or need. Given that the temperature in Kona never seemed to get below 80 or so, even at night, Waimea was a pleasant relief, with temperatures likely going down to at least the high 60s, so that we were able to sleep, since none of the places we've staying in, so far, has had air conditioning. The jungle fowl (or feral chickens) can cause a sleep issue (as we kept our windows open so as to be cool enough to sleep!), since the roosters seem to crow in the middle of the night, as well as at first light. A KTA supermarket, and many restaurants are very, very close by. Getting out of the driveway for any direction except to the west is a little trying, as Highway 19 going east gets very backed up right in front of the Inn, and the intersection just to the east of the Inn determines whether you'll be heading south or east.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you for staying with us!! Glad we were able to relocate you to a better room that you enjoyed. Have a beautiful day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room needed updating. Lighting poor. Only one lamp for entire room with no overhead lights. Had to keep moving lamp across room from desk to bedside table depending on greatest need. Only one chair in room. We brought in a lawn chair. Bathroom had mold accumulated in several areas- e.g. shower curtain. Beds were hard and uncomfortable. No air conditioning but the management did provide a fan when asked. Being at 3000 ft elevation, only a few days were hot. However, the location was convenient for exploring the Mauna Kea Mtn region- our purpose for being there. The Paniolo Inn restaurant next door was very good and the wait-staff very accommodating
3 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by William

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
The room smelled musty. There was what appeared to be black mold all over the bathrooms. Birds and chickens outside all night long and the windows didn't keep the noise down. Overall it was very dirty. Cigarette butts all over the southside sidewalks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Had 2 rooms reserved. Got there and only had one room. Was then trying to get a room for me to stay in that took forever. Went back to check every 15 min. Was always 10 more min.afer waiting about an hour 15 min. I decide I waited long enough and started calling other hotels avaiability. I made a reservation thru Expedia and only got one when I checked in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, Utah

Inexpensive but nonfunctional, lacks a microwave o

Posted Jun 24, 2017
No air condition, and noisy, but located close to various facilities. Staffs (Quite friendly) available - 8 AM to 8pm only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Jenna Cummings, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it and will use it to better our property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sacramento, CA

Avoid

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: The bed had fresh, clean sheets and I appreciated that. Without a clean bed I would have left for sure.
Cons: The window track was filthy and made closing the window difficult. The screen was damaged so I had to keep the window closed while I was sleeping.
Location: I heard Waimea has many interesting things, but I really went to explore the whole island so I spent little time there.
I purposely picked a place that was not expensive, but certain things should be a given. Like: Soap in the rooms. They ran out of soap and in six days, there was no soap provided. Wouldn't you run to a local store and purchase soap for your guests? All I was told was that it hadn't come in yet. I had one day with absolutely no water. NO water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in wimea. Spacious, cool rooms.

Posted May 4, 2017
Quiet - not that wimea gets raucous. Roosters are in full force by 5. Welcome to the kountry. Not that you will use it but the cable is diabolical. Had some issues with wifi. Comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us and for your review. Sorry you had issues with our wifi. We hope you come and stay with us in the near future. Have a beautiful day!