Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but needs updating

Posted Feb 6, 2018
This area of the big island is up country and gets cool and damp at night. The windows in the room get moisture and had mold around the frame. They could use a Dehumidifier to take the musty smell out of the room. Some of the other rooms looked updated so they might be working on it.Also the hotel had changed owners since I reserved thru Expedia and my reservation was for the wrong date.Luckily they had a room for me.I like the area have friends there, just needs some updates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Cons: Mold problems in downstair units under the stairs
the first room we were put in had a real bad MOLD problem and we asked to be reassigned to another room. The girl on the front desk was extremely apologetic and gave us an upgraded room that was really clean and nice.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alaska

We came back.

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Orbitz
We had to get up early in Waimea so we decided to stay at the country inn, it was priced right. We were pleasantly surprised how nice and large the rooms were. We had a late check in and the staff set it up perfectly no problems. Towards the end of our trip we decided to just go back and stay there another two nights it was very convenient and in a nice location. I would recommend it not fancy but a good spot
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't count on a good night's sleep!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location in town and walk to restaurant.
No coffee makers and the office coffee machine was out of order. No hair dryer. And don't count on a good night's sleep: at 5:00 am a dumpster just a few feet from the hotel property was picked up. Assuming you could sleep through that, the island's ubiquitous roosters roam the property and start their giggling at dawn, if not a bit earlier!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR


Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location & quietness.
Cons: Lack of coffee in morning. Staff showed up at 8.30.
Location: Restaurants and shops within a couple of blocks.
Older motel style. Live chickens at door of room, with chicks & loud rooster.
3 out of 5
by Owen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jay

Great place for a cool night's sleep!

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Which room you have makes a big difference. The first 2-queen bed room that we were in reeked of stale tobacco (we did not try out any other 2-queen bed rooms), but the 1 queen superior room was wonderful. Rooms have a nice medium-sized (about 3 foot high) refrigerator, but no microwave. Wifi, happily, was free, and not the $10/day advertised through hotels.com. Oddly, while both rooms had nice desks, none had a desk chair. There are comfortable cushioned wicker chairs in the room. Everyone was super-nice and accommodating, whenever we had a question or need. Given that the temperature in Kona never seemed to get below 80 or so, even at night, Waimea was a pleasant relief, with temperatures likely going down to at least the high 60s, so that we were able to sleep, since none of the places we've staying in, so far, has had air conditioning. The jungle fowl (or feral chickens) can cause a sleep issue (as we kept our windows open so as to be cool enough to sleep!), since the roosters seem to crow in the middle of the night, as well as at first light. A KTA supermarket, and many restaurants are very, very close by. Getting out of the driveway for any direction except to the west is a little trying, as Highway 19 going east gets very backed up right in front of the Inn, and the intersection just to the east of the Inn determines whether you'll be heading south or east.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you for staying with us!! Glad we were able to relocate you to a better room that you enjoyed. Have a beautiful day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room needed updating. Lighting poor. Only one lamp for entire room with no overhead lights. Had to keep moving lamp across room from desk to bedside table depending on greatest need. Only one chair in room. We brought in a lawn chair. Bathroom had mold accumulated in several areas- e.g. shower curtain. Beds were hard and uncomfortable. No air conditioning but the management did provide a fan when asked. Being at 3000 ft elevation, only a few days were hot. However, the location was convenient for exploring the Mauna Kea Mtn region- our purpose for being there. The Paniolo Inn restaurant next door was very good and the wait-staff very accommodating
3 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by William

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
The room smelled musty. There was what appeared to be black mold all over the bathrooms. Birds and chickens outside all night long and the windows didn't keep the noise down. Overall it was very dirty. Cigarette butts all over the southside sidewalks.