Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waipahu, HI

Convenient hotel located in the heart of Kamuela

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Staff should be aware that we as guests require assistance. They should be available for guests. Poor attitude towards customer service.
Location: There is a restaurant next door which serves okay food. The hotel location makes it close to walk to the nearby strip mall and shopping center.
Traveled to the Big Island due to a death In the family. This hotel is the most convenient for the location. We checked in late...around 8:15 pm which is after hotel staff hours. They posted a sign of contact numbers. Called the first one...no answer. Called the second number...no answer. I left voice messages on both numbers and waited 10 minutes in the dark. I decided to call the numbers again. Called the first one..no answer and left another message. Called the second number and someone picked up. Gave them my name and the person gave me the room number and the door was unlocked and the key was in the nightstand drawer. okay problem solved. Got my room. Went in to a quaint, plain, nothing fancy room. Bathroom tile was cracking away from the bath tub, the must have ran out of bedspreads cause they used a king sized bedspread for a double bed, sheet tucked in on the bed but the blanket was folded away in the entertainment console drawer, dim setting as they only had one night stand lamp to illuminate the entire room. I called the number again as I needed another bath towel and the person said to wait till the morning to get another one. Also, since I didn't do a formal check in, they wanted me to do that first chance I get in the morning. Okay, I went to the office at 8:00 am in the morning when they opened. No one in the office yet as they were closed. I waited around for another 15 minutes and no one showed up to open their office at the specified operating hours. Loser.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel with cockroaches

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff at check-in was very friendly.
Cons: This hotel needs a major renovation.
cockroaches living under the TV set and walking around day and night. Room was otherwise clean but in very poor shape. It was a mistake staying there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: staff and location
Cons: interior upgrade to modern accommodations
Location: everything for the most part is in walking distance or a short drive, grocery store, restaurants, coffee, gas, bank and parks
Staff was very nice , location is great but the place needs to be upgraded. Old feel to it
2 out of 5
by Bev from Fort Bragg, Ca


Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Needed to stay one night while preparing for my granddaughter's wedding the next day. It is a much older facility, very old school. The deadbolt didn't lock from outside, but did when inside the room. The windows are old anodized aluminum with no way to open them and secure the room. There was no lock or board to put in the window. In addition to that, they are right a ground level. The price was good, and the grounds had a lot of chickens with beautiful roosters and a ton of baby chicks. That was very endearing. Wifi is free only at the two little tables up by the office; if you want it in the rooms, you have to have your ethernet cable and it costs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Inn with a Big Heart!

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
I am a solo, disabled traveler. I am on a fixed income. I asked for a ground floor room, but the room was unavailable, something needed repairing. Sherries gave me the only room left which was upstairs and she was very apologetic. She personally helped me carry my things upstairs and made sure I had all the information for restaurants, etc., very thorough. I was so impressed with her knowledge and kindness. It was a very pleasant stay. I recommend this lodge for an economic, well located stay. It appears the owners are trying to update.It is not fancy but clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel 3.8

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
You get what you pay for. This is one of the cheapest places to stay in Kamuela. The hotel is really run down but if you just need a place to sleep and shower for a night or two while in town for work, like I did, then it will suffice. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap price but needs improvement

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
We read the reviews but booked anyway. Arrived at 7:50; door was already locked (office closes at 8). Knocked and the desk clerk told me they were closed. I had a reservation, but she couldn't check me in because she “already shut the system down”. I was pretty insistent (we’d been driving for 10 hrs and she was trying to send me somewhere else)-she called the manager, who told her to take down my info, give me a room, and they’d check me in in the morning. Room was remodeled, beds were comfy- but 1 lamp w/ a 40 watt bulb is too dim; we had to take the shade off. TV/cable box had just been installed so I had to program the TV (run a channel scan, etc) and the remotes. They said they had internet, but the cable company hadn't given them a passcode yet. There was no fan in the room. I drank out of a bathroom glass- saw things floating in it. There was a circle of dried toothpaste in the bottom; someone was using the glass as a toothbrush holder (yet it had been wrapped as if it was clean). Went to the office next day to complete the check in; they had no record of my reservation (showed them the confirmation on my phone). They blamed hotels.com, saying it often screws up reservations. Clerks on the morning shift were pleasant and straightened things out. Overall, it’s a cheap place to sleep if you've been driving all day. I see they are in the middle of remodeling, but I am still disappointed with the desk service and the shoddy housekeeping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location! Peaceful! No maid service!

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Convenient to Waimea!
Cons: Maid service!
Location: We were with family most of the time!
Great place to stay for Waimea! We didn't have fresh towels or maid service!
3 out of 5
by Maria from Kauai

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a room with a Kitchen which was fine but there was no closet. I thought that was strange. This hotel is right in town so a little noisy but you can walk to everything which made it nice. the price is very reasonable and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by kazuhisa

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels