Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Under construction

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Nice hotel, great staff, however wish we had known the pool area was under construction and the hot tub was unusable, part of the reason we came, but overall a great facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Liam, Hotel Management
Jake, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we couldn't have the hot tub working for you during this trip. We are working very hard to finish our renovations to the fitness and aquatic center. I hope we can welcome you back in the future so you can see the finished product!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great views

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Quick check in and friendly staff. Very clean and updated. Only issue we had was the room was very hot and you could not adjust temp to cooling down so we had windows open all the time. Also this was the second time I have been here where the pool and hot tub were not operational
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for our comments, I am sorry about the pool and hot tub. The tub is being completely rebuilt and should be back by the first week of December. The pool this time was due to some burst pipes which was beyond our control, but I am sorry this happened to be during your stay again ! The rooms heat and cooling is almost complete and is being worked upon as we speak. Thanks and apologies once again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and beautiful

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Pillows were great for the king bed but too large to sleep on. Had to order a couple of small pillows. Other than that, it was great!
Cons: Keep a couple of small pillows in the room for people who like to sleep with a small flat pillow.
Location: Location was perfect! We had a large window with a view of the mountains and trees covered in snow. Drove around the area and it was breath-taking.
Went there for my husbands 62 birthday. They upgraded our room to a suite with a beautiful view. They also gave us free breakfast each day we were there because the hot tubs were out of order and being repaired. Staff was very friendly, always saying hello and offering help. We will definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to welcome you to the Lodge back soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Location: Beautiful location. Can't beat the Canadian Rockies for spectacular scenery.
When we arrived we were told that the restaurants were not open for dinner that night, but would be the next day. They were not. And the following day, nowhere was open for breakfast either. Only the two pubs were open for dinner. Not exactly the quiet, relaxing atmosphere we had been hoping for on this break. Our room's thermostat was not working, and it was cold! Rather than move us to a room with proper heat (the hotel was by no means full), they sent us a space heater. I went for a spa treatment, and would never go again. Usually, the bed is heated or has a heated blanket. The room was cold, the bed was cold, the blanket was thin and again I had the company of a space heater. No relaxing music, just the sound of the space heater to enjoy. The worst spa I have been to for comfort and ambience. My husband did voice his dissatisfaction about these things to the front desk, but it seemed to fall on deaf ears. If we had known when booking that the restaurants would not be open for meals, we would not have booked this hotel. It's not like the hotel is in close proximity to other eating establishments. The purpose of our trip was to have a relaxing break, but with the poor eating arrangements, cold room and disappointing spa treatment we left feeling ripped off rather than relaxed and rested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Hello: I am sorry for the confusion over the restaurants. We always have outlets open to dine, we never shut them all. In fact, during your stay we had at least three areas in which to dine, plus of course room service. So I am sorry that you didn't find anything that suited your needs. Again, I am sorry for the sap experience, but we had just experienced a major flood the day before, not an excuse, but an explanation. We are completely renovating the entire spa area as well as adding a brand new Nordic Spa experience. I hope that you would try us again, believe me, your points do not fall on deaf ears. We do our utmost to get it right, We can and will do better. Stephen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery but the hotel needs some work

Posted Nov 7, 2017
We've stayed here prior to renos and it seems like they cut many corners when they did a facelift. The beds were rock hard, thee nsthrooom door didn't fully close and the room was very cold (we had 3 heaters going all night as well as the fireplace). But scenery was beautiful and we love hiking in this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Joanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Weekend Visit

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Great views, close to Banff and ski areas
Cons: Basketball court was falling apart, service at the main building restaurant was slow throughout the weekend, pool under construction
Location: Close to hiking/biking trails, near to Banff/Canmore
I attended a weekend wedding in the fall and was pleasantly surprised by the resort. They were able to host a beautiful wedding banquet. We booked through an online travel site because it got us better rates than booking with a "Group Code" through the hotel. Still, a bit overpriced but a 4/5 value. The layout was quite spread out and took a little getting used to but we were able to navigate the buildings by the second day. Our room was nice, nothing special. We were a little disappointed that the hot tub/pool area was under renovations at the time but the hotel was able to provide (very) steamy portable tubs for the time being.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Vee, thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a good time, however the basket ball court is part of the Park and i have followed up with them to have it repaired again. Although now the snow is here i doubt it will get much use ! I am sorry about the hot tub being unavailable, the pool was an still is open, but the hot tub is being completely being rebuilt and will be open by mid to late November! Thank you again, I hope we will see you back ! Stephen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Nice loction ...but few services available

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Affordable restaurant options.
Location: Beautiful scenery great hiking.
Stayed the previous year. Was more expensive for restaurants this year,with less "family" friendly options. The Hottub was closed due to new renovations. comforter had a yellow stain on it...:-( Underwhelmed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Joanna , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albert, Alberta

Nice lodge, disappointing restaurants

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: location, views
Cons: food choices, number of restaurants available, prices of food as one has to drive to reach other restaurants, which we didn't want to do
Location: beautiful location, didn't explore things to do nearby but went for lots of walks and enjoyed the views
Beautiful location but very expensive restaurants and very little selection of restaurants and menu selections. Actually landed up getting a free meal for 2 due to poor service. But I'd still go back, I love Kananaskis!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Joanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Mary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary,Alberta

Anniversary Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location,
Cons: Meal prices and room amenities
Location: Very picturesque location among the mountains,lots of walking and hiking paths nearby. Very quiet and peaceful
It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We arrived and were upgraded to a Deluxe newly renovated room. Very pleasing and comfortable. The room was cool when we checked in but seemed to get warmer as the evening went on. No thermostat that I could find. We reserved dinner for 7 and were wished a happy anniversary by the person who took us to our table . The waitress greeted us with a very pleasant anniversary greeting and brought us the wine list and again wished us happy anniversary once again which was the start of at least a dozen happy anniversaries from her. My wife ordered beef tenderloin and I ordered a t-bone steak. My wife said hers was excellent but mine was quite thin,about a half an inch and had gristle and sinews throughout. I was asked by a person in a suit about my meal and I told him I didn't enjoy it and the reason. He bought us dessert. Still don't know who he was. Back at the room the remote wouldn't control the tv from the bed so had to move closer to change channels. Used the Keurig to make coffee in the morning. Had to use water glasses held at the correct angle and place to get it to work. Nothing to stir coffee with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Joanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Nice stay close to the mountains. Renovations are nearly completed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thnak you very much !