Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location and swimming pool
Cons: Sunbeds around swimming pool and bathroom facilities in rooms
The hotel is in a great location, with the beach less than a 5 minute walk away. The pool is lovely, but there are not enough sunbeds. The room seemed to be clean but there was absolutely no water pressure in our shower or basin. The catering staff for breakfast and in the beach bar were lovely and really friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful room, only 2 rooms booked instead of 3

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good with a lot of choice and the staff were very friendly. Balcony area was great too
Cons: Hotel needs to be refurbished and Expedia customers need to get better treatment and not to be given the worst room in the hotel
Location: Lovely location, 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Loads of other beaches, nice long walks around the area. Restaurants near by and a dog sanctuary
Dreadful room was offered to us. We had booked 1 double and 1 single room. These were in different parts of the hotel which we were disappointed about but were told the hotel was full. The single room was fine but the double was damp, mouldy and cold. It was built into the cliff and got no sunlight. The furniture was falling apart and our clothes ended up damp and smelt musty. We managed to move rooms after 3 nights (of 7) and the room was better. Our daughter joined us on day 4 only to find out there was no room booked for her! She was told she could stay in one room for 3 nights then change rooms for 1 night; obviously this was not acceptable. We arranged for her to share the single room with twin beds. A measly 85 euros was offered as compensation for 4 nights in a shared room! The staff were friendly enough but the whole thing was a mess from start to finish. We would not stay at this hotel again, nor recommend it and would also never use Expedia again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kanapista bay. skiathos

Hotel close to a nice beach but poor quality rooms

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Having previously read reviews about this hotel I thought could the rooms be that bad ? I was was prepared to give it a go but with regret.it was dated, dirty, and bodged up.if the room had a bath I would have slept in it to be more comfortable than the bed.clothing that I took became damp and the room smelled damp and musty. It was highly priced for poor value. The restaurant was well served by its staff and all the staff worked hard to please. However! The management were unable to satisfy many people that I spoke to and I hope those people also review this hotel with honesty and integrety as I have done. on arrival I said to my wife do not unpack as I will be seeking an alternative room and that did not happen either. Try this hotel if you want but be Prepaired to be dissapointed .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic is Not the Word, I would use

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: The Staff...other than the bar tender who was quite rude when asked about food from the bar menu, as there was none.
Cons: There could be transportation provided by the hotel at least a couple of days or nights a week. At least a tiny gift or food shop
Location: Extremely quite take extra cash do excursions and get to town, be aware that rains cancels things have plan B for transport, bus/taxi back
The staff were friendly and professional, but don't stay here unless you only want the very basic, we asked for a double bed and were told all the beds were the same when we got there, after sleeping on springs the first night, we again asked about the bed, the staff put a cushion on the bed which made it bearable. There is nothing at this location and I mean nothing, no tiny gift shop, no hotel transportation to or from town, you have to get a taxi (18 EUR each way), or a Water taxi which 12 EURO round trip or you can make a 10 minute walk up a hill to get to the bus stop which is about 1.60 EURO each. There is no night life and after a couple of nights they did get a bar tender for, but he and the drinks were limited and even though they had a Bar Menu there was no food at the bar. and he was quite rude when asked about it. Speaking of food the dinning area was across the court yard, so no matter what the weather you had to walk outside past the pool and to the covered dinning area. The meals I must admit were nice even if pricy. You can't control the weather, but we had two continuous days and nights of Thunder and Lightening storms, The hotel lost power several times and our room flooded, and we had to clean it up. Almost most like we were abandoned and had to find our own way. Day trips are best brought in the town as the hotel has a mark up. Not enough room to write it all down...but you've been warned
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

good location and great staff

Posted Sep 11, 2015
This hotel is in a great location. It is the only hotel a 5 minute walk to Kanapista beach - the pool is nice and the bar does fantastic cocktails. The staff are also very organised and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful. Wouldn't recommend. Had to move hotels!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
As the title says... You need 4 star or above on this island. This hotel was diabolical.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Near a beach

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Near a beach. About 15 minute walk to bus stop. However very nice ferry ride to Skiathos town costs 3euros. Staff were fabulous. All very polite, helpful and seemed to try to do anything you asked. If you want luxurious it is not the hotel for you but location ia fabulous. Food and service at Johnny's lovely. Food at the beach lovely service not so good but professional enough. Hotel food is good breakfast is great. Lots of choice in Skiathos town can get last ferry at 10.30 be early though. Nice quite sandy beach. Beach bed about 4euros. Very quite area..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from North Yorkshire, England

Lovely quiet hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean. The buffet breakfast is served on the top floor with fantastic views.
Cons: More fresh fruit at breakfast and English tea please.
Location: Have Moussaka and Gemista at Kanapista Taverna on the beach. Use the bus to visit other beaches. Water taxi into town and Mama Mia at the open cinema
This was my second visit to the Plaza, after seeing some reviews I was concerned it would have deteriorated but it hadn't. The room was excellent the refurbishments were finished. Friendly helpful staff, lovely clean pool and a great location near a beach , two tavernas in walking distance plus only 10 mins into town by bus or water taxi. Visit Skiathos and the Plaza , very relaxing and peaceful, but plenty to do too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin from Cambridge

Nice hotel with friendly staff in a good location

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Location: Fab little taverna on the Kanapitsa beach. Lovely food.
Second time at the hotel (last time 7 years ago) and things very much the same as then. Room good size though shower cubicle just about the smallest I've used, but ok. Pool had surface mounted filters that were quite noisy when lying by the pool. Great location as only 50m from the beach and great if you want a relaxed break. Staff were friendly and helpful. Word of warning: Greece is not a cheap location for eating or drinking anymore!