Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Exotic location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Wotif
Relaxing and quiet. Comfortable rooms, good food,very atmospheric, not hot and close to other activities. A little maintenance will be in order.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the jungle - a relaxing paradise

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice place in the jungle and a good spot beside river Kwai. Nice morning and evening sun. Restaurant had good food, also breakfast enough to fill your stomach. Welcoming and friendly staff, wonderful foot massage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very nice Hotel, but not 20 km to Erawan National Park, they are 60 km to it. The Rest are very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No discounts.

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a nice and enjoyable place to stay at. One of the reasons I gave it a lower rating was because they offered 25% tours on their website but when I tried booking a couple tours they said the website was incorrect. There was no sale. The food was really good but a little on the pricier side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth, WA

Adventure Escape

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location, location location. Great food in restaurant.
Cons: I liked it as it was, we are not in a top of the range resort it is a genuine rustic experience, definitely worth the journey.
Location: Lots of activities to do, some require a bit of fitness, which I do not have however, I was able to do the walks, canoeing, talking. ++come again
We stayed as a group of three couples, each had their own little self contained cabin. It is a delightful location, certainly along the adventure realm. We did a short hike to lava caves, canoeing on the river. Trip up the river in long tail boats. Beautiful food at the restaurant, beautiful location. Night time it is amazing, a get back to nature trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Rustic comfort

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Location, well kept grounds and facility, intriguing curios, comfortable accommodation, and excellent food choices.
Cons: Stronger WIFI
Location: Elephant sanctuary with river frolicking option, kayaking, Thai massage, banana leaf spa, hiking to the caves, drive to waterfalls, museum from WW2
Rustic, intriguing, relaxing, comfortable, affordable - all describe the River Kwai Resotel. At first I second guessed myself and wished I had booked a river "floating" hotel; but after a few minutes at this resort and feeling the warm of it's well attended grounds, and commanding view of the river those thoughts disappeared faster than a mijito on a hot day. We had a river front duplex cottage that was very comfortable, and had enough enough available electrical outlets to charge two phones and a laptop at the same time. Our washroom had three rooms: toilet, sink/mirror, and shower which would make it good for multi-tasking families. The included breakfast buffet was a real treat - a solid selection of Asian and Western selections as was the menu items for lunch and dinner - tasty, food that will not disappoint you The grounds are very well maintained and one could easily spend an afternoon just relaxing and reading at one of several sitting areas; and the intriguing placement of curios from days gone by will satisfy those with unbridled curiosity. And last but not least the staff - all are so accommodating; it's hard to tell who is management, and who are employees as they all try their very best to meet your needs. We will return - hopefully as an annual event!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Beautiful location but ...

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Fabulous location but needs a really good clean. Staff were friendly. Could be great but is currently a big run down.
4 out of 5
by Jean-Paul from Bangkok

Nature at the best

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
I am regular customer at this hotel...everything is perfect when not many guest, environment is great and lot of activities...enjoy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Value for money

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Bottled water gets expensive at 30baht for 0.5 litres. There are no shops and you must buy from the hotel. The Wi-Fi is poor and the boat ride is a rip off. If it were not for the nickel and diming experience, I'd have rated this higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Beautiful restful spot

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Wonderful location
Location: Visited Lawa caves. Had lunch at floating house. Half day trip to Erewan Falls Mon dancing.
Stayed 3 days. Lots to do. Lovely pool and setting. Transport from pier to resotel is by long tail boat- wonderful introduction to the resort. Would come again