Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maika'i (Well done!)

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this place. The staff made us feel like we were staying in their home. We were always greeted with a smile and a bow. We stayed in a room for 4 & our children are 15 & 17 so it was very tight. We were truly only there to sleep so it was perfect. The breakfast in the morning was an added benefit because there aren't many breakfast options in the nearby area and not because of the location. I'm told most Japanese people have breakfast at home so there isn't a demand for breakfast restaurants like we Americans are accustomed to. We experienced this lack in Osaka in a high end hotel chain and in Kyoto as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
What a great hotel. Awesome location, super friendly staff!!! The floor mats were a little too thin for me, but no one else in our family minded it. They folded easily to make more space in our room. It was within walking distance to some major attractions and a nice neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by Kwong

Japanese style room.

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly Staffs, even walk to us to the recommend resturant.
5 out of 5
by Heidi

Quiet convenient onsen close to imperial palace

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Within walking distance of ochanomizo station (though no escalator/elevator in station for luggage while renovating station in 2017). Easy walk to imperial gardens. Excellent hot breakfast with western eggs. Onsite manmade onsen was great for a soak. Super quiet. Helpful staff. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california, usa

Great hotel in great area

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This hotel is about perfect. Clean, great price, Great staff. No complaints and I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Small but comfortable room with clean amenities. Complimentary breakfast is a plus and staff were helpful with requests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very nice hotel in central location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: > Friendliness and English-skill of staff > Western-friendly style > Closeness to metro stations and central location
Cons: Initial explanation to be more in-depth - basement has lounge-looking area which I did not know was available to me.
Location: Very close to several metro stations. Very close to Imperial Palace. Lots of food options nearby.
The hotel was very good value for money - situated in a nice central location in Tokyo near to the Imperial Palace and many metro stations. It was easy to navigate to with my phone and my map app! Most of the staff spoke surprisingly good English and were very courteous and helpful towards me every day. I felt well cared for. They asked if I wanted to room changed every day, which is something most Western hotels don't even mention. Breakfast was included with my room and was a new experience for me - rice, egg, soup and a selection of vegetables each day. The Japanese do not eat breakfast normally, so this was a nice bonus for me as a Westerner to start my day. I stayed in a Western-style room (they also offer Japanese-style with the furniture close to the floor) which was small, which is expected in Tokyo, but was comfortable for one person. The facilities provided were good and even included some free pajamas to wear if and when you choose the public bath which is located in the basement of the hotel. I did not use this so I cannot comment on it. Overall the experience was very pleasant and I was felt to feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very nice hotel for Westerners in central location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: > The closeness to many stations and central location in Tokyo > Friendliness and English-skills of staff > Value for money > Western-friendly
Cons: > A longer explanation of hotel facilities when arriving - there was a lounge-looking area in the basement which I did not know was available for use
Location: Hotel very near to several metro stations. Hotel within walking distance to Imperial Palace. Plenty of food nearby.
The hotel was very good value for money - situated in a nice central location in Tokyo near to the Imperial Palace and many metro stations. It was easy to navigate to with my phone and my map app! Most of the staff spoke surprisingly good English and were very courteous and helpful towards me every day. I felt well cared for. They asked if I wanted to room changed every day, which is something most Western hotels don't even mention. Breakfast was included with my room and was a new experience for me - rice, egg, soup and a selection of vegetables each day. The Japanese do not eat breakfast normally, so this was a nice bonus for me as a Westerner to start my day. I stayed in a Western-style room (they also offer Japanese-style with the furniture close to the floor) which was small, which is expected in Tokyo, but was comfortable for one person. The facilities provided were good and even included some free pajamas to wear if and when you choose the public bath which is located in the basement of the hotel. I did not use this so I cannot comment on it. Overall the experience was very pleasant and I was felt to feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel !

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Almost averything
Excellent hotel. Good location (7 mins walk from JR station). Great and very helpful staff. Good breakfast and affordable price. As a bonus, a great jazz club in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern California

Great location for experiencing and exploring.

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Hotel was great. We had a traditional room with the mats on the ground. Mats were really comfortable. Probably 200 restaurants within walking distance. 1 mile to Imperial Palace, museums, shopping, transportation and Parks. Staff was super friendly and we will stay here again on our next trip.