Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Nice winter holiday

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Swiming pool litlebit to cold in winter time
Location: Briliant location, ski hire/sell shops around . Ski resort very close good area to kids use slides
Very nice small Town , Ski very close, hotel frendly staff like visit again see in summer time .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Well located.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The building had character and was sweet.
Location: The mountain lake and hiking is awesome. A not to be missed experience!
Classic Swiss hotel in the center of the village. Staff were helpful and the room was clean and cozy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel in a great location
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard

Great family hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay. Family friendly hotel. Good food service. Well positioned
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great family run hotel. Staff are great. Rooms could use some refresh. Neighborhood is very charming.
4 out of 5
by Viktor from Boston

Nice romantic Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly! The hotel is close to the train station and the Oeschinensee cable car. Very nice restaurant with reasonable prices for Switzerland. Excellent breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
by Keely from Watford

This was perfect for me

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
For me, it's always about the location. This was perfect place in Kandersteg. A couple of minutes walk from the rail station, handy when returning shattered after long days out and about. And 5-10 minutes in the other direction to the gondola lifts up to Oeschinsee (or an hour or so walk up to the lake for the more energetic). The free breakfast was more than adequate to set me up for the day. I only ate evening meal in the Ritter Bar once and the fondue was lovely. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and regular buses to Blausee (nature reserve and you have to pay to enter - check opening hours before turning up). My single room was decent size and comfortable with views in two directions. I didn't use the pool as I just didn't have time but it looked lovely. There are a couple of convenience stores near the hotel - one open 7am-9pm. I wouldn't usually return to the same hotel as I like seeing new places, but I am hoping to travel back to Kandersteg with my parents next year and this hotel will be my first choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Nice hotel, with swimming pool and friendly staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, bathroom, swimming pool
Cons: Soundproofing...but that will be difficult in an old building - so it is part of the charm!
Location: Kandersteg is wonderful for walking and sport (klettersteig). Real nice place to stay! Prices of food are reasonable.
We had two chambers next to each other, one for us two and one for our three children. We had a large balcony connecting the two rooms. The rooms are spacious. Yes it is an older hotel and yes you can see that in the bathroom and the electricity switches etc., but it is all working and it is clean. Breakfast perfect, large garden, swimming pool - everything you need when you are staying in Kandersteg!