Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in the Swiss Alps

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The service throughout was outstanding from check-in to the restaurant and the owners (Claudia and Gerhard) made a point each day of checking with us that everything was OK. Andreas and Saskia were great waiters in the restaurant, the food was outstanding, it all added up to a great stay. We were so sorry when it came our time to leave and we would love to return to what is just a lovely part of the world. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Marjan from Wettingen

Long family weekend

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Long family weekend. Great facilities for babyes, like kid's playing room... Hospitality od stuff...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Stunning views and perfect location

Posted Oct 24, 2015
If you want stunning views and perfect, central location for exploring Kandersteg and Oeschinen Lake, stay here. It's good value for money. Note: it's a bit worn and it's very functional...classic Swiss hotel. Of course you aren't here for luxury, you're here to enjoy the outdoors. But if you like posh style and push amenities, you'll be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with amazing views

Posted Jul 15, 2015
This is a nice mountain hotel in the perfect location for exploring around Kandersteg. The view from our balcony was amazing. It is convenient to the train station - about a 5 minute walk. Nice breakfast and really good dinners. The hotel owners are there all day and extremely helpful and make you feel welcome. The room is a good size with a sitting area and a balcony. The bathroom was shower only, but recently updated and modern.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Nice people running the hotel. Fantastic views.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

I will always return!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Everything. Staff, location, food, and the room.
Cons: This place is perfect. If we are visiting Switzerland then we will be stopping here.
Location: The village is very charming but the main attraction outside of ski season is a visit to the Oeschinensee. The hiking and the views cannot be beaten.
Friendly and attentive staff and owners add a personal touch not to be missed. Excellent dining and superbly located and maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danusia from Sydney

The delightful Bernerhof Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The staff, the atmosphere, and the location.
Cons: We enjoyed every aspect our stay and can't fault the hotel.
Location: Kandersteg is a gorgeous village, an ideal place for walking, hiking and driving to the spectacular mountains and valleys which surround it.
We stayed for 8 nights and were delighted by this typically Swiss hotel with its friendly, welcoming atmosphere. Our front room was spacious and comfortable, and the view from our window of snow-capped mountains and a meadow sprinkled with wild flowers, resembled a picture postcard. Most of the guests were repeat clients, and I can understand why.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Aberdeen, UK.

Great hotel & fantastic service

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel in easy reach of the train station, restaurants and gondola. Rooms were comfortable with a good balcony view and great shower/bath with plenty of hot water. Staff were fantastic - warm, friendly, more than willing to help. One member of staff saw us sitting in the reception area and offered to get us refreshments - he hadn't even started his shift and, when we left, the owner offered us to drive us the 3 minute walk to the train station. The free use of sledges and complimentry afternoon tea&cake were excellent bonuses for us. We're desperate to go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice location

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is a bit old, however very well kept. The location of room (Mountain facing) was excellent. The breakfast was average. Nice and very quite neighbourhood.