Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Great stay and very welcoming would recommend, don't keep this place a secret
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Nice hotel closed to the railway & bus station

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Wayfinding
Location: Railway trip
Good location, Good Room facilities, Nice view, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair hotel facilities but terrrible staff

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Staffs mixed up the booking from two agencies and did not receive on line booking from our phone. They requested only paper which truly surprised us. Overall hotel was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombo

Not worth the money!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: The photograph of the hotel on Expedia.
Cons: Please read the above paragraph.
I have two major complaints about this hotel. The first is about the noise-level. We paid for a double room with an extra bed. We were given a room a few doors from the banquet hall and there was a wedding reception underway. The music from this event was deafening so I asked the bellboy when the wedding would be over and he said 30 minutes and he assured me there won't be any more weddings on that day. When the music stopped an hour later, I thought we could have a quiet night. However, throughout the night we were awakened by people setting up for a reception taking place on the next day. In addition, there were people (probably from the wedding party) going in and out of the rooms next to ours and they were gathered at a seating area two or three doors down, talking and laughing. Worst of all, there was constant noise from furniture being moved in the banquet hall which was located upstairs. At about 3 AM, I walked up to a group of people chatting loudly outside our room and asked them to keep it down as we were unable to sleep. This hardly made a difference and the noise continued. My second issue with this hotel is about cleanliness. On one of the beds, I noticed that the top sheet had a red stain, like a blood stain, when I pulled the sheet out, I noticed it was also discolored and torn at the edges. This did not look like a rust stain! (see attached pic of the blood stain.)
3 out of 5
by Vasan from Toronto

OK stay, but not a great location

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 2 nights in December. Overall, the hotel is nice enough. The rooms are tired though. Service overall was quite good. Crib was available for us. They did originally put us in a room 2 floors down from the main entrance, with no elevator to use. We asked to be moved to the main floor due to having a child and stroller and they were able to accommodate us once rooms became available. Breakfast buffet was quite good. The entrance road was quite steep - our fully loaded van had challenges when the road was wet. Nowhere to go within an easy walk due to the location. Would agree that noise travels into the rooms. No wifi in the rooms, only in the main lounge area. Grounds were well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2015
very nice place great staff need some renovation to the hotel
4 out of 5
by May from Johannesburg

Good service, hotel not bad for a couple of nights

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel provides a great view. It is literally on a hill-top so the trek down and up is a workout if you wish to go walking around the streets- but this was fine for us. The staff are friendly. The hotel is in an okay condition. We went during the Perahera festival so accommodation throughout Kandy was very expensive. The breakfast was also a 4 out of 5. I would recommend this hotel, not for a luxurious stay though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too noisy to get any decent sleep

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Recieved a wakeup call on tge first morning at 6am despite not requesting one. I informed reception to make sure it didnt happen on the second morning but it did. Call to prayers was exceptionally loud and went for a full hour early in the morning. Room was directly under the dining room which had no floor coverings so every chair scrape was amplified through the floor. Construction work also began early and finished late with loud grinders. Minibar fridge did not work. Asked the reception about it on the first morning. They said that they would get someone to look at it right away. It was not fixed. Staff were generally friendly and helpful and the restaurant food was good.
2 out of 5
by neil from uk

a good location but a little tired

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good location in terms of proximity to Kandy rail station etc. It is undergoing refurbishment and so the pool is just a green pond. It is tired to say the least and it is not correctly represented in the descriptions but the staff were excellent as was the food.