Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Amazing Hotel & Awesome Staff!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Everything: food, service, and hotel itself
We absolutely love this hotel! The hotel itself if amazing and the staff were exceptional. Ask for Damith, he is an amazing person with a lot of attention to detail. We strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. We stayed here one night only and we should have booked at least two nights. Wonderful hotel, amazing food selection between all the hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka. Very well done, good job to everyone!
5 out of 5
by Ross

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Fantastic food. Attentive, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex UK

Good location on the river

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, food, swimming pool.
Cons: Stock the mini bar better - only one small can of beer between two people!
Location: River trip from the hotel but otherwise one needed to take transport but excellent service from Hotel
Lovely location on the river, a little away from the centre of Kandy but only a short tuc tuc ride so no real problem. Very good buffet breakfast & evening meal. Pity there was no beer over the New Year period!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

5 star hotel by the longest river in Sri Lanka

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Ambience was great. What stood out was the courteous staff - the Management needs to be commended on the training given to the staff.
Cons: Probably a court of paint to the balcony railings as the rust was showing out - it would be a shame to see them damaged beyond repair!
Location: Lots of things to do - boat rides, swim in the pool, visit the historical botanical gardens located a few kilometres away, visit the heritage sites (D
Hotel located in a scenic area (had some time locating it as decided to drive on my own) but wouldn't be a problem if one hires a local taxi. Hotel staff were very courteous right from the reception till the house keeping / engineering staff. Food was awesome (at least to me) as I gorged myself on Sri Lankan food - sea food, hoppers, rotis, sambols, etc simply put a wide variety of international and Sri Lankan food. Lots of things to do - boat rides, swim in the pool, visit the historical botanical gardens located a few kilometres away, visit the heritage sites (Dalada Maligawa - Lord Buddha's relics are kept and venerated by the Buddhists) and lots more. Certainly was a change from the humid weather one found in Colombo and the towns we visited on the coast - Galle, Kalutara etc. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to all my friends. Keep up the good work of and all the best, Regards Ijaz
3 out of 5
by Johannes

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you,
4 out of 5
by Ahmed

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Ahmed, Thank you for rating us on expedia. Best regards, Rodney Armstrong Resident Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Refused to honor reservation

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Would not let us through the gate. We had paid in full through Orbitz. They couldn't find it. We asked if they had a room. They said yes but we could not have it because all arrangements had to go through Colombo. We had driven 4 hours from Kandy and they left us without a place to stay. AND THEY HAD A ROOM!@!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Dear Guest, We regret any inconvenience caused to you, though as a hotel based in Kandy, we carry out all transactions in Kandy and do not require arrangements to be made in Colombo. Further, the property remains open to visitors. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Paradise

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Although i checkek all reviews i was not expecting sort of warm welcome and kind servie shown during our stay From the reception to house keeping,from the bar to resturant, feom the concierge to spa bali massage all excelent left there with good Memories thank you all
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We are truly happy to have been able to provide you both a memorable stay for you both and take this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation of your gracious recommendation of our product and services. It was indeed a pleasure to have served you and to have had you as our guests. Thank you 
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Older hotel needs renovation. Beds are very hard. Lots of Asian tour groups and large weddings take over hotel. Too far from town. Expensive food and drink. Service ok, but very slow. Spa was excellent but expensive. Beautiful flowers around pool. Would stay somewhere else next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Let down

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Nice hotel- beautiful landscape. Focused on Asian tour groups. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for our stay and we were forced to eat in their conference center for breakfast and dinner. Construction noise at pool during day. All that dampened our stay. Hotel is far from Kandy center. would choose another hotel next time.