Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Posted Jun 3, 2018
Excellent hotel with superb staff who go that extra mile every day to make your stay memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2018 by Citadel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Citadel. We look forward for your next visit at our property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty setting.

Posted Apr 29, 2018
Location: Quite a long way from Kandy - we grew a bit tired of the long tuk tuk rides.
Cinnamon Citadel is a comfortable hotel, with lovely views of the river from the rooms and dining area. Our room was spacious and the pool was good. Breakfast was varied and tasty, but the dinner buffet was predictably stodgy and bland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2018 by Citadel, Hotel Management
Dear John, We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. We have taken your comments on areas of improvement into consideration and they will be looked into. Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Citadel. We look forward for your next visit at our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the river

Posted Apr 17, 2018
I was only there for one night so didn't get to experience everything that the hotel had to offer. The rooms are very spacious and the king-size beds are very comfortable. Unfortunately it was raining when I was there so i couldn't make use of the balcony. Because of the rain I didn't get in the pool. It wasn't very big anyway and there were a lot of kids in there. I had some food and drinks at the bar area which were very reasonably priced and nice. I didn't go to the restaurant for dinner so can't offer an opinion on that. I did go to the restaurant for the buffet breakfast which had various offerings of Sri Lankan and Western foods. All of the staff were friendly and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Citadel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to share about the recent experience which you had with us.It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. While we are glad to hear that you had refreshing time with us it is regrettable that you did not had the opportunity to fully experience what we had to offer. Once again we would like to thank you for your kind & candid review.We would be delighted to have you stay with us for your next vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Big Chain Hotel - But Nice

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Pros: Food selection, wifi connectivity
Location: Kandy city centre is a bit further out from the hotel.
We did a crazy 7 day tour with 7 different stops. Kandy was our second last stop and the hotel was really a chance for us to grab a hot shower a decent meal and a good night's sleep. This hotel check all three points for us. It's a big hotel and clearly has a number of regular guests from around the world. It's not a cozy wee place but rather a big hotel with all the amenities. Again, courses for horses I suppose. It's a bit tough to get to the hotel from the city centre but once you get there, you're all taken care of. Thanks for the hospitality!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2018 by citadel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It was a pleasure to have you with us. And we are delighted to know that you were pleased by our facilities and the services. We would like to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Citadel. We look forward for your next visit at our property. We wish you a pleasant day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colombo sri lanka

Hotel near to the river

Posted Mar 4, 2018
When we check in hotel receptionist was not supportive and had to wait for so long and also I went with my wife and even after I made the reservation under my name they were asking two of us identity by saying it’s a hotel rule and let us wait there for so long and it’s a big disappointment and we don’t recommend this hotel to any one who we know
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cinnamon Citadel we love you!

Posted Mar 1, 2018 on Hotels
We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable and pleasant. Our room was in the middle section overlooking the pool and had a lovely terrace with a view of the river. The staff were all helpful and friendly and breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. The hotel is a little way out from the town but very peaceful and surrounded by lovely scenery. We had dinner in the little cafe next to the pool and enjoyed it and on our last night, we sat in the open bar area and had cocktails while listening to a singer strangle a few songs. All part of the fun though, and we would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2018 by Citadel, Hotel Management
Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. We are extremely pleased to know that you had an excellent and enjoyable stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your very kind words in relation to the resort and its facilities & services .We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the holiday experience.We have also taken note of your recommendations for our betterment. We look forward to have you with us once more . Wish you a pleasant day .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2018 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was OK. It had a beautiful location by the river. The staff were great: very helpful and accommodating. As I mentioned in the check-in review, I requested a change in room because of noise and the reception lady was very helpful. I had a concern at check out when I was not given a receipt, and the receptionist Adithya was quick to address and allay my concerns. I was also surprised by a cake in my room on my birthday, which was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. What let the hotel down was that the rooms are old and require a refurbishment. Some of the furniture had broken down. Noise insulation was also poor, and it is easy to hear your neighbours. The food options were mixed. Cafe C was nice, but the buffet restaurant was disappointing -everything was overcooked and lacklustre. Overall an acceptable experience. Not great, but not awful either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Wonderful respite after strenuous road trip

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Wonderful location on the river and jungle—
Thoughtful, accommodating staff—made us feel welcome, despite some difficulty with transmitting reservation from Expedia to the Hotel proper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Cinnamon Citadel, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us. We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We thank you for the constructive feedback which is extremely valuable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay *****

Posted Feb 13, 2018 on Hotels
Nice view clean room with good wifi coverage great place to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Cinnamon Citadel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Feb 11, 2018
We booked 2 rooms and stayed for 2 nights. Dealing with reception was very difficult, they provided 2 rooms on the lower level with no lift facility. It’s a struggle for older and walking disability people. Reception was not at all helpful to provide any alternate option on request to change floors. Wish staff at reception were politer and more accommodable. Room conditions is average compared to the hefty amount you pay for hotel booking. Views from lower level dwelling are just okay. Now for complimentary breakfast was good, the swimming pool was good. Ambience and view is good for people on the upper level.