Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The location and the comfort and styling of the room.
Cons: Privacy and restaurant.
Location: Kingscote is a quiet town but it has a few activities and it is beautiful.
A great hotel in a beautiful spot overlooking the water. Privacy was a bit of an issue - we were on the ground floor and everyone walking past could see straight into the room. This meant keeping the curtains closed for privacy, which defeats the purpose of booking an ocean view room. Tinted windows or a light net curtain would be beneficial. The restaurant was also disappointing. There was one vegetarian option on the menu but when we tried to order it, it wasn't available and they were not interested in offering an alternate. We had to leave and find somewhere else to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide SA

Very clean and comfortable room with a great view.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Room was very clean and comfortable. Great views. Staff were friendly.
Cons: Meals were nice but over priced.
Room was ready, facilities good, very comfortable. Views were great, very relaxing location. Meals were ok but over priced so we chose to eat elsewhere most evenings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Cons: The old rooms should be given a facelift.
We were assigned to an old room upstairs because we paid a discounted rate. It had views of old looking rooftops. Had to lug our heav luggage up the stairs. Recommend asking for rooms in the new wing, rooms that come with the seaview or those on the gound floor. The hotel has a self-serviced washing machine which we did not use as it did not look clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Nice hotel in great location. Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Room was a little outdated and ensuite was tiny. Bed a little too soft for me personally as l have back issues but staff quickly fixed this when l requested a board be put under my side of matress. Restaurant was superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clayton Bay, SA

great views, but needs reno.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Staff and sea view.
Cons: Attention to detail in kitchen. Get rid of that awful carpet!
Location: Just passing through.
Great bunch of staff working in a tired environment. Needs an update. Our meal was a disaster, but dealt with well by staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SA

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Executive room with breakfast, lovely room & good breakfast
4 out of 5
by Samantha

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Our room didn't get cleaned everyday as the maids were too busy as there weren't enough staff on.
4 out of 5
by Joan

Sea views.

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful area. Sea view from our balcony which we paid extra for. The one down side was the very noisy fridge. Had to turn it off at night!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DISAPPOINTING

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
I was extremely disappointed when we arrived, looking at the photographs on Hotels.com it appeared to be a new resort style accommodation however when we checked in we found our room was located at the back of the old hotel across the road. The room was clean and comfortable however not what I was expecting for the price per night and the photographs I viewed on Hotels.com. The bathroom needed a complete overhaul, tiles were cracked and moldy in the shower and the windows in the bathroom needed a good cleaning. Poolside room....well again the pool did not look like it was in the photos. On the plus side.....the hotel dining was great....great service and good food. Disappointed with the response I got from Hotels.com when I called on arrival to advise the accommodation was very deceptive and not what was displayed on their website....I was told it was not Hotels.com responsibility and the property posted their own photographs and if I wanted to change rooms I would need to speak to the hotel. VERY DISAPPOINTING HOTELS.COM....we were loyal customers who have booked many nights accommodation with your service.....some customer service would have been nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean hotel with fabulous views

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place, stunning views, totally recommended