Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good centre to explore island

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Clean well equipped rooms, American River is convenient to get about the various parts of this interesting island
Ejoyed our stay. A nice relaxing hotel with helpful staff, good resturant and nice rooms overlooking the sea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs CO

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: The staff, the restaurant, the view, the location
Location: KI wildlife park, hidden beach at stokes bay, remarkable rocks/admirals arch, shopping Emu Ridge Eucalyptus distillery cliffords bee farm KI spirits
Facilities are very nice. recommend bay view room. off the beaten path but makes a nice base for island excursions. With the exception of the attractions at the far end of the island (Flinders Chase) you are literally minutes away from just about everything, yet still away from everything. The staff are amazing!!! and the reflections restaurant is top notch. a bit pricey but worth every penny! The crab entree is a dining experience everyone should have the opportunity enjoy!!! a simply brilliant pairing of flavors and textures!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Scootr, Thanks for the feedback. So pleased you enjoyed everything about our island, and that our hotel played a part in your experience. Our staff and restaurant are something we are very proud of, and I am glad you were happy with both. Safe trip for the rest of your stay in Australia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite as good as we were expecting.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: It was a bit dated. Sheer curtains, which couldn't be moved meant you couldn't see the view.
The hotel was just OK. Nothing special. Kangaroo Island is beautiful but American River is a little out of the way from the tourist attractions. We should have stayed at Kingscote.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joern Eirik

Koselig hotell en halvtimes kjøretur fra ferja

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
Koselig hotell i American River. Hyggelige ansatte og rene rom. Vi ankom rundt 19.30 og klokken 20 stengte matservering og like etter resepsjon. Vi fikk bestilt god mat til tross for det nærmet seg stengetid. Det kunne med fordel vært opplyst om stengetid på hotell og restaurant under informasjon om hotellet. Kaldt på rommet da vi ankom, men god AC. Mulig varmere på rommet på sommerstid da vi var der på vinterstid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Nice hotel with a good location

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Wotif
We staied at this hotel for 2 nights and were happy with our choice. We got a really good service for our money, would recommend it any time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ray from Adelaide

A comfortable eastern base

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
This lodge is at American River which is a good base for touring the eastern end of KI. The room was spacious, clean & the bed was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly & helpful when checking in, escorting me to the room to show where it was & to ensure everything was correct. There is a restaurant in the lodge which serves good food. There is complimentary WiFi which become very slow during peak demand periods, other times it is very good. My one complaint is that the air conditioner was noisy, & when the neighbours used theirs, mine would rattle in sympathy. I suspect that my room was one of the originals that had been renovated recently. I would return again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

the Mindset at the manager level should change

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
the staff except for one old lady, on the 2nd May morning & the boy & girl at the bar were very helpful. The manager was not very helpful as if he couldn't get me information what I needed. The above guy at the bar was very helpful and I think the Manager should learn something from the his staff. The lady who was on the shift on my first day morning seemed not to be bothered by any of my questions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kate from Australia - SA - Adelaide

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Views
Cons: Shower
Location: Just right
Facilities: Tired; Value: Average price; Service: Polite; Cleanliness: Hygienic ;