Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

This hotel was sparkling clean

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Basic amenities were available. There was no refrigerator in our room, but we rarely ever use one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good for the Price

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and our stay was quiet and uneventful. My son enjoyed the pool: it's small, but clean and well maintained. My only problem was with the fact that there is not an elevator. Each time we went to the room we had to climb a flight of stairs. Overall, it's a decent night's sleep for the price: nothing special, but nothing terrible either.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Bare bones, bare bones.......cheap,,cheap,,cheap!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: I'm easy to please...I really am....But there is absolutely nothing I can think of that I liked....
Cons: From the looks of the upkeep, I'd say take it down, rebuild and start over again. Hire competent employee's who have experience in Hotel Management.
Location: N/A
Had to argue with whom I later found out to be the owner, to get a extra packet of coffee. On a two day stay, they missed cleaning our room and when I returned and asked for a clean dry towel, the OWNER stated he would send someone down. No one showed up, That was 4:00 PM in the afternoon. The next day at check out. He was asleep in a chair behind the counter like he was there all nite....I think he was.....Wow....Never again will we stay at a Howard Johnson.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Clean hotel but outdated. Pool was very cold. No elevator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in Manteno

Posted Mar 21, 2016
It was a business trip, I was tired, I wanted a quiet and comfortable room. That is what I got at this Howard Johnson Hotel. The room was clean, the hotel was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and I got a good night's sleep before I had to get up at 5 am. At breakfast the coffee was strong, the orange juice was good, the toast with cream cheese and jelly was just what I wanted. I could have prepared waffles, but time was short so I will try them next time. Nothing fancy at this hotel, just comfort. I will come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wyandotte, MI

Not bad for the price!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The spacious room size and comfy beds!
Cons: The coffee, for real! Teach the employees how to make coffee!
Location: There are lots of food and gas stations nearby and it is very close to the freeway so that is a huge plus!
My husband, my son and I stayed here the night before a visit to Olivet Nazarene University. The hotel wasn't bad for the Expedia price that I got. The room was nice size and the beds were comfy. It is an older hotel so if your looking for luxury this wouldn't be your cup of tea! But for us it was perfect to lay our heads after a six hour drive! The breakfast was a continental breakfast at best, someone needs to show the employees how to make coffee! It looked like tea when I poured a cup, which went right in the garbage! I ended up making my own coffee in my room with the little pot so no harm was done :) If my son ends up going to Olivet, I would say I would stay here again, if I got the same rate!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Outdated but by interstate

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Front desk friendly however the room was outdated. No one made beds or brought towels and the TV was way outdated and picture was fuzzy. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge in room like most hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Horrible hotel - nice staff

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Smoking & nonsmoking rooms were on the same floor. The entire floor and room smelled of smoke. The bedspreads had stains on them. The TV looked like it was from the 70s. We wouldn't take our shoes off the floor was so grimy looking. The breakfast food was stale, the coffee was undrinkable and the milk was spoiled. One positive note my daughter left her baby blanket there and the staff found it and washed it. Very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: close to fast food and gas stations, easy on off freeway.
Cons: Need better tv reseption.
Location: fast food right across the parking lot. Gas station and other resturants with in a couple of blockes.
Good experience staff friendly and helpfull. had a dead battery staff helpfull in getting me a jump start.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 26, 2015
It was labeled a smoke free room but we had to keep the window open all night to try to not feel trapped. Overall the hotel is quite old feeling, hasn't been updated and doesn't feel very clean. The free breakfast in the morning had very few choices. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.