Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This was not an expensive hotel. Even so, the room stank - nothing felt clean from the linens to the shower curtain to the toilet - probably because of the smell. There were stains on the carpet, down the refrigerator, and there was absolutely no room to do anything! No floor space to open my suitcase, if you dropped a towel on the floor, suddenly the bathroom felt claustrophobic. On a more positive note, the Tv was HUGE and had some good channels on it and the shower pressure was amazing. I definitely wouldn't stay here again however. I'd been staying in hostels up until this point during my month roaming Japan - this was supposed to be a relaxing hotel stay - in hindsight I should have stuck to the hostels.
4 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Budget Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
APA Hotel is a chain of budget Hotels in Japan. I have stayed at the Kannai location twice and for the price that you pay you cannot get a better room deal. While the rooms are particularly small ( you won't be able to open a large suitcase on the floor ), I found the beds to be very comfortable, the amenities are restocked daily, there is wifi throughout the whole hotel, the water pressure in the showers are powerful and great. Rooms are equipped with refridgerators. The hotel is close to many great restaurants and bars, close to the train station, and there are a handful of 24 hour convenience stores nearby. Although I did not use it, there is an onsen style bath on the 14th floor, free to use for guests, along with coin laundry machines and vending machines. Check in time is 3pm and checkout is at 11am. There is an option to pay ¥1000/hr for an earlier checkin/ checkout. While I've seen other guests comment on how they were upset to be charged for an early check in, I was just happy that the option was there. I flew in at 5am, got to the hotel at 7am, asked them to hold my bags (which they do for guests free of charge) while I went out to eat breakfast and walk around to kill time. Around noon I was so exhausted that I gladly paid the ¥3000 (about $30 USD give or take) to check in early. The rooms are very quiet and I was able to rest very comfortably. I highly recommend for business trips and solo travelers. Couples and families may find beds to be small to share.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Close to station and many restaurants and amenities in close proximity
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Daikokufuto and Kannai

Posted Feb 19, 2017
So some of us are car people, and being close to one of Yokohama and Tokyo's biggest locations, is a must! Daikokufuto is what I'm talking about. What the hell does this have to do with a review, you may ask? Well, let me tell you, Kannai, is just a 10 minute drive to it, and on top of that Kannai station is also close enough should you wish to challenge yourself by getting a taxi there too. Now, there are a few drawbacks, Kannai is quite a lot like Japan's London or NYC, fraught with one way streets and an endless sea of people crossing roads. As for other drawbacks, it's just a matter of opinion really, not a lot of gaijin friendly places. If you are in the need of a hire car, Nissan Rent-a-car is just 2 minutes maximum, from the station (south side) and for a kei-car looking at around 8500円 As for the hotel itself, the room, a 2 person, double bed setting, was barely big enough for 1 person to move around in, whereas the bed was plenty big enough. The shower/bath, as always, was typically Japanese, being small. But just what you need. The staff are friendly as with every time I have stayed at an APA hotel. Not too costly either! If I were looking to stay in Yokohama, Kannai again, then I would choose to stay here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

APA Hotel Yokohama Kannai

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: We like this hotel onsen facility on 12F top floor with outdoor onsen available.
Cons: The size of the room is far too small as expected.
Location: You can travel to the seaside by walking, taking buses or railways back to shopping arcade in Yokohama and Minato Minnai. Few steps to eating.
This hotel is located on the convenient location, 3 minutes walk from JR Kannai Station with lots of restaurants available around. However the JR station does not have any escalator or lifts going down from the train platform. It has only staircases. Hotel staffs are generally friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean more

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The customer service
Cons: Hotel is dirty
Location: Not far from the train station
Room was really really small.all Carpets needs to be vacuum. Dirty
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Was great for my needs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cannot recommend stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
While the lobby looked clean and so did the 14th floor onsen, the room did not. There was mold on the wall and what looked mostly like blood stains on the wall. It had an indescribable smell, like mold and chemicals. The bathroom had good amenities, but was very small and looked used. Would not recommend this hotel given the high standards of most Japanese hotels. Yokohama have a lot of great hotels to offer - this would not make my list (and did stay in 3 different hotels apart from this one in Yokohama).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches in the room

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at several APA Hotels during our trip to Japan. They have very small Japanese style rooms, there wasn't even enough room for me to open my suitcase on the floor. The pillows are not comfortable, they feel like a kitchen sponge. The worst part though was about at midnight we started seeing bugs crawling on the walls of our room, by 1am we had counted 14 cockroaches. They changed us to another room for the remainder of the night, but we couldn't sleep because we were worried about other bugs. Additionally the staff at the front desk doesn't speak english. This hotel seems to be focused on Japanese Business Travelers, and I wouldn't recommend it to any tourist.