Ratings based on 1,420 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I know it was only one night, but...

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: Free shuttle to the airport
Cons: An a la carte restaurant. Soft beds. Reasonable drinks.
Location: The train station had options for dining.
Very disappointing over night stay. The two extra beds brought in for the kids were so hard, my husband and I squeezed into one bed and gave the other to the kids to share. Those beds were marginally better (we had been staying all over Japan, so I know that a hard bed is preferred). I know too it was only for one night before we flew out the next day, but for that reason, all you want is a soft bed and a reasonable restaurant so that you don't have to go out. Regarding the restaurant, or restaurants, there were three; all were set menus and expensive, even for lunch. We had a drink at the restaurant, which also served the buffet breakfast, because we wanted to see the view at night. It smelt of grease from the kitchen and even if we hadn't been put off by the price, the smell would have put us off coming back in the morning. The drinks that we ordered - a cocktail, a beer and two Shirley Temple's - cost 4230 yen! With a hotel discount! Singapore prices :) AND they were tiny - the cocktail was two mouthfuls. Best part... the free shuttle to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Nice hotel very close to Rinku Town Station

Posted Jan 18, 2018
I had a splendid stay, eventhough it was only for a night. The hotel was excellent as I could easily reach nearby malls on foot. The shuttle service to the airport was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Room is spacious and very comfortable. A little bit outdated and carpet needs replacement. Overall is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

good hotel near factory outlet and airport

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: near airport and factory outlet
clean and comfortable. the hotel give us a free upgrade which is wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Good price; close to airport

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Nice Seaview, high rise bldg, big room, good price, next to airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice and very convenient hotel near Kansai Airport

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: As above
Star Gate Hotel is very convenient for Osaka Kansai Airport and the easy access from the train station is most welcome. The interior of the hotel is very grand and comfortably furnished. The room had a nice view of the sea and land around. There is also a free courtesy bus to the airport. Overall I had a good 24 hour stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Jo-Anne

Thumbs up

Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
Would recommend this venue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Everything is perfect. This hotel is the best accommodation near the airport and if you want to go to city, it’s very easy to take a train because this hotel is very near JR and Nankai station. Just 3 mins for walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The friendly, accommodating staff was great. I loved the spectacular views and the vicinity to the airport. Shopping around the good too.
Cons: Let us know at check in about the restaurant hours of operation. Although they closed at 9:00 pm, they would not seat us at 8:30.
Location: Gateway to Kansai Airport. Train station (Rinku Town) station attached to the hotel. Shopping centers within minutes of hotel. Game center for kids
I booked this for one night before my departure as it seemed close to the airport. By taxi one way was 3900 yen because of the toll booth, but you can catch the train from the second floor of the hotel for 390 yen. The staff was very accommodating at the front desk. I needed a handicap room and the accommodated my request with a large handicap room and the room across the hall for 3 adults. Both rooms were very spacious and great views as the hotel rooms start on the 30th floor. Restaurants are on the 52, 53, and 54th floor but they closed early at 8:30 pm. There was another great, reasonable restaurant on the 25th floor in the other wing of the hotel that stays opened until 1:00 am. The staff was great and I will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely convenient location

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely convenient, only one stop from Kansai airport and less than 100m walk from station. Ideal for late landing or early flight. Spacious room but condition rather old.