Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room to small

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The room was to small for the price, keep hearing water running on the side of the window all night, the restroom had a vent connected to the light so when you turn the light the vent turn on very loud..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Chateau Avalon Hotel, Spa & Bar Team , Hotel Management
Dear elcoque, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. We are sorry the room size was not to your liking and please contact us directly when you plan to return as we have 23 different themed rooms with a different room sizes so we can find the one meets your expectations. If you wish to further discuss your experience, please call main hotel number and ask for manager on duty. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Chateau Avalon Hotel, Spa & Bar Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Disappointing at best

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The bartender was amazing.
Cons: The cleanliness and perhaps ask when checking in what time the guests would like their rooms cleaned.
Location: The location is great as there is a lot of fun things nearby and wonderful restaurants.
My friend and I took a trip to KC looking forward to a quiet and peaceful retreat. The hotel staff were friendly but they were scripted as we had 3 of them ask the exact same question in a row, "What brings you to Chateau Avalon?" What brought us there was my need to relax for a weekend as this past year has been awful. I was looking forward to a fun place to stay that offered a different perspective. The hotel looked amazing from the outside but once we got to our room, we found lipstick stains on the robes, pubic hairs in the bathtub, and dead crickets on the floor as well as left over rose petals from prior guests. The hotel called us at 7 am to see if they could come and clean our room. We informed them we are night shifters so please do so after 2 pm. When we left, we expected to return to a clean room. We found that their only "cleaning" was tossing some towels on the sink along with a bar of soap. For the amount I paid, I would expect them to at least vacuum. It was awful. The bed was like sleeping on a rock and I woke up multiple times in pain, as did my friend. I am guessing that's how they get you to pay for their spa services. Either way, the only thing that made the stay worth wild was the bartender. He knows his liquors and was very friendly. I would not return to this hotel nor would I recommend others to do so. Very disappointed as I was really looking forward to this trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel but could be better

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel staff was wonderful! The accommodations was a different story, there is no microwave or coffee machine in the room. There was only 1 light switch for the whole room including the individual tub that would have been nice to relax in but you either had to take a bath with a full blairing light or in the dark because the only one light switch didn't even have a dimmer on it. I have to say for the price of the rooms it was very disappointing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Posted May 16, 2017
I seriously fell in love with this hotel on the outside!! Then u go in the room and ur heart sinks. It has such great potential and could be such a beautiful hotel. Needs a lot of renovations and cleaning. Seriously sad to see such a beautiful hotel going to crap. Way over priced for the condition it is in right now.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Should have been better

Posted May 10, 2017
Hot as hell, and I had to clean the hot tub myself, hot tub was gross
4 out of 5
by Carley

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The experience was mediocre. It was relaxing and the staff was very kind but the Wine Bar wasn't open the entire time of our stay and the transportation service is only available on the weekends. Rooms should be at lower rate when amenities are not available.
5 out of 5
by Bryant

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kendra

Could Have Been Better

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The wifi says it is free, but that is only if you are lucky enough to be able to connect to it. We were on the first floor, and the concierge stated that it happens all the time and that we should go to the second floor to connect then go back downstairs; that did not work, and she did not help us after that (and WHY as a guest should I have to do this?). Then at midnight, the fire alarm went off and we had to evacuate because they "think" someone was smoking in the room. Needless to say that my girls and I did not sleep well at all. In addition, we ordered the breakfast and paid almost $30 for runny (powder or liquid) eggs and lukewarm food; that is a little disheartening. Being a hotel manager, I found the service sub-par; thank goodness I got a deal on the rates because I would not pay the full price they are asking for what the guest receives in return. The only reason I gave it a 4 rating overall was due to the concierge (Brianna, I think) the next morning who apologized for the inconvenience, but I still had to pay for data usage because the wifi never connected and the cheaply made expensive breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Old, few amenities

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Dressers Two night stands Closets More accessible electrical outlets
Location: Near Legends Outlet mall with plenty of restaurants. Very close to casino.
I was in the Kansas City area visiting my new grandson and booked 5 nights at this hotel. The description said "luxury hotel", so I was expecting at least the basics. There was no dresser to put clothes in, no closet, one night-stand, no fridge, microwave or minibar. Very few electrical outlets. This is a themed hotel that is geared toward one to two night stays only. I regret not leaving after the first night. They had a room service breakfast which was very bad, the coffee was horrible and they had no tea.
1 out of 5
by Arthur

Don't Waste Your Money!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
This was at least our fourth time visiting- we stayed here celebrating our Anniversary... I will not be visiting this establishment again as it has gotten worse with each stay. We experienced disappointment after disappointment. This hotel advertises "luxury" accommodations and believe me, they charge for the label ($200+ a night). I was provided a towel with a tear I could put my leg through. I was provided a robe that was soiled with coffee and someone else's makeup. The light in the tub did not work. There was a drywall patch that had never been knocked down, sanded or painted. There were spills and soiled areas all over the carpet in the bed area, and the advertised room wifi did not work. When we complained, we were told "oh well, it doesn't always reach that corner of the hotel." We complained to the front desk and were told a manager would contact us. We had to call them after three days and were told nothing would be done, somehow it was our fault for not bringing these items to their attention sooner, but they would use this as a training opportunity for their staff. Ridiculous. Warning to anyone considering this hotel- you should stay away, your money will be better spent elsewhere. If you don't want to take my word for it, at least read the reviews posted by other patrons...