Ratings based on 1,304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Happy hour was good.
Cons: Breakfast was ok. Room was alright needs updated and the bathroom is pretty small.
Location: Close to plaza in KC.
within walking distance from plaza. All the staff were helpful. Gave us directions and recommendations for places to eat and free appetizer to one restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Barking dog

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Dog next door yipped all night while my 5 year old tried to sleep. Talked to staff repeatedly and they told me it was a service animal and it's owners were out for the night, so there was nothing they could do. Who has a chihuahua as a service animal and leaves it kenneled up while they go out? The night manager assured me that they would discount my bill, but that never happened. Terrible experience. I
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Busy Place...

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The food was free but mediocre. The hot tub broke our first day there, so we didn't get to use it. The hotel in general has a "worn" feel to it. But the staff was totally amazing...they were all very friendly and helpful, even though their hotel was full of families with alot of kids that were being allowed to run wild.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Palm Beach Florida

Great location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location and the size of the rooms
Cons: Overdue for a complete remodel, and better train housekeeping, although they were very friendly
Location: A few blocks off the Plaza but being close to the plaza was a huge plus
Visiting my hometown of Kansas City I decided to stay at the Embassy suites as there is a small living room that I can entertain a couple family members each night. On my five night stay, I only requested housekeeping twice. They were not very thorough, nothing huge They made the bed, emptied the trash, and replace the fresh towels. They never replaced the drinking glasses and would leave the ice bucket sitting on the counter full of water and throw pillows not rearranged or the Ottomans, nothing big but like I said just not thorough. Every night when getting ice I would notice the same trash on the floors around the ice machines for the entire stay And one evening returning with my sister the smell of marijuana hit me like a ton of bricks when I walked in my room, I have no problem with people smoking marijuana but just not in my room when I'm not there, nothing was missing so I did not make a complaint about it really. Probably look for a different hotel on the plaza on my next visit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A great time to be on the Plaza

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: the comfortable rooms
Cons: silverware- just plastic in the rooms. I had food but not utensils.
Location: Just blocks from the Plaza in Kansas City- an ideal location. Lots of shopping and wonderful eating opportunties.
I was thrilled when my son was able to book me into the Embassy Suites on Thanksgiving night and I was able to witness the flipping of the switch to turn on the Plaza lights. I know it was a big deal when people on the elevator told me that the hotel was sold out. And believe me I could tell- there were lines everytime I went to the elevator. But the service was great even with all those people. It was fun to see all the families gathered in such a child friendly atmosphere. Yet when I was cocooned in my suite, it was nice and quiet and peaceful. I had a great stay. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from frisco

Just Terrible

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We were given room 326 and it was a disable accesible room, very outdated. My children slept in the sofa bed which hadn't a sheet because the one provided was juat not the correct size (too small). At 11:00 pm I had to call the front desk so they can quiet down the kids running and yelling down the hallways. At 11:30 I had to call again because the people in the room above mine was just to noisy (or the hotel is not islolated correctly), but still think it was the kids upstairs running in their room. At 5:15 the noise that makes the water when a faucet is opened woke me up. It was an open/close-open/close sound that went on for an hour. It seemed like again, somebody in another room was using the faucet so after waiting for an hour I decided to go to the front desk and explain. They sent somebody with me and he heard the noise....but then I realized the sound was coming from the toilet Apparently there was a leak or ot started leaking at 5:20 am so the on/off sound was in fact the toilet valve refilling the tank. Inwas offered not to be charged for parking for the incovenience wow! ($15,00) Then I went to bed again at almost 7 (I had an 8 hour drive in front of me), but at 9 the noise of people using the stairs woke me up AGAIN. The building have 3 elevators but people was checking out massively therefore using the stairs. The problem with the hotel is that you can hear everyhing. I paid almost $168.00 tax included for this nightmare of hotel. Never will stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overwhelmed with holiday crowd.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Room was great, food quality poor on restaurant and hospitality area. Staff worked very hard, but inadequate for the number of clients. Shuttle amenity awesome even with the holiday crowd. Only one slight glitch otherwise top rate shuttle service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A bit over-priced.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
We stayed on a Saturday evening. The staff was okay, but not great. The evening cocktail hour was very nice, and the bartenders on staff that evening were warm and friendly. The bed was comfy, but I did notice few tgings that were in need of repair, such as the pool, and the carpet in our room was stained. The breakfast buffet was very tasty, and the staff helping at the meal were prompt and gracious. Still a bit over-priced, but it does have a shuttle and over ammenitirs that may appeal to many out-of-towners.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Overall staff customer service needs an upgrade.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Close to Plaza and other KC venues. The usual Embassy Suites arrangement, with a roomy suite.
Cons: Staff responsiveness was quite variable. Some housekeeping and food buffet staff were almost surly, did not seem to get their role in portraying a positive welcoming aura for the hotel. Front desk personnel were transfixed by their computer screens--they would look up w/prompting, but not very proactive.