Ratings based on 1,251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Value for the Money

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Plaza.
Cons: The hotel needs to be renovated badly!
Location: Near the Plaza and UMKC. Lots of things to do nearby and a shuttle to the Plaza.
I wanted to be close to my daughter's university as we moved her in. The hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The room smelled badly, many things broken, had to keep door ajar to help with the smell. The manager's reception was awful - very low quality liquor and cold snacks - pretzels and chips.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Great location, friendly staff. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Can't beat the full breakfast and the free happy-hour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not on the plaza

Posted Aug 14, 2016
They advertise this hotel as The Plaza but actually it backs to Westport and is not in The Plaza. There is a shuttle that goes to the Plaza. With that being said.... We checked in early and they gave us a corner room at no extra charge. Lois was the one that helped us at the front desk and she was so nice. She comped our parking and answered all of our questions, she was the best customer service at the hotel!! The room was big, i wish the bathroom would have been in between the living room space and the bedroom but it was in the bedroom. The rollout was actually comfortable.. The pool is open 6am to 11pm which is nice. The breakfast buffet was awesome, lots if choices, something for everyone. We only had a problem with 1 staff member and that was a gentleman during breakfast. He wouldn't leave us alone, he was nice but just stood by our table and kept talking to us, which when im eating breakfast with my family, i want to talk to my family. There is no parking for the hotel except paying for it. We had some friends come over to the room and they had to park 3 blocks away on the street. The hotel is dated and could use some remodeling but it is clean, staff is pleasant and helpful!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Happy hour was great! Pool was nice once you could finally get into it.
Cons: Hotel needs to be updated. Free parking. Better breakfast. Buffet is large but if nothing tastes good, doesn't matter how big it is. The list goes on.
Location: Location was close to many activities that we did. Location next to hospital and fire department not good!
Hotel check in and check out staff unfriendly. Bar staff was very friendly. Breakfast was horrible. Eggs were runny so went to "made to order line". Eggs were not completely cooked. Hotel is very dated . Bathroom door would stick and make a lot of noise whenever it was used. Hospital and fire department sirens woke us up in middle of night along with screaming couple at 1:30 am in room near ours. Beds were very uncomfortable for adults and kids. Horrible nights sleep left us very tired for daily activities. Should not have to pay for parking when already paying 225.00 nightly. Shower was horrible. My 10 year old daughter was taking a shower when the water kept going from warm to very hot. I had to stand near shower and turn it off every time it got scalding hot. Room key never worked to get into pool . It also didn't work for mostly everyone else staying at same time as us. So disappointed!!! Don't think we will ever consider staying at any Embassy Suite ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, needs updates and lots of TLC

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Room was very humid our cloths felt wet when we got dressed. The bathroom was the size of small closet. Mold on the ceiling, bedding smelled. Food was terrible, the breakfast area was a mess. I would not recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but could have been better

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The overall experience of the hotel was great, except the first night we found bed bugs in our room, my daughter and mother were bitten. Our activities for the next day were interrupted, I sat in the walk in clinic at Walgreens while they were treated. The hotel was very apologetic, they moved me and my family immediately to another room, reimbursed me for two nights stay, also reimbursed me for the Walk in clinic visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, they just need to make sure that the people who clean the rooms are cleaning thoroughly and properly. The hotel overall was clean, friendly staff and the breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Complete surprise

Posted Jul 21, 2016
After the longest day and evening of travel I was looking forward to just getting to the hotel and passing out. This hotel wasn't even on my list to reserve but there were multiple conventions in town and it was the only place left with availability. Immediately after I put my stuff down on the bed 2 bugs crawled out on the bed. I slept with the lights on, tv on and towel over everything. Refused to use blanket. The bathroom I wouldn't even use and the lighting in there was dim at best. Did I mention that this was the upgraded room? Never again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time to demolish and start over

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, walking distance to good restaurants. I liked that I only had to stay one night.
Cons: Use it for the homeless.
Location: Don't spend time at the hotel
1. The phone in the room didn't work. 2. Most of the lights in the room didn't work. 3. Everything in the room and the lobby needs trashed. 4. Front desk had a difficult time scheduling a taxi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st. louis

It is okay.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
I was expecting it to be as modern as the embassy suites in Chicago, but I guess that I have overestimated the Midwestern standard. It costs as much as the Chicago ones, but lacks the updates. It actually looks like an old Mexican hotel or resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for shopping!!

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Some of staff were amazing while some were not that pleasant. Breakfast during week lacked a lot of choices! 300 banana nut muffins and no other kind was lil puzzling. It was just ok. All in all hotel was good would stay there again but for over 200$ a night on a Monday and Tuesday is pretty steep! 15$ to park a night wasn't appealing either.