Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville Ky

Small hairs in tub, half of window drape missing.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Hairs in tub, window drapes missing, filters in AC unit dirty and room hard to cool. Breakfast and staff was fine. Wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Close to dining, shopping, and businesses

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Close to businesses.
Cons: A little touch-up painting in the pool area, and the tile floor in the pool area needs a deep cleaning. The pool however was spiraling clean!
Location: Malls, shopping, hospital
While my stay was only one night, the hotel is close to many restaurants, malls, hospitals, and some small businesses. The hotel is close to I-70 which is a plus!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O'fallon, IL.

Football trip - close to Arrowhead

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Upgrade the beds. Better cleaning.
Location: Arrowhead stadium and Royals stadium
First let me say that upon our arrival at midnight through departure the following morning that the staff was awesome. Very friendly and professional. The room however not so much. It kind of smelled when we came in but okay, cleaning solutions maybe. There was hair in the sink. My daughter had a roll away bed and the pillow had stains on it, the blanket was a little crusty. The next morning we noticed that on the side of the bed our sons slept in there was a stain of some sort, we are hoping only milk. Other than those things it wasn't terrible, but not the Fairfield Inn that we usually get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Generic

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: room condition-very humid/most uncomfortable to breathe in
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby-walking distance! eat at 54th street! Delicious!
Nothing too special about this hotel-as far as comfort I would say below average. Room was very humid/moist and looked as if there was mold on the ac unit. Seemed like we couldn't get a comfortable temperature. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Fitness facility was next door-keeping that in mind for your stay. Wasn't too far of a walk. It was a pretty standard hotel-not sure the price was worth the value of the room. Probably won't stay again, however, it did provide necessary accommodations for the stay.
3 out of 5
by Craig from Colorado

Decent comfort but you might have better options

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
One night, two queen bed room, three people. Hotel service was friendly and we liked the hotel's location. The room itself was reasonably comfortable but was rough around the edges. The bathroom floor had a lot of cracked tiles, the hair dryer wall mount was falling out of the drywall, and in general the bathroom was beat up. There were insufficient outlets throughout the room; behind the nightstand was an outlet with an extension box in it, and the whole thing was falling off the wall. Independence is a nice place to stay if you're passing through the area, but you have better options overall.
2 out of 5
by Dionte

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceptive description

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Cons: Accurate description
Yo, it's like whatever happened to truth in advertising? In more than one place in the hotel description, sofa bed and refrigerator are listed as standard in all rooms. Our family needs that amount of sleeping space. We also have special needs, dietary restrictions and travel with our own food so a fridge is necessary. We never would have chosen this place if the description was honest and accurate.
4 out of 5
by Otis from Jonesboro

Good hotel with minor Issues.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay. Beautiful and safe neighborhood. Close to restaurants and shopping stores. The only minor things I found issues with is the bathroom floor needed a professional tile scrubbing job and hall floors needed steam cleaning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel close to freeway

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, staff was extremely friendly.
Cons: No complaints!
Location: Proximity to freeway, restaurants, shopping and relatively close to Kauffman Stadium (approx. 10 min drive).
Very nice hotel. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating for all of our requests. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy. Very pleased with stay here.