Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truman library, home location perfect

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Clean, large bedroom, quiet. Maybe a firmer mattress. Across the street from Truman house.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Co

Great location for our Harry Truman visit

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, cheery. Wall colors were great.
Location: Truman home across the street, Noland house next door, Truman library & museum was in walking distance. Restaurants within walking distance.
Easy to find, easy to check in, great and comfortable room, good breakfast. We walked everywhere in Independence.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted May 19, 2016
Location: Across the street from Harry Truman's home and walking distance to most of the tourist sites in town.
This is a lovely non-chain hotel. Very personable staff. Good breakfast fare. Room was larger than your usual chain hotel. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting to get a true small town Midwestern hotel.
4 out of 5
by Jenna from Boston

Cute hotel, Big rooms

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very nice. Our room was big and very clean. We were on a long road trip and Independence was great town to walk around in and visit the many historical sights near our hotel. The walls seemed a little thin and our thermostat didn't seem to be working. Other than being a little warm in the room and hearing some outside noise, we had a great stay. Breakfast was adequate and again, the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Most everything.
Cons: The attitude of the owners. Asking for directions seemed to put them out and their "I don't know" responses to any question was surprising.
Location: The location could not be better. Downtown Kansas City is 10 minutes away via Truman Blvd. Independence downtown was six blocks east.
This Hotel has 30 rooms with antiques and period furniture throughout. There is a marvelous garden area attached to the Hotel and my room faced the garden directly and the full moon shone overhead. Breakfast has the usual fruits, cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage, beverages, bakery goods. There is a code to enter building and to enter garden and the area surrounding is not the best. However, it is close to Independence Square and all the charming shops and restaurants. The Truman Home is directly across the street and tours are given several times a day. The Truman Library is about half a mile away and is worth seeing. I would stay at the Hotel again if ever in this area.
5 out of 5
by James from Sherwood, Arkansas

Average

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Room was nice. Item missing staff wanted to search room I had done a complete search of my own things.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Kansas City

Nice little hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The bed wasn't great, but I've slept in worse. :) Breakfast was not fancy, but plentiful - eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, juice, pastries and coffee. Definitely more than a continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Hotel was quiet, clean, safe, comfortable. Staff was attentive and kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Quiet neighborhood, interesting lodging

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: Clean spacious room, lovely garden view out the window, convenient free parking, quiet neighborhood setting
Location: Across the street from the historic home of President and Mrs. Truman, close to the Truman Museum and the visitors center.
The hotel is a converted office building that has turned out to be a unique setting with spacious rooms and lounge areas. We spent a very comfortable night there. Some nights we were in large hotels along the interstate. This was a delightful change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by Moreta, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. Its nice to know that our efforts were appreciated. Hope to see you again at Higher Ground ..