Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting Place

Posted Jun 4, 2017
This is not a regular hotel. It's in the historic Truman District. I honestly think it might be a renovated dormitory. It was quiet, private and well kept. If you are looking for a quiet, and small place to stay close to historic sites, this is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Everything was nice, however there needs to be blackout curtains in the rooms unless you enjoy waking up at sunrise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Nice clean hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Location: Went to restaurants
Quiet, and in walking distance to the square. I think it is good for couples
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Longmont CO

Hidden gem of a hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Very comfortable, clean and quiet. Had never heard of it, took a chance and was very pleasantly surprised. Will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita

Great Location

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: We can't recommend this hotel because the beds were awful. The mattresses offered virtually no support and the beds squeaked. Didnt sleep well
Location: Close to ball games Truman house and library
Ok hotel. Stayed here because it was a short drive to Kaufman Stadium. Excellent staff and close to Truman Library.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Ok hotel little to much money for what it is

Posted May 14, 2017
Hotel was ok, tv didn't work first night took several hours to fix it, air worked fine during the day but not at night was to hot in room, the room was clean, big and the shower was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from spglfd

quiet

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: serve hash browns
clean - quiet - few rooms - ground floor room - free breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Fletch, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the good review. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Altoona, Iowa

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Location: It is across the street from the Harry and Bess Truman house. We especially enjoyed the restaurant opportunities in the nearby downtown area.
We were welcomed graciously. We found the room to be neat and clean, and especially enjoyed the huge window overlook to the beautiful patio. Later that evening when we asked for additional heat (it was a cold spring day), it was provided quickly. The breakfast was well prepared and we were well provided for in that respect. All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and the people operating it. We have been there on three occasions and will stay there in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Fletch, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your gracious review. We look forward to seeing you in the future! Blessings! Higher Ground Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient for visits to Truman library and museum

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Very quiet
Cons: Check in procedure. Bed mattress was too soft.
Door system is very secure but difficult for checking in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by mo, Hotel Management
Sorry you found it difficult to check in. Normally our process works just fine. Thank you for otherwise positive rating. Hope to see you again sometime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location; easy access to the areas of Independence I needed to go.
Cons: Clean the cobwebs in the skylight.
Location: President Truman's house is at the end of the block.
This was my second stay at the Higher Ground. Sadly I was the only guest. My room was clean except for a cobweb in the skylight. Staff is friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by mo, Hotel Management
Thanks for the tip. We will check the skylight.