Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Value, very clean room

Posted Jun 3, 2016
The room was very comfortable and the shower was awesome! Would have been at least a four star review had the room been furnished with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Matt, We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel! I can share with you that the only disappointment you had with us has already been resolved in our entire tower. We are working towards getting microwaves and refrigerators in the remainder of the rooms. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us focus our efforts to improve our hotel in the ways the best serve our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Calif

Close to Country Club Plaza

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Some really nice, hard working people work there.
Convenience location with shuttle service to nearby restaurants and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by JImJ, Hotel Management
We really appreciate your compliments about our hard working and caring staff! We are very happy that you enjoyed the great location with so many great places to eat and shop. Hope to see you again in KC!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blairstown, NJ

Fantastic desk staff, ok facilities

Posted May 1, 2016
Desk staff so personable, engaging and willing to help. Outstanding dinner recommendation and a very nice shuttle service downtown. On the downside: pool area a reck, halfway carpets wet, computer area lights kept shutting off, and most disappointing..no breakfast included. It's free at a Holiday Inn Express, but not a regular Holiday Inn? Doesn't make sense.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Your question about breakfast is a common one. All Holiday Inn Hotels have a full-service restaurant operating in the hotel. This gives our guests many options for breakfast. Holiday Inn Express Hotels do not have a restaurant. For the convenience of their guests they offer a limited breakfast so that their guests at least have the option of eating at the hotel. I hope that this helps clarify the difference between the brands for your future stays. Best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

A change from the big hotel chains.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Cons: The breakfast was less than appealing. Fruit past it's prime, salt shakers ALL empty, only grape jelly was available for toast (yuk)...
Location: Forest Park, Science Center, Art Museum, History Museum, Galleria Shopping, Clayton Shopping,
I stayed at the Cheshire for 6 nights on a recent trip to St Louis when I needed to be located near Clayton and I'd grown tired of the big hotel chains. The English decor is charming, especially in the lobby lounge, which is especially comfortable. The usual breakfast was included, but the staff had trouble keeping up with coffee, dishes, etc most mornings of my stay. When alerted, however, the staff was very responsive. I had dinner at the Fox & Hounds Bar a couple nights and enjoyed my meal both times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Mary Ann, It appears that you have reviewed the wrong hotel. We are located in Kansas City, Missouri. Thanks,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mo

Free parking if you get there before everyone else

Posted Mar 22, 2016
This was the last time I'll stay in a holiday inn express. Extremely outdated, carpet stained, dirty ( hair in shower).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
We certainly apologize for not living up to your expectations. A portion of our parking garage has been out of order for a repair project the past couple of weeks. That area is back in service today. Holiday Inn offers a Hospitality Promise which means that if any part of your stay is not to your satisfaction, and if we can't make it right for you then that part of your stay is free. Again, we apologize for not living up to our standards and thank you for letting us know about your experience. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

A wonderful stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Nice hotel surrounded by beautiful area in the plaza downtown. Check-in/Check-out attendants were friendly as could be. Pillows were second to none!!! We're going to buy some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. As a Holiday Inn standard we offer both firm and soft pillows on every bed. This generally fulfils the preferences of most of our guests! They are wonderful pillows and we are happy that you enjoyed them! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Staff Above and Beyond

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Good location, easy access to restaurants, and good people!
Location: We stayed at this hotel because we were in town for the Mecum Auction. It was as nearby as we could get; it worked out very well.
We checked in Friday night, then went to dinner. When we got back to the car, the car battery was dead. Taylor, who was working at the front desk, offered the services of AAA. She stayed at the car with us until the problem was resolved. She definitely went above and beyond to help us out. We appreciate her helpfulness and attitude so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Daryl, We a fabulous tribute to Taylor! She is one of our "Shining Stars"- an award we give to honor staff members who provide "above and beyond" level of service. We greatly appreciate you taking time to tell us about what she did for you. We look forward to having stay with us again in the future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, KS

Excellent location. Right down town.

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Location. Location.
Cons: The rooms need updating.
Location: Name brand shopping and upscale dining right down the hill. We left the car at the hotel. We didn't need it.
Location is right down town where you want to be. Within walking distance to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Tom, We appreciate hearing that you very much enjoyed your visit with us! I would like to say that our location is on the Country Club Plaza which is not the same as "Downtown" to eliminate any confusion for others reading your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Staff very friendly, room was moderately clean but old and musty
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thank you for taking time to review our property. We certainly did not meet your or our standards for this stay. Please accept our apologies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Great location and hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking-The garage is small and there is little to no parking around the hotel. We ended up in a church lot across the street.
I love this location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall, the hotel is nice, there is a shuttle to the plaza, restaurant on site with a large menu, and the room are spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2016 by JimJ, Hotel Management
Valentines weekend was extremely busy and parking was a bit crazy. We apologize that you had to park across the street that night. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed all of the other aspects of your stay and we are delighted to hear about your stay!