Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

An eclectic slice of KC...

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The artistic flare in the lobby, restaurant and in particular the rooms really brightened a road weary traveller.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no room in the room

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown KC, nothing else honestly to say. it wants me to put more here but I can't give you any more info.
Cons: Layout of a double queen bed room was very tight. Amenities were lacking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In KC for our Sons wedding

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. Thought the valet drivers could have been friendlier. 2 of the 3 were rather quiet and just stood watching as we loaded or unloaded our car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Aladdin is Magical

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Well - everything! Definitely will be back.
Cons: I don't particularly like valet parking. The option was to park directly across the street, but they charge each time you enter and exit.
Location: Kansas City Power & Light district is the happening place in Kansas City. Restaurants, hotels, architecture. Close to Union Station and the Plaza.
This 1920s hotel in the Power and Light district has been beautifully restored. I wish I could have stayed longer. The lobby is like a movie set and the cocktail bar on the upper balcony around the lobby is perfect to have a quiet martini and watch the comings and goings of the lobby below or to peer out the arched windows at the street. I didn't get to try the restaurant - as I was in a rush to leave the next morning, but it looked like the typical hotel coffee shop type restaurant and breakfast smelled wonderful. The desk staff was friendly, and surprisingly remembered my name when I stopped back at the desk about an hour after checking in. The room (1316) was recently redecorated in a modern version of a 1930s movie theme, it seemed. Bathroom was a standard size, but fixtures including a basin type sink on washstand with granite top was all new. Note - this room is at the end of the hall away from the elevators on the 13th floor. It adjoins the room next door (1314?) There view is only of the courtyard of the Marriott next door, and the room wraps around the service elevator - which I didn't know until I looked at the floorplan on the back of the door - there was never any noise. The fire escape stairs are next to the service elevator. Because of this, the room has a small entry hall that sets everything back a bit from the hall The mattress and linens were lush - plenty of pillows and there was a variety of coffee. Love the P&L district and will stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Brick wall

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Over all the stay was nice...we were on the 12th floor and didnt have much of a view out the window we looked out on ventilation and brick walls...the 1bed queen was kinda small and the fan in the bathroom came on when u cut the light on and it was super loud...we only had one stay so it wasnt to bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stl

Old buliding, pretty but, very small rooms.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
small rooms. staff was pretty nice. good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Location is not everything

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The location its Architecture.
Cons: Consistancy of SERVICE!!!!
Location: Perfect. Close to trolly, convention center, very impressive local sites.
Daytime staff were helpful and great to work with. Evening check in staff were disinterested. Our request for additional hangers was half-filled. The Bartender in their signature bar was unresponsive and unfriendly, more interested with TV and his friend. We didn't even want to be in the same room with him after a couple of encounters. As a result, we did all our meals and evenings in nearby hotels, we felt so unwelcome. The doorman was distracted. At first I thought he was just some Joe sitting nearby with a Walkman. Housekeeping staff in general did try their best. Then the beds were uncomfortable, climate control in the room was variable, and at odd times in the night the room fan would make a clanging noise until I got up and smacked it. Also, I was registering as a member of as convention group and when I called to confirm about convention rates I was ALWAYS routed to the national office who had no idea what I was talking about and I wound up paying $20 a night more because of that. And all the information in the in-room book was outdated and irrelevant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa traveler

Close Power and Light

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Hotel was nice. Clean. I would not recommend for kids. Standard rooms small but worked for us. (2 adults). Do not like the parking. Hotel should pay for parking since I'm their guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Mn

Not what I was expecting for the price.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Guest services wasn't very friendly, they don't greet you, seemed to always have a lot people hanging out in their tiny lobby. For $200/night the room had debris on the carpet & bathroom floor as if it wasn't thoroughly cleaned. Also the ice dish was dirty. The lack of cleaniness made the stay uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC MO

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Clean place, nice staff. Misleading photos though. Stayed during a time when a concert was going on and paid WAY too much for a room.