Ratings based on 3,115 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Overall nice hotel. Wish there was vending available in the hotel. And we were only given two large bath towels- no wash clothes or hand towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Joseph, MO

Beautiful hotel, fun weekend get away.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, clean, comfortable!
Cons: More efficient way of checking out.
Location: Walking distance to some good restaurants and bars. Fun area!
Great stay, was in walking distance to an excellent restaurant, Anton's. Overall, staff was nice, comfortable accommodations, very clean! We had breakfast at the hotel. It was good, but we had to wait quite a while for it. The only drawback, which wasn't that much of a problem since we didn't have a deadline, was checking out. Only one staff person behind the desk, had to wait in a long line. Then, we had to wait to get our vehicle, which we had valet parking. Even with that, I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Phillips! It was a wonderful weekend get away for my husband and me, and some of our friends from Nebraska!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
This hotel and staff was great I would come back anytime I am in KC!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

NIce Location but poor service

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room clean
Was there for 6 days on the 18th floor corner room. Had to ask three times for my room to be made. Had to ask for coffe, two times. The cleaning of my room was a problem and towels were not always changed. Wanted to go to the bar PS and was told to comback later on, more than on hour after I was told I could not get in by a rude MD Anayway plenty of nice hotel in KS, this on could have been a nice experience but was disapointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

WiFi did not work

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Nice art deco decor. Staff was friendly but could not get Wifi in the room. My teenage daughter spent the weekend in the hallway so she could do her homework. Told the front desk twice about this. They said it would be fixed but it never was. Would recommend if you don't need WiFi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Missouri

Nice hotel, but a few issues with my stay

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Room was pleasant and clean
Cons: Attention to details. The staff saw me walk in with four guests upon check-in. Why would she give us a 1 bedroom room?
Location: Lots to do in the city, but need to drive to get there. Nothing too close for walking.
Hotel Phillips is beautiful inside, which is one reason I picked this for my family vacation. However, our room got mixed up and we were placed in an Executive Suite (1 bed) for four people. We were rushed for a family event and by the time we could get the room switched and re-check in, we were late to our event. Thus, this was a disappointment to us and our family. As well, any hotel patrons must pay for vallet because the parking garage (around the corner where the staff told me to park) would not give me a garage ticket. Thus, I had to park 4 blocks and walk to the hotel for check-in. Afterwards, I chose the vallet. In conjunction, I should have checked the fine print because breakfast was not complimentary. It cost the 4 of us over $60 to eat breakfast which consisted of fruit, fried bacon, and scrambled eggs. I don't mind paying this if the breakfast was more frivolous in nature, but that price for bacon, eggs, and fruit seemed ridiculous. We were unaware of this before we sat down to eat and were surprised when a staff member brought us a check requesting payment. Lastly, the Keurig in our room did not work. Each time we turned it on, the machine shut back off and would not run. Thus, we had to go to the coffee shop in the hotel to purchase coffee. Coincidence or ploy? I am not so sure at this point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jefferson City, MO

Beautiful View

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This hotel has a beautiful view of Kansas City, MO. You want to stay in a higher room for the best view!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: The size of room, free breakfast.
Location: Close to music hall and the Midland theatre. Easy walking distance to restaurants inside other hotels.
The bed was very comfortable but the room was cramped and tiny. Sink outside the bathroom made it very difficult to get ready for the event we were attending. Better for one person but even then it would still be cramped. Wouldn't stay here again especially for the high price without breakfast, parking, or any other amenities. If all you care about is location and a nice bed than it would be great for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Wonderful property and staff. Love the Speakeasy! Rooms were very nice...baths just fair. Overall enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic building

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Expedia sold us a suite that no longer exists since the remodel. The hotel staff did their best o make it right, but we reserved the corner executive room with a king and sofa bed. We were placed in a regular room with a one king bed and so sofa bed. They moved us to one regular room with two beds. We had issues the entire time getting our keys to work in the new room. The room was clean with very comfortable beds, though. The water never got hot. It was barely lukewarm, not even hot enough for showers.