Ratings based on 2,827 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Great stay, great location, very nice and clean hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by kim , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate you choosing The Hotel Phillips for your visit to Kansas City. We appreciate the great score and hope to see you back soon! Warm regards, Kim
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the Power and Light district

Posted Feb 8, 2016
My wife and I love staying here. Great staff and rooms. Everything is convenient and the hotel shuttle will provide you a great service to take you in the area. We will definitely stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Kim , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting The Hotel Phillips during your recent stay in Kansas City. We appreciate the great score and look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Kim
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis mo

Ok hotel near power and lights

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The hotel is nice enough.. The lobby is pretty and though the elevators are small we never had to wait long. The staff and valet were very friendly and helpful. The building is old and it is evident in the awkward floorplans of the rooms. Somethings need to be renovated like the crown molding. There was a slight musty smell but it didn't bother me too much. Overall it was a nice hotel and I would recommend it to someone on a budget looking to be close to the downtown area. My only real complaint was that our room did not seem to be cleaned well prior to our arrival .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff were very friendly. Location was great.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
When we arrived oir room was very hot. We adjusted the thermastat but the temp never went down. We let the staff know and we left for the evening with the understanding someone was going to look at it. When we came back it was still hot. It was late so the next day we again let them know and they brought up fans to our room. When we returned the temp was 78 and stayed that hot all night. Again at checkout it was oh I'm sorry. Nothing was done and no compensation of amy kind. This is not a way to build trust and relationships with guests. I will not recommend or return. They are plenty of choices out there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Great front desk staff, neat older hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location and looks
Cons: make sure the heating & cooling is properly working before putting people in rooms. It didn't sound like it was just our room that the a/c wasn't on.
Location: Lots or restaurants and bars in walking distance.
The front desk clerks when we checked in were very personable. The room did not have the a/c working, even though it appeared to be running. We got very hot & had to be moved in the middle of the night. The staff got it handled very quickly though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great hotel for the price.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms and location.
Cons: The speed of the valet.
Location: Walking distance to the Convention Center/Bartle Hall, Municipal Auditorium, the Midland and Power & Light.
The rooms are huge and the hotel is set to undergo a total room renovation in the coming year so it will be even better. They put us in adjoining rooms which was so nice for our family. Plus, the double beds are somewhat separated by a half wall so they have a lot of room. The valet parking guys/gals were very friendly and we were able to leave our car valet-parked at no charge for about eight hours on Saturday. (We were there for Royals FanFest and there was no other free parking in the vicinity). It did take a while for the valets to retrieve our car, but I think it was due to traffic. However, I did notice that SUVs and larger cars seemed to be pulled up, first. (We had a small KIA so I think smaller cars are parked deeper in the valet lot).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Stay was nice. Room was clean. Staff was great. Reccomended
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Kim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting Hotel Phillips and for the nice rating regarding you stay. We hope to see you back again, very soon. Warm regards, Kim
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Joseph, MO

Not Quite Four Stars

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The overall feel was very pleasant, and friendly.
Cons: Maintenance, Craftsmanship, and Management
Location: We chose to walk, and hit dinner and a movie within a few blocks. There are two coffee shops, several restaurants, and shopping.
As I have never stayed in anything other than cheap motels, I had high expectations. The entrance, and lobby were stunning. The receptionist was very professional. Our room was a bit disappointing. The materials used were higher quality, but the craftsmanship was not. I am a contractor, so I am a bit more particular. The tile work was decent, but I could have done better, and I am not an expert. The walls has several spots of damaged drywall from being hit with furniture. A poor attempt to caulk the crown molding made it look wavy on the wall. The fiberglass tub had a soft spot that felt as though a heavier person would fall through. The shower curtain rail allowed quite a bit of water onto the floor after showering. The closet doors would get stuck do to a stripped screw hitting the door when it tried to close. Most of these could be fixed in one day, but the time was not taken. I noticed the receptionist yawning, and found out she wasn't even able to take a break that day due to someone calling in. Not having any backup plans to simply give your employees a break is just poor management. I suggest you take advantage of the valet parking. It is $24. I chose to park myself as the sign said a maximum of $14. We stayed overnight, and had to pay $26. I don't know how that works. The room felt set up for someone on a business trip rather than leisure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Kim, Hotel Management
Dear Chase, I am very sorry we did not provide our best experience. We have started to do a preventative maintenance program to address the very valid concerns you have brought to our attention. You are right and we always have additional people available for other associates to take a break, I will have to look further into that issue. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you are best effort. Warm regards, Kim
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Beautiful old hotel with incredible character

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Cons: The rooms need another mirror for dressing. The only mirror in the entire room was the one in that tiny bathroom, which was a slight inconvenience.
This hotel is in a great location in the heart of downtown Kansas City. The lobby of this 1930's art deco beauty is spectacular! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I found the rooms nice, clean with new furnishings. The only drawback to the room was the size of the bathroom. It had been renovated and was nice, but because of the age of this hotel, it was somewhat small. But the rest of the hotel was very nice and a good value for the rate we paid. The breakfast in the restaurant was also excellent and speedy to allow us to make our morning meeting. I would recommend this hotel for anyone doing business downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Kim , Hotel Management
Dear John, We appreciate your choosing the Hotel Phillips for your recent trip to Kanas City. You are absolutely right we do have a few rooms that have small baths. On your next visit mention that you would like to try a different room type. Warm regards, Kim
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Beautiful hotel, extremely friendly staff, but somehow my reservation was lost? Took about 10 minutes to find. The heat in the room was also broken. Had to call the desk twice to have it fixed. Not a $151 experience, but it could have been worse I suppose?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Kim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry that your reservation was lost. We are making some technology upgrades to provide for a seamless transmission of reservations made on third party sites. But not responding after the first call is unacceptable and I hope you will except my apology. Please give us another chance as we want to earn your business. Warm regards, Kim