Ratings based on 897 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Location is great! The hotel was under construction so the bar and resteraunt were closed. They also didn't have a vending machine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location near the Power & Light District

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The room was nice and quiet....no slamming doors and people talking in the hallways that you get with most chain hotels.
Cons: I was disappointed that the hotel did not have a lounge.
Location: There are several area bars/restaurants close by. One of my favorites is The Majestic.
I was only there for one night, but was able to enjoy the hotel and a few of the local restaurants that are within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money whatsoever

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Attitude of staff, a more knowledgable and resourceful staff, and price.
Location: It's in the center of downtown, which makes parking miserable.
The night staff were rude, unwelcoming, and uninformed. I also had to wait 45 minutes before I could check-in because they were rebooting their computers and updating their software. I asked to be able to go to my room until then and come back down to check-in (seems fairly simple, right?) and they would not allow it. The room had conditioner, but no shampoo, and no coffee mugs for the coffee maker. The phones barely worked, so I had to go down to the lobby to request these items. Parking is an additional cost and not close to the hotel or connected to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
It's a little pricey to not offer free parking. We had to pay $15 at the parking garage around the corner just for one night. It's $24 for valet at the hotel, but there wasn't a valet person working. The room was excellent and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. I'll stay here again, but they should try to offer some kind of parking or a discount to cover the parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful art deco renovation in perfect location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The history, the lobby, the decor, the coffee shop, the speak easy, the rooms and bathrooms are great.
Location: restaurants, shopping, coffee shops all within a few blocks
We loved it. The lobby, coffee shop and restaurant will be open in January 2017 and we'll be sure to stay there again. The architecture and history of the building are amazing. Staff gave us a nice tour of the new renovations and historic private party room. The rooms and bathrooms were small but very well done. The location in downtown KC is perfect. Can't wait to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Currently under major renovation still not excited

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Downtown atmosphere, fun and walk-able to many different places we wanted to try out. Parking was expensive about $14 a day if you could even find any
I've stayed in a lot of hotels that were not great and never complained. The reason I'm complaining about this is because it was terrible. A large part of the problem might be blamed on expedia.com not listing the hotel as under construction.The noise levels of the construction are so loud that we had to switch rooms. After switching rooms the noise was just as bad as the original floor and room. Another annoyance was the TV's, they were off to the side of the bed instead of near the foot of the bed, impossible to watch tv comfortably. The only reason this was a big deal to us was this was the only place we had to go relax after we were done strolling the city or eating. The water pressure was purposefully reduced so much that it was barely a trickle, a glass of water took 2 mins to fill with no exaggeration, this was in both of the rooms we had. I have videos of the noise and the trickle but expedia only allows pictures to be posted. We stayed one night out of the original 4 booked nights and found a second hotel. During the change, expedia tried multiple times to contact the hotel to set up the transfer because they had already been paid for the stay and they told me they couldn't reach the hotel and the phone seemed disconnected. I had to talk to the manager and have him call expedia directly and with me standing there in order to get it taken care of. Overall, a terrible experience, High priced for the current state of the hotel, lack of service, and I will not return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Renovation with horrible staff

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Beautiful location. Stay somewhere nearby.
Checked into hotel, had reserved a King suite, was given a queen room with no furniture except the bed. When I went back to the front desk to request a room change they couldn't find the details of my reservation. Thankfully I had them on my phone and they changed us to king suite but without some grumbling and lack luster remark about just staying where we were put. The room was fine after we switched but there is massive construction going on from 10am to 5pm daily and it is so loud you can't speak to each other in your room without yelling. And the restaurant is closed so no room service. None of this was on their website which I had checked just days before. Valet was best person on staff. Overall-Very disappointed. Maybe it will be nice post renovation but that doesn't do anything about the rude and unhelpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Great location just over priced.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: A lot of things could be better.
I spent almost $600 for 2 nights and have stayed in nicer rooms at American inn. Are shower never would get hot, I try and go get a pop out of the vending machines (that say are on 4 different floors but there isn't a single one in the hotel) and they only have a ice machine and only 1 of them. I booked this room 3 weeks in advance and caught wind of the renovation and emailed twice to ask about it and no one would email me back about it. You would think that a hotel like this that is suppose to have a restaurant and a bar and currently do not would at the least give you a voucher to grab coffee and breakfast in the morning for the inconvenience of not providing these things. Overall I didn't spend much time in the hotel so my trip wasn't to bad but I will not be staying at this hotel again unless a lot of things change.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Loved the historical 1920's great gatsby feel.
Location: Right in the middle if power and light district
Other than the construction gong on during our stay, this hotel was really nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Hotel over booked

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Made reservations for 3 people with double beds. Room we received was 1 bed. Had to be given a roller bed to meet my accommodations.