Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2016
We enjoyed two nights at the Intercontinental Hotel within walking distance of many nice restaurants and shopping venues at Country Club Plaza. We had a beautiful view of the Plaza holiday lights from our room. The staff is attentive, friendly, and helpful. The lounge and dining areas are comfortable and nicely decorated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Don Breckenridge General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review and your recent stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that the next time you are in KC you will come and see us again! Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and I arranged for the concierge to have flowers in the room. They were magnificent! We also very much enjoyed the Concierge Level on the 11th floor for cocktails and cordials. Wonderful staff and service and being across from the Plaza with Christmas lights was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Don Breckenridge General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Happy Anniversary! We are so glad that we were able to help you celebrate! Please come and see us again the next time you are in the plaza area. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEEDING AN UPGRADE

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful. The hot chocolate was delicious and available in the lobby. Location was and will continue to be perfect.
Cons: The lobby and upgraded rooms
The staff was GREAT! The rooms were in need of an upgrade and THE LOBBY WAS ICE COLD. Once in awhile a real cleaning should be done. Scrape off soap in the shower, wipe off lamp shades and wipe down the bathroom walls. LOBBY The wind from the door blew thru as if we were in a wind tunnel. If one wanted to sit in the lobby, you had to sit in a coat therefore the hot chocolate was necessary and delicious. In one friend's room, neither the tv, refrigerator, or phone worked! I know that we reserved thru Expedia and therefore realized that we would not have the best rooms available, but none of the three of us will stay again at the hotel or recommend it. The outside glass elevator, one of the hotel's glories did not work either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful plaza views! Courteous, efficient staff

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Cons: Make it known it's a pet friendly hotel so those that have allergies can choose a different hotel. Our 25th wedding anniv and we spent it in ER.
Only problem was it is a pet friendly hotel which we had no idea. My husband is allergic to cats. There must have been one in the room prior. He ended up making his first emergency room visit at 1am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by Don Breckenridge General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay but am regretful that there were problems that caused your husband such trouble. If you go to the website and click on details you can see the pet policy listed among other aspects of our property. We do limit pets to certain rooms and would be more than happy to put you in a pet free room the next time you come to stay with us. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Location for Country Club Plaza Area

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: nice rooms and facilities
Location: Country Club Plaza area has everything you need: nice restaurants and high-end stores.
Nice hotel and great location for Country Club Plaza area. Everything within walking distance. Not a convenient location for downtown KC or airport as it is $55 cab ride, but if you need to be in CCP area, good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, General Manager, Hotel Management
WW, Thank you so much for your five star review and your recent business! I agree that the plaza area is a great district and it is especially fun at this time of year with the lights out. We hope that the next time you come to Kansas City you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank CA

Wonderful

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The Staff.
Location: Walking distance to the Country Club Plaza. Plenty of shops and restaurants.
The staff are awesome and the hotel was full of life and accommodating at every turn. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, General Manager, Hotel Management
Danny, Thank you for staying with us recently. It's always great to hear about how our staff was able to make a stay memorable. We hope that the next time you are in Kansas City that you'll come see us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice proximity to Country Club Plaza

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Room walls are extremely thin, you can hear everything next door. A lot of business travelers that are very stuffy about the vacationer next door being too loud at 10:30 at night. Front desk staff is very nice, however I made a change with my parking from valet to self parking and notified the front desk twice and they still charged me for valet parking for my entire visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I do regret that the front desk failed to make sure your final bill was accurate. I do hope that you will come and see us again and give us the opportunity to wow you on your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

perfect location to The Plaza

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The rooms are always clean and staff is very accommodating. Walk to The Plaza for shopping, cocktails or great food! The hotel restaurant is very goo
We love staying here when we are in KC. Always a good experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, General Manager, Hotel Management
B, Thank you for your recent stay with us and your 5 star rating! I am so glad that you found our property and staff to be so accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Overland Park, KS

Our favorite KC hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful staycation in Kansas City. Will do it again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, Hotel Management
Brian, Thank you so much for the 5 star review and I'm glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Please come see us again for your next staycation! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Always Love The Intercontinental

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: above
Cons: above
Location: The KC Plaza
We always love staying at the Intercontinental. This visit was no less exceptional. It is a classic 'old' hotel with wonderful woodwork and furnishing in the lobby. The staff are wonderful. Rooms are exceptional ( we stayed in a Deluxe room on the 6th floor overlooking the Plaza). Garage parking is safe and spacious. Garage connects to the hotel so no need to walk outside. We have stayed at the Raphael (another overall wonderful hotel) as well across the street yet are actually fonder of the Intercontinental. Breakfast is outstanding with an excellent view of the Plaza in the Oak Room. Staff are exceptional there as well. We had an issue with Expedia (apparently) not forwarding our breakfast purchase to the Intercontinental in our reservation. We simply showed the front desk staff our reservation on Expedia and he immediately gave us tickets for breakfast. This sort of thing has happened at other hotels in regard to information being correctly transferred from Expedia to the actual hotel. Free WiFi if you sign up for IHG rewards (which is free) and obtain a Club Member number (I detest paying for internet connections at hotels). Will stay again as we obtained a membership at the nearby Nelson-Adkin's museum just off the Plaza.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, General Manager, Hotel Management
Bruce, Thank you so much for your recent business and your 5 star review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to having you here again the next time you come for the Nelson Atkin's. Sincerely,