Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Poor hotel and poor service

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Check in staff gave me handicapped room twice after I requested a regular room and finally got it the third time. Breakfast was terrible and so was the coffee. Will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canandaigua, NY

Renovations. Ugh

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: Finish the reno asap
Location: everything - restaurants, shops, bookstores
Very nice hotel, great location, but it's being renovated, which made things difficult. One elevator only went half way up, then we had to wind down long hallways to another one to complete the ride and get to our room. We had a newly renovated room, which was very nice, clean and comfortable, with a view of the Plaza and the river. The top floor restaurant is a jewel with a great view of the city. Getting around the hotel was not fun because of the renovations, and I feel that they should have lowered the room rate until they're completed, or offered free meals, drinks,....something to take the edge off. It was extremely inconvenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Close to The Plaza but...

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Bathroom was filthy. Tub was moldy and room was outdated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MO

Do NOT waste your money on the InterContinental

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Outdated public toilet in the room's bathroom, broken A/C units, cleanliness of the rooms, staff's treatment of the guest.
We arrived early to KC and called to see if a room was available to check-in early. Was told over the phone that our room was ready for check-in. We were to stay in room 201. After existing the elevator, we soon discovered that our hallway was filled with glass balcony doors all along our path and construction equipment (I tripped over one of the doors trying to get my room located on the very end of the hallway). Upon unpacking and getting comfortable with the room, we noticed the bathroom was soaking wet from a deteriorating toilet seal. Called the front desk and they said they would send engineering to fix it. Walked out of the bathroom and stepped on a SCREW in the middle of the floor. Our room was covered in dust from the contraction. Not happy, I called the front desk and asked to be placed in a different room. Changed to room 417, upon which we had NO A/C during the rest of our stay. The temp in our room stayed on 76 degrees. Called the front desk and they said they were having problems and the only thing they could recommend is opening the balcony door (to the loud Plaza, let me remind you). When we checked out, I told the front desk our experience and how we came for a nice Valentine's Weekend and was completely disappointed. They had 0 empathy and said "I'm sorry that was your experience." Don't waste $200 on this hotel, stay at a nicer hotel for the same price on the Plaza. I would recommend the Raphael Hotel. It's right across the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Great location, but ran-down hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The Hotel is conveniently located across the street from the Plaza. During the Holiday season the view is spectacular. The hotel is very dated. Water pressure and hot/cold fluctuate horribly. The heater is constantly running making it uncomfortable. The staff cleaned the room and to our complete surprise left the door open.
4 out of 5
by Laura

Great location near the Plaza in Kansas City.

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were given a 7th floor room with a balcony and a beautiful view of the Christmas lights on the plaza in Kansas City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Plaza lights

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Nice people, very clean hotel
Location: Great location to the Plaza, Power/Light district, downtown Kansas City
We were fortunate to get a room overlooking the Christmas lights on the Plaza. Absolutely beautiful! As always, a very nice stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Spacious, comfortable rooms and attentive, helpful staff. Free parking in the garage.
Awesome location near the downtown marketplace. Great View from my hotel room or the whole town lit up at night. Walking distance to great restaurants, bars and shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean. The balcony with the view of the Plaza, was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels