Ratings based on 2,271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Unpleasant experience.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We have stayed in several Microtels in the past year and had great experiences at them until this one. We got there and a guy was changing rooms because his ac wasn't working. We checked in and the front desk lady told us that when we came in the side door we would have to open it from the inside becaus the card reader doesn't always work. In the hall some of the room numbers had been updated and they were smaller than the old ones so you could see multiple layers of paint on the walls. When we got in the room, the ac wasn't on and it was probably 80 in the room and muggy. The remote to the tv didn't work, the walls were real banged up with scratches, and when we wanted to go to sleep, it took us about ten minutes of looking to find out that the light switch for the light above the window was buried behind all the bed pillows in the middle of the bed. In the bathroom, the front of the sink was missing and the mirror was all scratched up. In the morning, the cleaning lady came into our room at 8:30 while we were in bed on the day of our check out and I had had to convince her, in my underwear, that we did not want our room cleaned yet. The breakfast was a bunch of prepackaged pastries from Sam's club, and not much else. The chairs in the breakfast room were all stained and the floor was dirty from previous meals. After checkout, we were looking at the outside of the building and saw that the landscaping rock was filled with dead grass and trees that didn't belong there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montana

Sucks

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Poor cleaning. Stopped up sink. Trash in halls. Breakfast not kept clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, IL

Ok Hotel, thought it would be better

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The price.
Cons: Overall presentation of the hotel. The doors and hallways look a bit cruddy
The hotel was a bit more cruddy than I thought it would be. Breakfast room was small. The room itself was rather small and you could easily hear into the room next door. The bed was comfy but the sheets and blankets could have been a little cleaner. Overall a decent place to stay if you're only staying 1 night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would NEVER go back there Again!!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: It was close to the activities we had planned
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE
The staff had terrible attitudes towards their guests!! The cleaning staff appeared to be about 10-14 years old and never cleaned our rooms even after being asked repeatedly to do so. Our son got sick one evening after we arrived and puked he did not make it to the bathroom. The hotel staff said they could not get the carpet clean....they didn't even try. I finally cleaned it up myself and the carpet looked cleaner in that spot then anywhere else in the entire room. There was a couple of band aids along the floor board of the wall by the window when we arrived and they were never picked up during our three day stay and were there when we left. We had prepaid for our room or we would have went to another hotel. The manager would not refund any of our money and as a matter of fact put an extra charge on my card because they said they could not get the carpet clean. The noise in this hotel was terrible. You could hear the other guests crying and screaming and their TV's were so loud that you could hear them over the TV in our room.One guest even was outside when we arrived and was trying to get his toddler to smoke a cigarette or something with him (SCARY)! Our Tub/shower drain was backed up when we arrived and my husband asked if the maintenance people could get it unclogged before we returned that evening...you guessed it...nothing was taken care of with that either. So NO we will NOT be staying there again, and would NOT recommend it to anyone else either!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Kansas City, Here I Come

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Spacious room. Clean and comfortable. Easy access to the freeway. Helpful and knowledgeable staff.
Cons: Television operation.
Location: Truman Presidential Museum and Library, Truman's Home, Kansas City Zoo, Negro Baseball League Museum, Jazz Museum and Zona Rosa Mall.
I checked in after 12:00 a.m. I hadn't eaten so I inquired about near by places to eat. I did not fell like going there. Staff offered me breakfast beverages.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The place needs updated and a good cleaning. Most of the chairs in the breakfeast area were all stained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phila pa

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The eating area was very dirty. Needs an overhaul. Chairs nasty area messy....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fly over country

Easy to find

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Hotel was easy to locate. Friendly staff comfortable bed.. staff was helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Room was clean and comfortable the latch was broken on the door and the TV screen was dirty or messed up not sure exactly. Vending machine on my floor was broke and they didn't have change at the front desk for a $5... The other Microtels I've stayed at are nice though, this one just had a few minor problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: the above
had to move ice box and microwave across the room so the plug would reach the outlets, and had to have staff replace battery for tv to work. not a good start