Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wasn't able to stay - hotel didn't have my room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
hotel did not receive the expedia confirmation and was unable to accommodate me upon arrival. I am very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Carpet was old and seemed grungy, in need of updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Quiet hotel next to good restaurants and close to the freeway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elkhorn, Ne

Not going back.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
My boyfriend and I wanted a nice relaxing vacation in KC. We chose oak tree because of the price and amenities. We checked in around 10 pm, the lady at the front desk was using the phone to talk to her friend and didn't even stand up at all so I had to reach to give her my ID and card. We get to our room and I always like to do a little check of the room before I drop everything. There was trash all over the floor. I call the front desk and they said okay hold on and changed our room. The 2nd room was good so I relaxed on the 2nd night of our trip we decided to check out the indoor spa only to find out it wasn't working. It wasn't filled up all the way with water and I stepped into it and it was freezing. No jets, no hot water, this was not a spa. Nor was I notified about this when I checked in. Wifi sucked, it didn't work half the time. The only good thing was breakfast in the mornings. The staff didn't keep the breakfast opened the hours it was supposed to be though. Will not come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to your needs

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We planned on staying for a few days due to a relative's surgery at KU Med Hospital, but surgery was cancelled and we only needed one night. The staff was excellent in helping us in whatever way we needed. The hotel was nice and clean even through they were renovating in some parts of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
upon arrival at 3:14 with check in being 3:00 we were told we did not have a reservation. I had my email confirmation of my reservation. I was instructed to call Expedia myself to try and clear this up. I'm not sure why I was calling because I was told they didn't have a room to accomodate us. While waiting on hold I heard the Mgr. answer a call and tell the caller "I don't think we will have any rooms available during that time". He also told the caller they are having remodeling done and are told on a day to day basis where the construction will take place. My only assumption was we got bumped because our room was being remodeled. We did get a room and by the end the staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, OK

Close to KU Med Center

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and courteous - definitely beyond what we typically experience.
Cons: The only fault we found was that our satellite remote was not programmed to control the TV.
Location: Less than one mile to the KU Medical Center. Three places to eat immediately adjacent to the hotel grounds. Easy access to/from the interstate.
Although check-in time is at 3:00pm, when we arrived about 11:00am, the front desk clerk advised that our room was ready and we could go ahead and get settled. The front desk clerk was cheerful and friendly and made us feel at ease about being in KC. We were there for my wife's testing and doctor appointment. The hotel staff was quite friendly and courteous. We really enjoyed our overnight stay with Oak Tree Inn and will be staying there again on our next overnight visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Joplin, MO

Mixed Emotion with Good Ending

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Location: I attended a local concert nearby.
The first room assigned was not completely cleaned. The second room was much better but a towel was left out, not for sure if it was used or not. The hotel staff was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best hotel to stay at

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The people at the front desk weren't friendly at all and rude when we came to check in. I knew we couldn't check in till 3:00 but we just wanted to see if our room had been clean and they were very rude about it. Could of said it in a more friendly way and not so rude. The maids and others remain that worked the breakfast were very friendly and nice, just a bad experience at the front desk. We about went to another hotel but we stuck it out bc it was only for one night. We will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Room was spacious and clean with a wide selection of TV channels via DirecTV. The king bed was very comfortable, and I was surprised to find that the room also had a pull-out queen sofa bed. Great value for the money. The only thing missing was an alarm clock.