Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Bathroom chrome shelf loose and rusted, I wiped down, not cleaning floor behind door. Door deadbolt didn't work, wouldn't shut w/opulling it.. Bed clean and slept well Pool too cold, staff nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water shower

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Carpet in hall very bad Smell in room not sure what
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, MO

Exceeded Expectations!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
After reading unfavorable reviews I was a bit hesitant to stay there but my experience was 100% positive, and I would gladly stay there again. I was greeted warmly in a clean, modern lobby, and was given a free upgrade to a king-size bed. Granted it is not a brand-new building, but the hallways were spotless and didn't smell of smoke, and the carpets had no stains. My room was perfectly clean, the A/C blew very cold air on the hottest day of the summer, and there was no noise from any of the adjacent rooms. The bed was firm and very comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate. The TV, clock, iron, radio, outlets and refrigerator all worked well. I truly have no idea why there have been bad reviews of this hotel, but it was way beyond my expectations, and a real bargain, besides. I felt completely safe in the parking lot, and the access to the highway and many restaurants was excellent. Red Roof Inn in Independence is a very good, no-frills place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

The hotel needs some renovations

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The hotel need some renovations , the showers need to be resurfaced , carpet need to be clean and the hotel need to checked for mold . The staff there is very friendly and helpful !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
One room the tub didnt drain. The other room didn't have a handle to turn the water on. Safety grab bar by tub ready to fall off wall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel sucks

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Bathroom so bad chose not to shower. Over all appearance bad. Neighborhood not good. Close to statidum.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a safe hotel for a family

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We had 4 screaming/crying kids next door for 2 hours and were terrified what was going on in the room. Notified the hotel staff that we should probably notify the police and the hotel manager insisted nothing was wrong and said "kids will be kids" and called the room right in front of us and told them the hotel was full and they needed to be quite because people were trying to sleep and hung up the phone. We went back to the room and didn't hear a word the rest of our stay. We were terrified what was going on but were reassured by the hotel manger everything was okay and that all of the kids were screaming because of "sunburns"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Papillion, NE

Close to stadium.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Friendly staff and hotel was ok for the night. The price paid I would have expected a lot more of the amenities. Broke toilet, mold above shower, sink didn't drain and no working smoke alarm in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The door to the restroom jammed when my mom went in and we couldn't open the door. She was locked in the restroom for about 15 minutes. The guy in the front said he would have the door fixed that same day and would take more towels to the room. I told him we were going to go out he said, "Don't worry I'll have the door fixed and more towels. I give you my word." We got back at midnight and the door was broken and no towels, we couldn't close the door. When I told him the next day as we were checking out he replied that it was late and they didn't want to bother us because it was disrespectful, but they would fix it later. He also said that next time we would go he would remember us...There will be no next time...Terrible!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from independence mo

Rude staff. Roaches in the room

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The staff were rude and inconsiderate the room was only halfway clean... if that!!! I found you live roaches calling on the nightstand when I moved the alarm clock. don't waste your money this place was terrible