Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect weekend stay

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Stayed at The Raphael with my daughter on Moms weekend. Our experience was wonderful. So convenient with location and valet. Comfortable and clean rooms. Great amenities such as robes and snacks. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

AWESOME 30th Anniversary Stay !!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Everything! ! Service, quality, exceptional staff, comfortable linens, soft water. Clean ! The view. Monogrammed chocolates on the bed !!
Cons: There was a small drapery corner down in the bedroom.
Location: Right on the corner of the Country Club Plaza in Kansas City. Shopping, restaurants, drove to the Harry S Truman Presidential Library.
Upon check in, our desk receptionist upgraded us to a suite with a view of the Country Club Plaza In KC just for the asking for no charge. !! The old hotel is grande with such character !! Beautifully done ! Free valet parking, just a few minutes to retreive the car when needed. Chaz, the restaurant was just down a few steps from the lobby with live entertainment. All staff very respectful & pleasing. Only drawback was that we couldn't stay longer !! :) It's part of the Autograph Collection of Hotels, and on the Historic Hotels Register. Lovely memories from our stay !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Excellent all around, location, staff, ambiance, comfort, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wichita

Spoiled Ourselves

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Stayed in comfort and style on our little mini vacation/business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location, cold shower

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping, bars, restaurants, and parks
Perfect location for walks around the Plaza area's shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and courteous. Room was ok for the price, but the shower took 15 minutes to warm up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Boutique hotel in the Plaza

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly service, complimentary valet, delicious in-room breakfast, comfortable bed
Cons: water heater was slow to heat up, faucet area of shower was not as clean as rest of room
Location: Lots of shopping and dining options in the Plaza. Easy to get Uber rides, etc. thanks to the location.
My girlfriend and I came here for a romantic Valentine's weekend. First, the staff. The employees were very helpful, including the prompt valet service on both arrival and departure. Room service was also very pleasant to interact with. We didn't need much of anything special, but what we did need was taken care of. The room itself was smaller than I imagined, but no less comfortable. Decor was tasteful but upscale, with a modern TV and coffee-maker. The inclusion of a mini-bar was also a nice plus, since we did end up using it. The bed was the highlight of the room, as it was a king with plenty of soft pillows and a soft, but not wallowing feel to the mattress. The view from our room was also nice, as we could see the hotel entrance and some of the plaza, though I expect the view would be even nicer if the room were higher up than our fourth-floor accommodations. The food we got for our in-room breakfast was excellent, and it was possibly the best I've ever had at a hotel. Even the waffle was impressive, with seemingly bespoke syrup. Everything about our stay at the Raphael was easy and refreshing. I'd highly recommend it if you're wanting to stay near the Plaza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Great Location Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel is well maintained, decorated and branded. Staff went above and beyond.
Cons: Hot water ran out by 2nd shower.
Location: Shop, Eat
We only stayed a night but were upgraded to a suite with an amazing view of the Plaza. So close to shopping and restaurants. We will be back!
3 out of 5
by CaSondra

Didn't live up to expectations.

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
We checked in after 4pm the day after Christmas. The valet staff was the best part of our experience. However, the gentleman behind the counter treated us as an imposition on his time. He greeted me with "What do you want?" When I told him I needed to check-in and change for tipping the valet, he walked off to finish what he was apparently doing when I walked into the lobby. I started to get in line behind another guest who was being helped by a young woman. He walked back to help me with a heavy sigh. The valet helped us to our room and had to call maintenance because the cover to the furnace was off and leaning on a chair. Maintenance came quickly and fixed it. The room was small and full of large pieces furniture but otherwise comfortable. The next morning there was zero hot water. Not a pleasant experience. I mentioned it to the young man at the front desk when we were checking out. He said he knew and maintenance was trying to fix it. Apparently, it went out the evening before. He took 10% off of our room cost. That was a nice gesture but it would have been better to have moved us to another room. Overall, we were disappointed with our stay. This was a hotel I had been wanting to stay at for a long time. There are many nice hotels in the area so we are not compelled to go back to The Raphael.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Alijandra made our stay super for my wifes birthday by giving us a bottle of wine and upgrading our room to a Plaza view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Staff was very helpful & friendly.