Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

always enjoy staying at the Raphael

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: above
Cons: above
Location: Plaza
We generally have always enjoyed staying at the Raphael. However this time we had a few issues: 1. Noticed the lack of parking availability. We arrived about 8:30 on a Friday and there were no open spots available to park. Drove around for about half an hour and one did open up in the covered parking. No issues the rest of the weekend but we mostly walked in the Plaza at night and did not drive. 2. Room was rather small and the courtyard was right outside our window. We have stayed on the first floor in the past (and loved the room). This time we booked on Expedia (and I wonder if that limited the available rooms as the hotel may only allot certain rooms to Expedia???). The room was rather confining and there was a courtyard that was rather loud at night just outside our window (obviously had to keep the drapes drawn at all times). Hotel staff were wonderful as always. Room service outstanding. Location is wonderful. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Overall great hotel! And great staff! I would stay here again. The only issue I had was that I could hear a baby crying from the room next door. Other than that, it was a nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

The best place to stay at the Plaza in Kansas City

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Cons: Nothing
We drove up to the hotel and immediately were treated to a concert by a quartet in front of the hotel. A warm reception from the staff, fast and professional service. Everything about his hotel is enticing including the terrific location near adjacent to the Plaza. It is unusual to have a 100% excellent experience in any hotel, but we had it here. And the rates are very competitive for this level of accommodations and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jon from L.A.

Plaza district is nice!

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay with a view of the city and located in a real nice area. A little far from downtown, but a quick cab ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jason from Bloomingon, MN

Hope

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
The Raphael has some of the best service I have seen in quite some time. The staff is absolutely amazing. In an industry that seems to be dying (service), the staff at The Raphael has give me hope that there are still establishments that do things right. Be sure to chat with Doormen John & Joe if you want an amazing Kansas City history lesson. If you are a foodie have a chat with Chef Charles. He takes great pains to source amazing ingredients. He is a gourmet, but also a competition barbeque man. Ask for the rib tips & you will be blow away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Always A Pleasure

Posted Apr 13, 2015
It had been 3 years since the last time we stayed at this hotel. Our experience then was so wonderful that instead of staying near the Downtown Art District we chose to go with what we know. And once again we were completely happy. I love this hotel, the staff, and the location. Do NOT skip eating breakfast at the restaurant on site. It is so delicious. And remember! Off street parking is free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The front desk was always nice. They made our anniversary weekend extra special. And it was a beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st.Louis

Wonderful staff

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/a
Location: Country Club Plaza is still great I haven't been there in 25 years but will return.
From valet to front desk everyone was fabulous. They had down pillows which they switch out straight away ,allergies. Chaz bar was really cool,didn't have dinner but will next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, AB

Old school hotel near good restaraunts

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The hotel has an upscale 1920's type atmosphere (but everything looks new), with great staff. The area has a number of restaraunts across the canal, and there are some decent running/walking paths across the street. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for both the location and the quality of hotel itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels