Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Return trip

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Location: Restaurant,bars,and shopping all in walking distance.
Some ocean front. We stayed in ocean view. Was still very close to ocean. Have stayed at Pono kai many times. Some units do not have AC so be sure to ask for it if you need it. If trade winds are blowing you will not need air. Nice for all ages. Have never been disappointed.Staff is very friendly and helpful. Grounds a very nice. I will stay at Pono Kai again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Beautiful beachfront sunrise

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: About a hundred yards to the beach
Cons: Instructions on how to open lock box the first time you enter your room
Location: Small town with beautiful beaches, restaurants, stores, and 4-mile bike\walking path along the the east shores of Kauai
Just everything I expected, except for the traffic going in and out of the resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, OR

NIce location for a condo

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The location of this condo rental is ideal for beachfront. Nice views and breeze from the ocean. This condo did not have air conditioning so you had to leave the windows open any time you were in the room. As there are free range chickens all over Kauai, you will hear roosters crowing early in the morning, mid morning and anytime of the day. The Pono Kai staff are okay, but when they realize you are a "renter" and not a Pono Kai guest, the attitude shifts from pleasant to just business. And you will be "encouraged " to attend an informational / promotional talk on the resort property. The introduction to the resort on Sunday and a Wednesday mornings is a great way to hear about featured activities that the concierge can set you up with. They do have some great drawings ( two for the price of one, etc.) which can make some activities affordable. The Pono Kai guest wifi is slow and often drops out altogether.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Good location if u are trying to move around the island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Great location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location and facilities. Great for kids.
Easy drive to Poipu or North Shore. Love Kapaa town, the local restaurants, especially Ono's and shops.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on CheapTickets
I like the location of the hotel. Easily access to market and restaurant. It would be nice if there is a laundry room and air conditioning in the house.
2 out of 5
by Buena

WARNING - None of these units have air.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived and found a nice size 2 bedroom condo just as expected. The problem was that the rooms were warm. When I went to adjust the air conditioner temperature, I found that the rooms were not air conditioned. There were other units at Pono Kai. I called immediately to get moved to the air conditioned unit we expected, only to find the it was after the phones were on night service. We stayed in the unit overnight. The service didn't call us back at 8am as promised. When we called them, they stated that they didn't manage any air conditioned units. On our own, we found another facility that was wonderful at the same price. The CRH management did refund all but the one night with the cleaning fee rather than the policy 50% penalty. We still felt tricked in to staying there. Let me state that the Pono Kai Resort was nice and the staff at the resort were as great, but the Hotel.com booking was through a separate management service. I would not go back through the CRH Pono Kai. WARNING - None of their units have air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Disappointed in Paradise

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The ocean view from my room was beautiful. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. Parking was plentiful. Pool area was ok.
Location: Walk to town of Kapaa.
After a 10-hour flight, I arrived to check in at the Pono Kai. I was confused when I was advised that I had to call CRH for a code to my room. I soon realized that my room reservation was not with Pono Kai as expected, but with a rental agency. Upon arrival, my room had no A/C. I called the front desk who advised me to call CRH. Any issues or requests had to go through CRH. Pono Kai was unable to assist since this was a private rental. Very frustrating. I called CRH on Saturday evening and spoke to an individual on another island (since CRH Kauai was already closed). The next day, CRH had no rooms available with A/C. I spoke to (4) Expedia agents who were unable to find me a comparable room on the island (1-bedroom with kitchen with A/C). CRH did not suggest bringing over fans. I had to keep our lanai screen door open while sleeping for the breeze and the lock on the screen door was broken so anyone could have walked in. We had no towel service, no cleaning service, and no air conditioning for the 9 days. It was expected that I wash our towels in a coin operated laundry at the end of the hall used by all in the building. Had I known this before our stay, we would have stayed elsewhere. For the price we paid, we could have stayed in a much nicer place with housekeeping services, clean towels, and A/C. The hotel staff that we encountered were not very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nice grounds - nice beach behind it.
Cons: If they are going to manage other units those units should be treated EXACTLY the same as their own units.
If I had actually stayed at Pono Kai this might be different - but we were a victim of Expedia's new Bait and Switch - we stayed in a condo unit at the end of Pono Kai, managed by Pono Kai, but not part of Pono Kai. Something, we were not informed about before hand. We had to call a special # for check-in, or if we wanted towels, or if we wanted the terrible air conditioner fixed - it never, ever cooled the bedroom. No laundry facilities in the room - had to pay to use very poor laundry facilities in a small cubbyhole down the path. In addition, as it is a private unit - bottom floor - it was really, really noisy - apparently the upper floors had no carpeting. We heard loud footsteps, moving furniture, arguments, etc. almost every night. Not one good nights sleep the whole time.