Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Staff not available, dirt road the last 3 or so mi

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We did decided not to stay in this hotel because all the rooms were empty and the recepcionist was getting ready to leave around 6 pm and dogs were on the loose. Overall not a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A real getaway.

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
The Hawaii Retreat is just like the name suggests. It is a quiet, wonderful hideaway where you can relax and enjoy the comforts of warm weather, ocean waves, lush vegetation, and luxurious surroundings. The surround area has family run restaurants and boutiques in the small villages along the coast. We loved being away from the glitzy resorts and commercialized regions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city.

Amazing find. Very relaxing.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
We stayed in a yurt. Clean. No tv or other distractions. Wonderful pool, 50 acre exploration, awesome food. Staying in a yurt is a fun experience.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by tapbirds from San Francisco

Best Kept Secret?

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
A truly wonderful stay - the accommodations (Violet Room), the food (Mo and Rebekah are fantastic chefs!), the staff, and the grounds were all superb! My only regret is that we didn't have more time to rest and explore the beautiful grounds.
5 out of 5
by B & G from Seattle

Loved Being Off The Grid

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels
Hard to imagine a place more lovely that generates it's own electricity! The facilities are top notch. We stayed in one of the yurts but did get to see one of the exquisite hotel rooms. (Next time we'll stay in one - balcony facing the ocean! ) The yurt experience was mighty fine. King size bed, shower room not 10 feet away. Pool & hot tub just down the path. If you're looking for snobby around the clock room service, this is not the place for you. If you want to be left alone in a fabulous slice of paradise - this is it! The staff is lovely - especially Rebecca, who served up a gorgeous dinner and breakfast. And, the north end of the Big Island is lovely. Turn off your phones and disconnect. Connect to you!
5 out of 5
by Kathy

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels
Wonderful, wonderful,wonderful.....so very relaxing. Beautiful setting, We will be back. Have recommended it to many of our friends,.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Worst hotel ever

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: That fact that we left the hotel in advance
Cons: should be closed
Place different from the pictures on the web site. 10 min driving in the jungle to reach the place, no signals. Hosted in a TENT, no room shower, no hot water, dirty room, gym dirty with birds excrements. Poor breakfast (additional 25$ per person), no orange juice, no eggs, flying insects on the food. Worm in the shared shower ..... We booked 3 nights, after 1 night we left asked for reimbursement, hotel refused claiming that is expedia problem. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Judy Rogers, Hotel Management
Aloha Antonio, Typically, we find posts helpful even when they're not complimentary. They're a way for us to see ourselves from the guest's perspective and we use them to make improvements. In this instance, we hesitated responding because we didn't know where to begin. Your feedback is so without merit that anything we could say would be pointless. We hope your way of experiencing life shifts so that you're able to see the beauty that's in front of you. Mahalo, Guest Services Hawaii Island Retreat
2 out of 5
by Christel et Didier from France

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels
L'hôtel est très retiré, son accès est difficile. La piscine est loin des chambres. Les horaires du breakfeast restent aléatoires et au bon vouloir de la gérante. Si les chambres sont confortables, l'hôtel reste bien loin de l'image qu'ilveut donner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Insel der Ruhe und Entspannung

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels
Es war der perfekte Abschluss eines abwechslungsreichen Urlaubs auf Big Island und Maui. Seele baumeln lassen und geniessen. Ausgesprochen freundliches und zuvorkommendes Personal, excellentes Frühstück. Ein Platz wie wir ihn gesucht hatten, aber nie geglaubt hätten ihn auf Hawaii zu finden.