Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Tropical setting

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Took our grandkids. Their first trip to Hawaii. They loved everything. But I felt it was overpriced; unless they were to provide free self laundry services, a heated pool (the ocean was warmer than the pool), umbrellas for the beach, bigger dresser with more storage for 4 people, regular kitchen table with 4 chairs instead of 1 huge round table and 2 big cloth accent chairs, indoor throw rugs to wipe your feet on before going to bed, more side tables (ie., more counter space), and better roach control. Then maybe it would be worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Quaint, quiet. Perfect for middle to older aged couples. Great beach location. Continental breakfast with fresh fruit was consistently excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake VA

Room close to beach.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Small hotel, simple clean rooms. The gardens are beautiful! Steps to beach.
Cons: Appeared that returning guests got better room locations. As a first time guest, would ask for more consideration of my concern.
Location: Right on Napili Beach, close to a few nice dining restaurants and specialty shops.
Tiny resort located on lovely secluded Napili Bay beach! Room booked was "ocean view" but due to patio foliage and room position we could not see ocean from room or patio. When addressed at front desk the response was "all our rooms are ocean view". Disappointed but not worth haggling to spoil a few days in paradise after several long flights to travel 5 time zones.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

BEautiful place on Napili Bay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: location and the grounds
Cons: a/c, tv
Location: close to Kapalua amd Lahaina
The grounds are gorgeous, the room is spacious, There is no a/c, and when it is wondy, and when you need privacy and close the shades, the wind causes them to blow around and cause a lot of noise. The breakfast they offer for free in the moring in godd!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

A hidden gem on a great bay!!,

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The beautiful gardens.
Cons: Friendlier service staff
Location: Location is on a quiet bay but a short drive to all you need!!,
Very relaxed old Hawaii feeling like it much better than the big mega resorts the Mauian Is Hawaii as it should be!!the
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Not very boutique

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: AC and more secure rooms.
Was looking forward to checking out West Maui on our last night in Hawaii. This hotel is labeled as a boutique hotel but it was much closer to a motel experience. There was no AC, which I would assume is standard in all Hawaii hotels. There was a funky smell in our room when we checked in but no other rooms were available. We were unable to get beach chairs because a large group of 20 people had "reserved" them all even though half the party wasn't using them. The pool closed at 8:30 pm which was a huge disappointment. In order to leave the windows open and get some air in your room you were basically leaving your room open for someone to see everything inside, especially on the ground floor. With no AC you had to leave the windows open at night and were woken up in the morning by people moving about the grounds. On the bright side, the beach was lovely and we were able to check out late since it was our last day on the island and had some extra time to enjoy the beach.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Regina

enjoyable

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
We found the Mauian a nice place for our get-together. It has everything you need, (pool,bbq's, nice beach,wifi , continental breakfast) but, not air-conditioning, tv or room service. Restaurants are close by. I enjoyed the low key, relaxing atmosphere. You are within 45 minutes of airport and within an hour to most of the paying activities.
5 out of 5
by Alejandro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel with Hawaiian spirit

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: room, balcony, spirit, breakfast
Cons: Wi-Fi
We lliked the hotel overall. The biggest issue is that there is basically no wi-fi unless you are willing to walk to the office. The carrier signal is very weak as well. It's a bit annoying if you are relying on internet for something. The breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruits options. There is no AC in the room but I have had no issue with it because there is always a good breeze coming through the balcony.