Ratings based on 1,708 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and attentive team

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The staff at the Ritz was amazing - especially the bellman staff. The all knew who we were as soon as we walked up. They always asked us how our day was and what we were planning to do. They always tried to offer assistance and directions on our plans too. The Ritz team really made our stay so special. We will definitely be coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely appreciate your kinds words about our Ladies and Gentlemen - specifically the bellmen. We agree, they are truly stars and provide excellent, genuine service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

The Ritz Carlton Kapalua

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: There are far too many things to list but it's the Ritz Carlton and that in itself should say it all.
Cons: The only negative thing that happened was the refrigerator in our room stopped working and some items went bad but it was properly addressed by the st
Location: There are so many things to do nearby. Zip-Lines, Snorkeling, Sunset Cruises on a Catamaran, Whale Watching and shopping.
The Ritz Carlton absolutely lived up to and exceeded any expectations that my Wife and I had before arrival. The Room, The Grounds and the Staff were all AMAZING. They really rollout the "Red Carpet" for you and you always feel as if your stay is truly Appreciated but the entire staff. We are already looking forward to our next visit...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Norm and mahalo for sharing such a glowing review of our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay along with the world-class service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location in a unique part of the Maui

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The hotel has exquisite landscape grounds, beautiful architecture and the accommodations are great. The staff is very warm at all levels. The swimming pool design and set-up is also nice and the pool staff is very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for sharing such a glowing five-star review of our resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel grounds, architecture, pool and accommodations. Mahalo for your kind words about our Ladies and Gentlemen and the genuine service they provide. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and will be sure to share this with our Ladies and Gentlemen. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room and great staff.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Restaurants has great food! Staff is friendly and the rooms are clean! You don’t have to leave the resort everything you need is a step or a call away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua , Hotel Management
Mahalo for sharing your experience! We are delighted that you had a memorable stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Fantastic hotel in secluded location,

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Enjoyed our 20th anniversary at the Ritz tremendously. The staffmade us feel very special and the hotel was immaculate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Congratulations on your 20th anniversary and mahalo for choosing to celebrate it with us! We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very private. A good time of year to visit.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Impeccable service. I felt special. Nice grounds. Amazing beach. Wonderful food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Annie and mahalo for your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel grounds, beach, food and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We will be sure to share your compliments with them and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel with wonderful views

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: the breakfast. the view.
The buffet breakfast included in my package was fantastic. The food was good and fresh. I had a wonderful server named Amy who was very attentive and friendly. She really stood out from the other waiters we had. I want to mention another staff member, Lisa out at the pool. She was very quick to assist w/ setting up the chairs with towels. Although there was a slight trek to the sitting area by the beach, the view was great along the way. It was so serene. I would definitely go back if in Maui again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha PC and mahalo for such a glowing review of our resort! We sincerely appreciate you mentioning Lisa and Amy and agree that they are truly shining stars of our resort. We will ensure they are recognized for their efforts to make your stay even more memorable. Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Maui.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spartanburg, SC

First vs Second impressions not the same

Posted Sep 26, 2017
First impression: Clean quiet room w/ nice furniture deluxe ocean view with king bed & patio. View was of pools full view; ocean was blocked by 3-4 palm trees. Only ocean view by standing at the patio door, bending over & twisting head to side. I was disappointed. I was tired; came from the East Coast so I took a nap. Did initial Expedia review & gave them a good review despite the limited open view. My hotel room did not stay quiet and peaceful. I started hearing talking in the hallway & the sound of running water or someone washing up in the sink. It sounded like there was no insulation in the wall b/w the rooms or may be the pipes were right up against my wall. The hotel was under construction so I had to take indirect route get to my room. 3rd day, I asked for room change. They did not have a Deluxe ocean view room so I accepted a deluxe w/ 2 queen beds. I wanted a quieter room with an actual ocean view. A staff member showed me to room 2251 w/ better view of the ocean. I was elated and agreed to the room change. The bellman took me to room 2245 instead. The view was not as good. The staff kept insisting that was the room even though there was a welcome note addressed to someone else on the table. I got tired of arguing. Valet and rest of staff very helpful with Aloha spirit. I had lots of activities planned in Maui and made the best of it. Resort should be fine after Reno done. Stop by Aiana and bar for light fare menu. Spa massage and facial great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Donna-Marie and mahalo for your sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with your room. We can assure you that is not typical of our resort and will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate teams. Thank you again and we hope you will consider us again for a future visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
beautiful hotel, clean room, friendly staff, access to nice and private beach and pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for sharing your experience with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wait until they are done remodeling

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Overall we had a great week, however two things.....my husband cut his foot in the shower which made is less comfortable to get in it , and second, the construction they are doing was right above our room which was very unpleasing. After telling them, they still wouldn't move our room. Annoyed....good points? The lanscaping and bell staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Julia and mahalo for sharing your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about the shower and that our room decor enhancements had a negative impact on your stay. That is certainly never our intention and we will be sure to share your feedback with appropriate teams. Thank you again and we hope you will consider us again for a future visit.