Ratings based on 1,707 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Outstanding hotel in an outstanding location

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Location , tropical grounds and pools , and a fantastic staff
Cons: Regular daily maintenance . Prices . Lots of guests are shocked with pricing on all of Maui . It is very expensive. Research and do your homework.
Location: Covered it above . This is the ideal location on Maui for my needs .
I enjoyed my 1 week stay at the Ritz. Well designed pleasant hotel with nice a wonderful staff . I have read several reviews of this property and most opinions are very positive . However there are some complaints which are generally about cosmetic maintenance problems . Overall the hotel shines and is well maintained , and the landscaping is gorgeous , as are the swimming pools . There are minor maintenance issues that should be attended to immediately and more often . But overall this is a well managed gorgeous hotel . The staff really shine here. From the valets who greet you each day , and know your name ! , to the friendly front desk people , to the fantastic concierges, to the maid and cleaning employees , the pool attendees , and restaurant waiters and waitresses and bussers ....everyone is friendly and creates a very welcoming and pleasant mood for the guests . The location is perfect for me . At the top of the island in a quiet beautiful location . It is only 15 min away from kaanapali if you need more shopping or action . It is connected to a great public beach at which the Ritz maintains a great Burger Shack where you can get good food and cocktails . Xlnt. Great neighborhood and surroundings, with a great coastal trail to walk to Merrimans , and have the free shuttle pick you up and haul you back to the Ritz . Perfect . They also have 3 restaurants on the property that cover the bases well . And several other nice restaurants are within 5-10 min.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. It is wonderful to read that you experienced nothing but the best in terms of service and enjoyed our location, beach and restaurants during your time with us. It was a pleasure to provide you with a memorable and relaxing getaway, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Disappointed in Paradise

Posted Dec 13, 2017
I requested and paid ($$$$) for an Oceanview room. My view was looking across to the other side of the building at more rooms. When I complained the staff moved me down a floor, closer towards the beach....to a room w/a “peak” of the ocean if u stand in the left corner of the room looking towards the ocean. The staff is excellent, the rooms are nice. The suite was clean & well cared for. The kitchen sink plugged up, (did not cook anything), the lights in the bathroom kept dimming, then would brighten, there were some other things, u get the idea....i
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleburne, Texas

Paradise Hotel on the Pacific Ocean

Posted Dec 10, 2017
We were on our honeymoon as we arrived at the Ritz in Maui. We were greeted warmly by the staff and you could tell by the smiles and warmth that we chose well. The hotel was breathtaking and the everyone was so genuwine! The staff got to know us and made sure our honeymoon was special. We received complimentary champagne and nightly turn down bed service. The room was so beautiful with the ocean view we didn't want to go out. To wake up with such beauty all around I didn't want to come home. When we left I was emotional due to the send off we received. The also left a flower and a note in the car that said we arrived as guests but we leave as family! I was so touched because I actually felt like I was leaving family behind. This hotel was an experience we will always remember!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us and taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are honored to learn that you have such a connection to our resort and our Ladies and Gentlemen. On behalf of our exceptional team, we look forward to your next visit and hope it will be in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Great location. Less crowded and attentive staff.
Excellent staff. Very courteous. Upgraded my room to a one bed room suite. Nice and clean facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A PLEASANT WAY TO UNWIND!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Classic Ritz Experience - Upscale décor (especially Christmas Decorations), great staff and wonderful Room and facilities. No-Brainer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review and recommendation of our resort! We are delighted you enjoyed the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen as well as your room and the hotel facilities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ritz

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Hotel was fine overall. Food is average. I expected better from the ritz. It’s really windy because it sits on top of a hill. Overall ritz was good not great. If I ever went backup Maui I’d probably try a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We certainly strive to provide a luxury experience and world-class service for our guests and I apologize if you experienced anything less. We hope you will consider us again for a future visit so that we may have another opportunity to show you the luxury, Ritz-Carlton experience for which we are known.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nigeria

Incredible Grounds

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Great staff, a bit tired facilities, incredible piece of property. The weather didn’t cooperate with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua , Hotel Management
Aloha Ken and mahalo for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted the enjoyed the property location, but were sorry to hear the weather had negative impact on your stay. Many thanks for your kind words about our Ladies and Gentlemen - we will be sure to share you compliments with them! Thank you again and we hope you will consider us again for a future visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice Hotel near the beach. Awesome pool and beach.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Clearness, Staff and services
Cons: N/A
Location: Location was the drawback. It was a bit far from downtown and other places.
We had a great time at Ritz Carlton. Nice pool with awesome drinks options. It was a bit far from Main downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Ron and mahalo for sharing your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Everything was excellent! Very courteous staff and amazing food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to share you review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel along with the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We are appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Great hotel and amenities

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Our only complaint was the exorbitant pricing for simple meals, such as a hamburger. There were very few places to eat or buy necessities within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Sherrie and mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kapalua in the near future.