Ratings based on 1,823 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Excellent accommodation and very nice facilities

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I stayed at the Ritz Carlton with my wife and 2 daughters who all enjoyed it very much. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is visiting Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bergen, NJ near NYC

Dream Vacation

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: The property location, the comprehensiveness of the services, including free laundry services (self operated), the restaurants, staff helpfulness.
Location: While the scenic beauty of the location was a visual treat, the presence of tennis courts (2) and availability of playing equipment was a bonus.
This was a dream vacation for my family and me in a an absolutely beautiful location. The hotel was perfect: in terms of comfort, luxury, services, and staff responsiveness
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Sumantra and mahalo for your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to beautiful Kapalua in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Luxury resort feel. Awesome accommodations!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is excellent. We were able to walk to several beaches and drive around the entire island. We didn't need to use the transportation.
This was by far the best vacation I've ever experienced! The staff, the management, the concierges, the dining (especially breakfast) were amazing. We had to be disciplined to go out and explore the island, otherwise we would have stayed on the resort property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Len and mahalo for such a glowing review! We absolutely love reading comments like these and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Awesome!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
They knocked the ball out the court. Service is well beyond expectations. They located, picked up and delivered kids' Tylenol in 7 minutes at 2:00am in the morning. Needless to say, facilities, food, activities and excursions were great. We are going again next year for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Emre and mahalo for your five star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen and will be sure to share your compliments with them. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Kapalua in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Fun, luxurious stay

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Concierge, staff, location, facilities, access to beach, pool, grounds. Quiet and private. Access to ABC store nearby (Kahalua Store)
Cons: More attention to detail - when 4 in a room, serve 4 place settings in room service, not 3. Prices in Ritz restaurants need to be lower.
Location: Visit the labyrinth just past the golf course. Excellent views. Go to Royal Lahaina for Luau. Eat at Hula Grill Whalers Village n visit Front Street
The Ritz lived up to its reputation. Check in staff were excellent though out of my party of 4, one of us did not receive the traditional lei welcome and drink because we did not all walk in together. But I'd expect Ritz to be perfect in every way. We got an ocean front room which was just spectacular! A dream to wake up and step outside on the lanai (balcony) and take in nothing but the ocean. We didn't want twice a day room service but we noticed that the soap bars were not refilled as often as the the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were. Not sure why. I had to ask for it. Secondly, when we ordered for room service, we received only 3 place settings instead of 4. Again not sure why. Again, had to call for the additional one. Access to facilities such as the pool, gym were great. Easy walk to the beach. Quiet and private. They provide excellent concierge services for those interested in local tours/activities. They have a luau lesson only on Tuesdays at 10 am. The lesson itself was fun but I felt bad for so many kids that probably arrived on a Wednesday or weekend and don't get to partake in this. They need to do this at least 2-3 times a week. Once a day for a 5-10 minute lesson is really a teaser. We tried the breakfast buffet once - not worth the price - just too expensive and not Michelin star quality food, so why pay so much of a premium? To avoid starving visit the coffee shop on property n Kahalua store nearby.Overall, good place to stay if you can afford it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Magz and mahalo for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your experience - both what you enjoyed and the areas you felt could be improved. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will be sure to take it into consideration as we are always looking for ways to innovate and improve the guest experience. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Kapalua.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA.

Better for the Mature Traveler: I

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Great Breakfast/Brunch every morning:: Eggs Benedict, bacon, fruit, waffles, pastries,etc. Very quiet & relaxing pool areas. Nicely appointed rooms.
Location: See above.
The Ritz is an 'Old School' destination. It's at the very top of the island which means it has the advantage of being secluded, but the disadvantage of being far away from much activity. It's great for someone who wants to stay near the hotel, lounge at the pool, and eat at nearby restaurants. But if you have kids, it may be too staid for their taste. Our kids (13 and 14) definitely wanted to get out and see the island. They wanted to go to more active areas like Kihei, but it was quite a hike to get there. We did go to Lahaina which is much closer, but it is a fairly short street with fewer things to do. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the breakfast buffet, pool and guest room. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider us again for a future visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Older Ritz

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Nice stay. A bit dated. Nice surrounding areas. Dining a bit pricey for what it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share review. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the surrounding areas. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Kapalua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice hotel with great service

Posted Jul 31, 2017
We had a pleasant stay at the Ritz. We enjoyed the hotel and amenities. The service was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Shelley and mahalo for sharing your five star review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Kapalua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Exceptional service and such friendly staff! We enjoyed our stay very much. They try their best to make every guest feel special with a welcome fruit basket or cupcakes/champagne delivered to your room for whatever the occasion is. We only wished the beach was a bit closer and less windy the entire time we were there, but that has nothing to do with the resort. Highly recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Hillary and mahalo for your five star review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Beachfront hotel with an amazing staff

Posted Jul 25, 2017
The room was kind of outdated for a five-star hotel, but the hotel staffs were very helpful and they did everything they could to help us have a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review. We appreciate your kind words about our Ladies and Gentlemen and will be sure to share your compliments with them. Thank you for your feedback regarding our guest rooms. We are pleased to let you know that we will be unveiling all new decor in our guest room and hope you will consider us for a future visit so that you may experience the new Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua. Mahalo!