Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolut in Ordnung

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Bis auf die sehr kleine Dusche ist alles gut. Sauber.
5 out of 5
by stephanie from Whakatane

comfy wee haven after a long trip

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
really easy to find, right on main road. Manager very friendly and quick to get us into accommodation. Proper bottle of milk!!! Movie channels, warm quiet room, and good close parking. Would definitely recommend it to others and will go back ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kapiti Gateway Motel again soon.
3 out of 5
by Elisabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stop over accommodation

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good for a night - no issues
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Thank you - we are pleased your found your over night stay comfortable and convenient. Our easy-to-find location 1 hour north of the ferry terminal makes us ideal for travellers. Our modernised well-equipped rooms also cater for those who wish to stay longer to enjoy Kapiti and Wellington city. We hope to have you back to stay again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Clean, comfortable and quiet

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location was simply superb, very central to everything on the Kapiti Coast.
Cons: Fly screens installed on the windows would bright comfort up to a 5/5. Having the windows open was lovely, but mosquitoes at night was not.
Location: Walking distance to the beach, day- and over-night tours to Kapiti Island operate from the nearby boat club, very central to Raumati Beach area.
Room was clean when I got there, windows were open, letting in a beautiful salt breeze. The bed was comfortable and well sized, with freshly laundered linens, and extra blankets for if it was cold, as well as an electric blanket on the bed for winter nights. A wall-to-wall desk meant I could charge my devices without having to put them on the floor, and bedside tables were the right height and size for the bed, with working lamps. Bathroom was clean, with separate shower, and very neat. The room was small, but not pokey, and was a very enjoyable environment to spend time in when I wasn't with my family, or on the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful, and very knowledgeable about the local area. Free Wi-Fi was also a fantastic bonus, and the connection was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Viv and Russell, Hotel Management
Thank you Juliana, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Waikanae has bushy hills on one side, and the beach on the other - which is what makes it such a special place. But yes we agree the mosies on a warm night are rather annoying. In our guest information we urge guests keep windows closed at night during summer, use the fan provided, and ask for more fans if required. We are delighted you enjoyed our clean accommodation - we put a huge emphasis on this on a daily basis. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Manchester UK

Overnight stay

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Only stayed in this motel overnight as it was on our way to catch the ferry from Wellington. The motel is very clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD AU

Good price, close to train and bus station

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Brilliant staff who are easy to talk to happy to help. Room very neat and tidy, bed comfortable. Microwave, oven and stove in room was an added bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Viv and Russell, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great feed back. It means such a lot to us that you had a comfortable pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you at Kapiti Gateway Motel again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice to have plenty of room

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Wotif
Great people, good facility, close to where I needed to be. Nice to have room for two chairs and a table.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2015 by Viv and Russell, Hotel Management
Thank you - we are delighted you found Kapiti Gateway Motel Waikanae comfortable and convenient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very pleasant hotel.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: i liked the view of the hills.
Cons: cleaner bathroom
Location: great Art gallery. (Mahara Gallery)
great stay and friendly helpful staff. Good view from the window. Nice to have fridge and microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2015 by Viv and Russell, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed our great views...and we agree Mahara Art Gallery is something special...did you find the Artel Gallery/Shop also? Located close to Mahara and full of gorgeous NZ stuff all produced locally...some truly beautiful things there. At Kapiti Gateway Motel we pride ourselves on being extremely clean...in fact we aim to be right up there among the cleanest accommodation business in NZ!...so your note has been taken seriously and our cleaning processes in bathrooms particularly are under close review. We can assure you this will not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotorua. New Zealand

Family event in Waikanae.

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The room, the staff, the food, the facilities, in essence everything.
Cons: Maybe a handrail for getting in and out of the bath. There were rails for using the shower part but not the bath.
Location: Waikanae. There was a Farmers Market, shops, Kapiti Candies, Kapiti Cheeses, Prenzel Shop, The beach close by, Eating places, and OP Shops.
We decided to stay locally when visiting a new born baby into our family. I was very pleased with the standard of cleanliness in our unit. The unit was spacious for the 3 of us and we did not feel crowded at all. I also loved the big bath and had a good soak one night. We stayed for 2 nights. The staff went above and beyond what I had expected. They assisted with local places to visit, maps, information, all with a smile. I enjoyed the cooked breakfasts as well. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble when we asked the staff anything . I would highly recommend this motel to others. I am definitely going to be using them again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2015 by Viv and Russell, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kapiti Gateway Motel Waikanae. We appreciate your suggestion re the lower handrail - as the shower is over the bath we hoped the existing handrail would provide enough support, but will certainly look in to it further now.