Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff was so friendly

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Receptionist was o amazing, she switched off outside lights so we could see aurora from foyer without having to go out in cold. Restaurant converted burger to vegetarian with greta flair. Full marks. Love to go back again and stay longer. Great bus stop right in car park of hotel with connection to Alta/ Honnisvage and whole of Finaland lapland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very clean. The only down side is that The temperature was -23 celcius during our stay, however the windows cannot be closed firmly and the heater is not functioning well. We had to wear a lot of clothes in our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the town

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Unexpected stay due to flight cancellation. Pretty relaxing with complete facilities in a small town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stressful and unsafe for sole women

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a room with shared bathroom. I arrived at 7.15pm. The receptionist told me my room was in the guest house 200m down a dark tree lined track with no lighting. I was given no torch or clear directions to find the room in a group of unlit buildings. I have night blindness. When I expressed my safety concerns, pressure was applied to upgrade. I paid $285 AUD for two nights - it was over my budget. My request to not lift my case up stairs was ignored. I insisted and the receptionist did take it to my room. My room was not near any other hotel building or safety. It smelt strongly of mice. The heater didn't work the first very cold night. In the morning, I asked the receptionist about using the self-help washing facilities. She checked with the housekeeper and I was given permission to use the washer and dryer. A man came and unpleasantly demanded to know if I had asked reception. He didn't introduce himself. He was the manager. I expressed my dissatisfaction with my accommodation. He denied there was a mice smell but not that there was a smell. I tried to explain I was stressed by the situation. The manager angrily stormed off. After the manager left, he sent the receptionist to say I couldn't stay in the laundry and she had to lock the door. I pointed to the washer. It had one minute to finish. I still needed to use the drier. I refused to leave the laundry. They repeatedly asked me to upgrade my room at a further cost of $76. I refused to spend more money there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very sami atmosphere!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
There is no lift at this hotel which is very inconvenient when one travels With lots of luggage! Dark rooms in the basement.
2 out of 5
by Titsuda from Bangkok Thailand

Disappointing Scandic Karasjok

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
we booked economy room but it is guesthouse which is old and far from main building and look old. Washroom is out of order and luckyly there is another room then we canuse otherwise have to go to downstair . In summary I don't like the room.
4 out of 5
by Morag from Wrexham

Overall good but staff training could be improved.

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very nice Sami themed hotel. Room was good as was breakfast which included local delicacies. The restaurant is also a good experience but not sure I would want to eat there every night (we only stayed 1 night) One downside was that although our room card said that we would get 20% discount at the weekend on food etc as a Scandic member we did not get it because we did not show our card when we went into the restaurant and nobody had told us we had to and the room card did not mention it. We were told when checking out that we should have been asked for our scandic card but we were not and they were not willing to rectify the error when checking out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thank you

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place, helpfull staff, good facility
4 out of 5
by Belinda from Drouin

Convenient location

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
We caught the bus to Karasjok and it was a pleasant surprise that the busses drop off and pick up from this hotel. Room was clean, spacious with a comfortable bed. Wifi worked well and breakfast included all the usual options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
good breakfast, variety of food. Staff are helpful