Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to remarkable rocks

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Great hotel very close to remarkable rocks. I recommend going to the complimentary nocturnal bush walk with Nature (great nickname as he loves nature and talks about animals and plants with a true passion). It’s not the newest hotel but it was relatively well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing, but make sure you have a car

Posted Dec 19, 2017
This resort is an hour from the main town of Kingscoat, with no public transportation. The resort has resident wallabies, a Koala and a possum. You are adjacent to the Flanders Chase national park, but it’s a half hour drive. The location is great, just make sure you have a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Close to wildlife and nature

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: The setting. The bed linen was very high quality. The room was very good.
Cons: WiFi access to bedrooms. Public areas a bit 'tired. Improved greeting on first arrival.
Location: Flinders Chase - superbly signposted walks, informative staff and wildlife in abundance. Hudson Bay Wildlife Centre - lots of koaLas and other wildlif
Fantastic location near Flinders Chase and other wildlife centres. Good room, we had a Courtyard Suite. It was spacious, the bed was comfortable and huge, the bed linen was superb, it was well equipped and the shower was very good. Having experienced superb customer service elsewhere in Australian, I felt the service from reception staff (except when we checked out) was lacking a bit of warmth. Staff in the restaurant were very good. The food was fine but not exceptional. It was lovely to see the wallabies in the courtyard at sunset. We felt the public areas needed a bit of updating and there was no WiFi in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Fantastic place!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
What a superb find, right in the middle of the wilderness! As the name suggests lol So clean and friendly Great restaurant fir a chance where normally when your choice limited they don't care! Wildlife every night stayed, wallabies and possum
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big luxurious room, delicious food

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Cons: We got a bath suite but there was no bath drain cover. Also, Internet is very slow.
Location: It was very close to the Hanson bay wildlife sanctuary as well as the national park.
We got the bath suite and the room was very large with comfortable bed, and a very nice bathroom with lots of hot water, a new bath (for one) and a small stand up shower. The food at the restaurant on site was expensive but some of the best meals we had our whole trip. I loved being able to walk around the retreat and see the wallabies in the wild. We went top the sanctuary up the road to see koalas and kangaroo's but we're told that there were some on the retreat also if we walked along the paths.
4 out of 5
by Joy

Good base for two days

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Good base for the area. Accommodation basic but comfortable. Menu at the restaurant was just adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
The Wilderness Retreat was perfect for our visit to the National Park. Wish we could have stayed for another night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable accommodation wirh good restaurant.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay in a bath equiped courtyard room. The hotel is a base for exploring western Kangaroo Island, so expect remoteness. The hotel met our expectations ab d we enjoyed walking the bush trails laid out, although these were done in a single evening, so a few more would be appreciated. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant evening meals great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels