Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Bad experience saved by management

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Having stayed at Caribbea Bay 30 years ago I had very high expectations and should not have been disappointed when the hotel did not live up to my expectations as it is now 30 years older, with little maintenance undertaken. We were booked into a standard room and were dismayed to find the curtains hanging haphazardly, bath and bathroom walls covered in mildew and roofs on the adjoining units missing and our view obscured by a run down block with stains and leaking gutters. Walking through the hotel we noticed that most of the building were in a similar state of disrepair, the second pool was not working and the "beach"had been washed away. We did not wish to raise these issues, but after persistence by Maureen (F & B Manageress) we discussed the matter with the GM - Amanda Matema - and what a fantastic lady. She conceded the hotel's weaknesses and confirmed that they were busy with upgrades, were repairing the pool and the beach had been washed away 3 days previously in a serious storm. Whilst she could not refund any monies, she did arrange for an upgrade to a Villa and what a difference and this saved our holiday as the room was spacious, well maintained and had a fantastic view. I highly rate the professionalism of the staff but would not recommend the standard rooms until the renovations and upgrades are complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Although renovations were being carried out at the hotel (which we didn't know until we arrived) there was very minimal noise and staff were very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harare

Good place for a short break

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Combination of heat and pool/water slide. Great selection of food. Nice rooms. Considerate staff.
Cons: Open up the second pool. Some issues with the room phone. Staff is considerate, but sometime took time to take action.
Location: There's lots to do...Game drive (there's even a chance of seeing wildlife around the resort), boats, swimming, water slides.
Very hot area, but the pool and the water slide make it an enjoyable experience. It would have been better if they opened up the second pool (to reduce the number of people in the one pool). The staff is great and very accommodating, with the restaurant offering a really great selection of food. My wife and I spend 4 nights there and we enjoyed it. It was a very relaxing experience which would recommend to anyone looking for a break from the usual.
4 out of 5
by Room 9 from Harare

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels
The best view but the hotel needs tlc and good management all round
2 out of 5
by Grant Roest from Pretoria

Shocking food

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels
I think that the overall stay was fine but not a place that we would like to spend more than 1 night at the food and drinks were very over priced and it was a battle to get hot water in the rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Harold Wilson

Can't imagine anything better in Victoria Falls

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels
The room was good. The service great. The setting ideal. Made our stay in Vic falls all the better. Can really recommend the place
5 out of 5
by Dominique from French

Très bel hôtel au bord du lac Kariba

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels
D’architecture exotique, très bel hôtel en bordure de lac, cadre magnifique : c’est superbe. Le personnel est très aimable, disponible et de service. Le petit déjeuner est moyen et les repas à la carte sont correctes pour 40 USD. Dans l’hôtel, une agence tour operator très bien avec 2 heures dans le bush pour voir les gros animaux d’Afrique de près pour 45 USD par personne : à faire absolument et cette agence propose aussi un transport par taxi à 250 USD entre Kariba et Harare. Voir également le petit marché artisanal typique sur la plage de l’hôtel. En résumé, c’est un Hôtel que je recommande.