Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Attila from London

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels
Do not be fooled into going to this hotel. I had to check into another hotel after seeing it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beggers can't be choosers...

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Look elsewhere, but if the town is full, as at Festival time, beggars can't be choosers... Let's get this clear, the Hotel Esplanade is part of a group of five Hotels in KV, The Mozart, Esplanades 1, and 2, The Elefant, and the main Hotel Jesssenius. So when you arrive at the door, you see a sign redirecting you 100 metres to the aforementioned Jessenius to check in and collect your key. So far so rather annoying but there we are. The room we had during the Film Festival, was one of the last available in KV, and so quite expensive at £100.00, and although small and decorated in a style reminiscent of a British Midlands commercial hotel circa 1980, it was clean, and the shower room was satisfactory. There was an old CRT TV that didn’t work very well, a fridge that seemed never to have worked at all, but the sheets were pristine, and the beds, two singles pushed together were firm. Breakfast was up the road at the Jessenius, and was a good sized buffet, served in a pleasant room on the first floor. The staff were polite and quite helpful. There is a small adjacent lounge with a weighing machine...and a pool table, oh and a grand piano.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linköping

Worst hotel ever

Posted Aug 5, 2009 on Hotels
When we arrived to the hotel the hotel staff said that "Esplanade is fully boked", after like 3 minutes she finally gave us a room at Esplanade after threatening with contacting Hotels.com customer service. The room had a nice view, even with balcony although 4/5 of the balcony were closed down, possible due to bad repairs. Overall, I¨ve traveled to eastern europe like 50 times, been working in Lithuania and this gotta be the most shabby hotel ever! No repairs since like 10-20 years, even the beds were shabby. The worst part was the breakfast, it smelled bad, tasted bad, outdated dining room and they stored the butter in some can with water!!!! Don't be fooled by the images, they're all retouched. Karlsbad is very nice but pick another hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed at Hotel Mozart (Anniversary Upgrade)

Posted Jan 4, 2009 on Hotels
We switched to the Hotel Mozart a partner to this hotel in order to have a river view for our three days here. The ratings for this review are therefore related to the Hotel Mozart instead of the Hotel Esplanade. Karlovy Vary was great fun and the winter prices outstanding. The hotel allowed us to gaze across at the National Theatre across the street and provided a beautiful view of the Tepla River. It was an awesome anniversary trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Would not stay another night

Posted Oct 11, 2008
Once we arrived in Karlovy Vary we found our hotel Esplanade pretty easily. We were an hour early and our room was not ready so we were given a different/upgraded hotel right next door. The room was very small but for one night just enough. The bathroom was quite clean and new, however the room could do with few updates. The bed was very soft and once I took the sheet off I discovered lots of hair and dried "bugs" on the mattress. That was the end to our sleep. The only view we had was to the back of the hotel with a local pub and we were awoken at 7 a.m. by construction. Great, no sleep at all.... However, the receptionist was quite helpful and the location brilliant, right by the Esplanade with all the attractions. The breakfast buffet was a disaster, the worst I've ever had! Imagine hard boiled eggs being boiled for an hour! Very outdated dining room, dirty tablecloths. We loved the city of Karlovy Vary, however we wish we booked a different hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twin Falls

Sorely lacking

Posted Mar 7, 2008 on Hotels
Parking accessibility was the biggest problem. Room had no curtains and was difficult to find -- not exactly close to the other sister hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2007 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sam from Beds

Nice room, Hotel system needs improving

Posted Sep 2, 2007
As an English speaker it was hard to convey to staff at the main hotel [100m up the road, we found out when we arrived and trekked out suitcases all the way indoors without there being anyone in the building to check us in] exactly what we wanted and needed sometimes, leading us to fend entirely for ourselves. Breakfast was certainly lacklustre but you get what you paid for, and bottomless cups of tea and orange juice were appreciated, but toast would've been more so. You get a mini fridge but no kettle, which is annoying. Absolutely no english channels on the television but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. Not much to do in the way of nightlife
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Snow Hill, MD

A great place to start any day trip in the region. Centrally located.

Posted May 16, 2007
The desk for the hotel was closed so we had to go to another hotel to conduct our business and have our excellent breakfast. The hotel is old but very clean. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The bathroom, while clean, needed maintenance work - the toilet seat was loose, there was a leak around the shower, etc. The hotel was perfectly located to enjoy the city and surrounding area. It is right on the river that bisects the town. Loads of shopping, restaurants, historic sites, and green spaces are in easy walking distance. Karlovy Vary is still a very reasonable destination although it will change when the currency changes to the Euro. The hotel is not luxurious but location made up for any shortcomings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany/ USA

Average hotel for the price!

Posted Mar 14, 2007
Spacious clean room in the center of town but rather old. No parking available...you must park in another hotel and pay like 200 KC and eat breakfast in another hotel 100m from your hotel. For the price it was a decent room if you just want a place to stay cheap! I would recommend this for the economic traveler. No need to drive anywhere...you can walk all over.