Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I loved staying here! My room was very comfortable, and I had a view of the town with the river. The hotel staff were wonderful, the food was great, and the hotel architecture was amazing. I loved the spa with the different pools to relax in; my favorite was the flower pool which had real flowers floating in the warm water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Breakfast had an omlette and crepe station, as well a selection of great cheeses and meats.
Cons: Staff treatment was abysmal, zero English channels and maybe 5 English pay-per-view movies
I had always wanted to stay at this hotel, so I splurged on a suite. Of course, the room was beautiful, as was the view and the breakfast. However, I was extremely surprised with how the staff handled my questions- I was cut off, interrupted, even mocked. Part of staying at a luxury hotel (or anywhere) is being treated well and this hotel simply did not treat me in a manner that would inspire me to return. When I walked in the doors I was not greeted, not even smiled at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forida

Incredible Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location, quiet, ambiance.
It was everything a five star hotel should be and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Karlovy Vary

Posted Mar 18, 2015
really nice and cozy hotel in a beautiful city. Great plan for a weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Overated and disappointing.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Revamp the room and train the staff to be friendly, helpful and give better service
This hotel has so much potential, however, the staff have a poor attitude until you have a problem. The rooms are lovely and big, but old and very bad decor. The television is still a square box soooo outdated. The biggest disappointment is that they still allow smoking in the hotel and especially in the lobby bar. As a 5 star hotel, they should be a leader in this area. We were so looking forward to staying there and we were so disappointed in the hotel. I would be reluctant to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Historic Hotel in BEAUTIFUL setting

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Saw hotel used in a couple of movies and decided to visit. It exceeded our expectations. Just a beautiful hotel with lots of history. Many famous people, heads of States, etc. Only a 1:30 hour drive from Prague airport and worth the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Amazing historical hotel at best location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It is historical well maintained, renovated periodically. It is at best location you can ever have for 5 stars hotel with comforrtable and large rooms
It is my third time at this hotel during last 5 years, and still have the same feedback. It is excellent experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mglhs from San Diego, CA

Grand hotel in lovely Karlovy Vary

Posted May 29, 2012
Looks grand from the outside and in the public areas. The room was a little tired, stained carpet, etc., but it was a huge room with a nice view so didn't care so much about the details. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and our meal in the dining room was outstanding. Great location for exploring Karlovy Vary, and taking the waters!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bert from Coral Springs, FL

A wonderful experience and priceless memories

Posted Oct 1, 2011
What a gorgeous hotel with a renaissance look! We first saw this hotel in the movie "The last Holiday" with Queen Latifa. We're glad we went and we were definitely impressed. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Everything was great, from the service, to the room, the location, the restaurant and the decor. The hotel is extremely elegant. We found the value and the price to be excellent considering the high quality of the hotel. This is one of those lifetime experiences. We also really enjoyed the food, the presentation and the service. We will for sure go back. However be aware that the hotel has 2 separate sections and lobbies called first class and deluxe. We recommend the deluxe side, which is a little more expensive but more exclusive and elegant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

The Name is all it is

Posted Jun 4, 2011
The service was great and the rooms were huge, but not for the price. I have seen better hotel and rooms in my time. If you have to stay because of the name, then stay one night.